We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and self contained” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Villa Marta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Villa Marta to your Saves list
Albergo Villa Marta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del ponte Guasperini 873 | San Lorenzo a Vaccoli, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Quiet and self contained”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Situated well out of town but nicely self contained so a good stopover for touring. We got the last room which was a standard double - nothing fancy but clean and quiet. There are no balconies and there is nowhere else to park so no surcharges. Dinner was excellent, one of the best meals we had on this trip. There were good options for vegetarians and also nearly every option was gluten free and marked as suitable for coeliacs. Dinner was served outside in the large and well laid out garden. They have a lovely pool with plenty of sun beds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Proprietario at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear GeorgeandJaki,
thank you very much! Come back to visit us!
Regards,

Andrea Martinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    86
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
38
293
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night last year. We returned for a longer stay this time and were not disappointed. We shut ourselves away here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. We have visited Italy many times over the years. This is a fantastic discovery for us as it is a hideaway that we feel we could come back to time and again: with a great pool, comfortable room, good food and wine all at very reasonable prices. Andrea and his wife are a very kind and thoughtful couple, both they and their staff work very hard at keeping their guests happy. The grounds are pretty and it seems every detail are well thought out. We shall be back soonest!

Room Tip: Pay for the best that you can afford!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Proprietario at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Catmother,
it's such a pleasure when someone comes back and still have a good time visiting Albergo Villa Marta. We thank you very much for your kind review and we will be more than happy to receive you again in the future!

Regards,

Andrea Martinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDKUK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel as a base for visiting Lucca and the surrounding countryside. The owners and staff could not have been more helpful and we ate in at the restaurant two nights where the food was very good. It had a nice pool and our room was very comfortable and all rooms had air con. I can thoroughly recommend the Albergo Villa Marta as an excellent base and Lucca itself was a charming city well worth spending several hours tthere

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Proprietario at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We thank you very much for your kind review. Come back to visit us!
Regards,

Andrea Martinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our second stay, this time for longer! Perfect location only 10 minutes drive from Lucca but quiet and rural. Very friendly staff and comfortable rooms with air conditioning that works! Generally very good food in the restaurant and lovely locally produced wines. A small point is that when staying for a few nights the menu is the same each night. One night there some specials offered but I think it would be good if there could be specials every night. Speak to Alessia about visiting Valle del Sole and Colle Verde vineyards! Both in wonderful settings and they'll happily sell you wine to bring home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Proprietario at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear TopdocBath,
thank you very much for your review and for coming back to visit us!
Regards,

Andrea MArtinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villa Marta in July 2013. We were so impressed by the service and also by the hotel itself. It really didn't feel like we were staying in a hotel, it felt much more like someone's beautiful home. The hotel is in a quiet area outside Lucca, but easily accessed by car. It was nice to be somewhere peaceful after staying in the hustle and bustle of Milan. It took about 5-10 minutes to drive into Lucca. The restaurant, set on the terrace in the garden, was fantastic and the staff were very accommodating. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa Marta and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a break in the beautiful Tuscan countryside.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you Emma for your review! We are happy you felt home here with us! Come again to visit.
Regards,
Andrea Martinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We booked Villa Marta as a three night stop over after a fabulous longer stay in mid Tuscany and the Marta suffered by comparison - which is unfortunate really as this is a perfectly good hotel that excels in some areas. We booked the entry Classic room - compact, no views and on the dark side of good. Clean, yes, state of the art - no, spacious no. I suspect that a step up in room - not available when we booked - would have been rewarded with the sought after space. But we got what we booked so no complaints other than the price for the room which we considered on the high side of acceptable.
The hotel grounds and pool area are terrific, the location down a quiet side road (Lucca to Pisa) is ideal for tourists wanting to visit both tourist mecccas and if you want to eat out, there is a plethora of near by restaurants. Breakfast was OK but disappointing in that it lacked choice and eggs were whatever the buffet offered.
Staff were helpful, and the hotel had a "homely" feel to it - almost like you were staying at a friend's place for a few days.
A good bet it you are visiting Pisa and Lucca but don't fancy the hastle of staying in either location.

Room Tip: Book either a middle spec or top spec room if you value space and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Proprietario at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Peter084,
thank you very much for your review. We hope to welcome you again the future.
Regards,

Andrea Martinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We used this hotel as we wanted somewhere close to Pisa airport to finish our stay in Italy and away from the busy Lucca. We found the hotel suited this great air conditioning in the room, great pool and time to relax before jetting back to blighty.
Staff were welcoming and the snack food suited us down to ground simple but tasteful. A good breakfast after a nights sleep in a comfy bed and nice shower set us up for the journey back a good way to finish our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you JerryR52 for your review! We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Regards,
Andrea Martinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Villa Marta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Villa Marta

Address: Via del ponte Guasperini 873 | San Lorenzo a Vaccoli, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#7 Family Hotel in Lucca
#8 Business Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Villa Marta 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former hunting lodge, transformed into a fine and elegant 4-star country resort, deep in the Luccan countryside in the heart of Tuscany but located only 5 kms from the historical centre and only 20kms from PISA AIRPORT. All the rooms (15 in total)are provided by FREE WIFI access and a/c control, tv, telephone and frigobar. Albergo Villa Marta is also provided by a pool with terrace and a small gazebo, free parking area, a bar, a 24/24h multi-lingual reception and a Restaurant opened monday to saturday form 19 to 21.30 Pm. Reservations are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Villa Marta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Villa Marta Hotel Lucca
Albergo Hotel Marta
Albergo Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Villa Marta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.