We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and reasonable price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leone di Sant'Anna

Save Saved
You added Leone di Sant'Anna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leone di Sant'Anna
Via Buonamici 221, 05510 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 52 Specialty lodging in Lucca
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good location and reasonable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were a little trepidatious about staying here as we had read mixed reviews on the website. However, we needn't have worried. We were given 2 double rooms, one ground floor as requested. Both rooms were spacious and had everything we could need, although we did note that there was a damp smell that got stronger as the day wore on - possibly from the bathroom?

The hotel was very well located for getting into Lucca, and we had no problem getting use of the free parking. We took breakfast at the hotel too. We made our decision on the basis of ease, but the breakfast itself was ok.

We took full use of the garden area, and enjoyed sitting out here having a drink before heading out for dinner in the evening. Beware the ambulances rushing up and down the street during the night though - they are rather loud!

All in all it was a perfectly satisfactory stay. Given it's location we thought the hotel was very good value (ie. cheap) and as a result one must adjust ones expectations accordingly. We would happily stay here again though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    18
    15
    15
    24
See reviews for
9
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pescara
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I had to clean the room before entering: inches of dust and dirt everywhere, expecially under the bed and behind the wardrobe. I had to pay 120 Euros just for one day.
Spoke to the owner on the phone (he was busy on the seaside (???) instead of properly running his place !!!). The answer given by the hotel-pro was the worst I've ever heard: "You speak silly ... you stupid tourist" (??????)

Francesco

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed there as we were passing through Tuscany. Our group of 4 was placed at the top (3rd floor). The rooms were cute but the 3rd floor is very low with the roof inclined to make walking a little difficult. The hotel staff was very friendly and the reception area is very charming. The spa is actually an above ground jacuzzi which was empty when we stayed there. The air conditioning which are room sized wall units was not nearly enough to cool our room and the other couple we were traveling with had to wake up early and go straight to the nearby laundromat due to an infestation of bed bugs. When we told the staff in the morning, they offered no compensation (not that we were looking for any). They did however give us a plastic trash bag to help us contain the infestation to our immediate articles of clothing. It seems that many people have had pleasant experiences here which is why we booked in the first place but if I had to stay here, I'd avoid the 3rd floor.

Room Tip: Stay off the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed there for two nights: we had made reservations for a room, but since the "hotel" was overbooked we were placed in a fold out couch in the basement of the building, with 4 other guests. It seems as though the receptionist lived in the basement as well, his room separated from the guests' only by a divider (the second night we were there he was shouting on the phone until 3 am). Apparently the guests are also supposed to share the TINY bathroom with him (which was never cleaned during our entire stay - very dirty floors and all sorts of products all over the place).

On their website they advertised as having a jacuzzi and free rental bikes, but when we asked the receptionist about he told us the jacuzzi was out of order and the bikes were all broken.

However, the location is pretty good, being only a 5 min. walk to the Lucca walls.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The B&B arranged a shuttle service from Pisa airport which was very good for us middle aged ladies. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean with a full size fridge and lovely bathroom with a heated towel rail. The shower unit was smaller than the UK standard but that is usual in Italy (don't drop the soap!) At reception (always manned) we were given recommendations for restaurants which were reasonably priced and good value. Nothing was too much trouble. We did not take up the offer of breakfast as there were plenty of small cafes nearby. Ideally located to explore Lucca or catch a bus from the bus station just inside the Sant'Anna gate.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Just 100 meteras from the walls. No free parking and wew took a pass on the expensive breakfast. We were there for the location and would return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We stayed here a week and never regretted choosing this B&B just outside the Lucca walls - 5 min walk to the walls.

Our room was huge with two large beds and a reasonable sized bathroom (with a miniscule shower), a small fridge and a small TV - no cupboard in the room, but there was a rack and hangers, which sufficed well enough. The linen and towels were spotless and the room was cleaned everyday.

The reception is not manned all day and you will have to call a number on the outdoor wall to get in touch with the reception staff. This was a bit disturbing at first - but after a few days we got used to it. The staff is very friendly and and speak english - some better than others though. Please note there is no cloak room where you can stove your luggage if arriving early before check-in time or leaving Lucca in the afternoon, well after having checked out.

The breakfast is not included in the price and rates at EUR 5 per person per day. The B&B asks you to order and pay for breakfast the evening before at the latest. We neglected this fact immensely and still got breakfast though. The breakfast is in italian standards above level. Surprisingly good coffee, a few slices of white bread, preserves of the unpretentious kind, yoghurt and croissants. The breakfast is served in the garden and each guest/party is served individually.

Important note! If you go to Lucca to ride your bike around the stunning landscape, this B&B will not allow you to keep your bike in the room. There is no locked storage room where you can keep it, and you'll then have to leave it in the garden (which is closed from the street by a large locked gate).

Room Tip: Ask for a room above ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leone di Sant'Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leone di Sant'Anna

Address: Via Buonamici 221, 05510 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 52 Specialty lodging in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Leone di Sant'Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leone di Sant'Anna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.