We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Wall, Clean room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leone di Sant'Anna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Leone di Sant'Anna to your Saves list
Leone di Sant'Anna
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Via Buonamici 221, 05510 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Lucca
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Close to the Wall, Clean room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

On the positive side, it was clean, included a refrigerator and was a good price to spend the night. The bed was comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would consider staying again. On the negative side, they forgot our towels and there is no permanent staff so we had to wait hours. The room was cold and took hours to heat up. It was also noisy early AM as people leaving early could be heard in the hallway outside.

We didn't have to but you could have to pay 10E if you can't find street parking.

  • Liked — Price, Clean, Location
  • Disliked — Noise, cold for a while
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    18
    20
    19
    36
See reviews for
13
44
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2007

A beautiful converted Italian villa, 5 minute walk away from the heart of Lucca town. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean, beds were comfortable, basic but with tv, fridge, wardrobe with hangers! The Manager, Stefano was very informative, giving us lots of information on where to visit and eat. The receptionist, Giselle was very kind and polite.

I came here with one other female and we had 3 great days and I would definately return and recommend all my friends and whoever is reading this review!

  • Liked — The clean and comfotable beds
  • Disliked — Reception is on the first floor
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

Were ignored by the guy who ran it when we arrived. Then were taken into the basement, passing all the cleaning equipment to a shared dormitory! Obviously this wasn't what we booked, and told him so. I'm sure he had no record of us at all. Eventually put us into a very noisy room by the front door. Hotel demanded payment on arrival. Following day were woken up and bellowed at by an Italian lady who we assumed worked there. Reception was never manned. Advertised as 50m from city walls when in actual fact is more like 500m.
Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The rude staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2007

This is a very clean but simple hostel type hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful, however the reception is not staffed all the time and there is a number on the door to ring for information. They trust you to go in and look at the rooms yourself and take a key. We had 2 adjoining rooms with one shower room. The ben linen and towels were spotless and the room cleaned every day. There is a cafe on the corner by the hotel and a take away pizzeria directly below that is open in the evenings. It is a five minute walk into Lucca but a bit hard to find by car in the dark!

  • Liked — Individual, simple, very clean
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2006

The hotel is a bit higgledy piggledy. You go in and have to go upstairs to find reception. Then, you have to find the receptionist! After hanging around for a while, looking for some way of finding someone to help me, I finally saw a sign on a door on the landing near the reception, telling me to knock for help. A bell on the reception desk might be an idea. . . .

When we did find the receptionist, she was very friendly and showed us to our room. This turned out to be in the cellar (the advantage to this was that it was nice and cool). Unfortunately, it smelled a bit damp but they had put a dehumidifier in the room to deal with this problem.

There was a shared bathroom for our room and the other room in the cellar. However, this shared bathroom had no lock on the door! Thankfully there was nobody staying in the other room so it wasn't so bad.

The hotel simply offers you a room for the night (with a tv!) and nothing else. However, its proximity to the walls of Lucca make it a great stopover for those who are not too desperate for luxury (or breakfast!).

All in all, it was a good enough stop over for one night.

  • Liked — The fact that it was only 5 minutes' walk from the walls of Lucca.
  • Disliked — The fact that the room smelled a bit damp.
  • Tips/Secrets — The receptionist's room is on the landing, just before you get to reception!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Leone di Sant'Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leone di Sant'Anna

Address: Via Buonamici 221, 05510 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leone di Sant'Anna 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Leone di Sant'Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leone di Sant'Anna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.