We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury near Lucca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Villa Marta

Save Saved
You added Albergo Villa Marta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergo Villa Marta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del ponte Guasperini 873 | San Lorenzo a Vaccoli, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Lucca
Anavyssos, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Luxury near Lucca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed in this beautiful hotel with a group of friends just one night. Wish we had stayed more, but had to keep moving. The best stay we had in Tuscany. Had a very gourmet meal in the restaurant in the evening, and an exceptional breakfast the next day. Croissants home-made and real omelette, not with egg powder! The villa very romantic. pool fantastic. The owners very hospitable. Only a little difficult to find even with GPS. Will definately recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Afroditi 1949,
thank you very much for your review! We are very glad you appreciated our breakfast, we pay attention very carefully to the quality and freshness of food.
We wait to welcome you again for a long stay.
Regards,
Andrea Martinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    75
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
36
276
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Having spent 4 nights at Albergo Villa Marta, I feel that it deserves its high review rating. It is a delightful place, set in the countryside but within easy reach of Lucca. The owners and the staff are extremely pleasant and obliging. The hotel food is good but if you want a change there is an excellent restaurant close by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Etterman,
thank you very much for you review. Come back ti visit us!
Regards,

Andrea MArtinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

A very relaxing hotel to return to after sightseeing around Lucca and Pisa with glorious grounds and views. A car is a must for getting around as the hotel is in a lovely secluded location. The rooms are very well furnished and comfortable. Breakfast was good with lovely homemade cakes and croissants. We sampled a tasting menu in the restaurant with lovely wines to go with the excellent food. All the wines were supplied by a local producer, a very enjoyable evening. We are definitely going to return to Albergo Villa Marta and we will recommend this hotel to all our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you Sue P. for you review. It's a pleasure for us you enjoyed our local products and food. We will be happy to welcome your friends for a relaxing stay with us.
Regards,
Andrea and Alessia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Very good tuscan food in the restaurant. Breakfast rather disappointing (cold or old fried eggs, bacon only once, coffee served per cup and another had to be requested, one type of fresh fruit each day otherwise tinned variety) maybe we expected better from a 4-star place. Super swimming pool, excellent friendly service. Bedroom comfortable, not very big, excellent bathroom with everything necessary. Unlike other reviewers we had trouble finding the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Kiwiss,
thank you very much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed our bedrooms, swimming pool and service. Still I regret you haven't appreciate our breakfast because we look after every detail to care about freshness and quality of food and drinks. We have never liked some automatisms,as serving carafes of coffee because ours is a personalized service, so guests can ask for coffee as much times as they want, we bring it at the moment, hot every time just to assure the quality of it. The same thing happens with eggs and bread which we make at the beginning of the service, 5 minutes before 8am, and during the service when necessary.
The same attention we pay for breakfast we pay for the restaurant( sometimes we use the same ingredients) which we are glad you liked it.
We hope to welcome you back.
REgards,

Andrea MArtinelli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and had a wonderful welcome and great food in lovely surroundings. We were very late arriving and had pre-ordered plates of salami, cheese, salad and wine. Everything was ready and served in a gazebo outside by very charming staff. It was a great way to start our stay. The rooms were spacious and the beds comfy. Breakfast was modest but good and served on a garden patio overlooking the hills beyond. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent and the staff were lovely.
We have booked to go back in September- it was great.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you Mrs Pam! WE can't wait to welcome you again, Septemberis agreat time to enjoy and relax in our beautiful garden having a special meal.
Regards,
Andrea Martinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Im usually a big flashy hotel kind of a girl but this place is truly special, a real taste of Italy. Stayed here with my sister for a girls birthday weekend. A weekend was not long enough, the hotel itself is a short drive from the beautiful town of Lucca but it feels a million miles away. Tucked away in the countryside in lovely grounds the hotel is beautifully maintained, well run & a pleasure to stay in. Lying in bed with the shutters open listening to nothing but bird song was a pretty good way to start the day. Followed by a wonderful, home made breakfast ( I saw the apricot cake cooling by the kitchen window after returning from dinner night before!). Can't wait to return & share the secret with family & friends.

Room Tip: I'd pick a superior or deluxe room for a later check out
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you Mrs Helen for your review about your stay with us. We are really glad to know that you had a great birthday weekend here.
We await you for another stay and to try our Restaurant and menu.


Kind regards,
Andrea&Alessia&Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

After visiting Florence and Siena, my mum and I stayed at Villa Marta for 2 nights to see Lucca and surroundings. We were happy to have a hotel outside the city. We did not have any trouble finding the hotel, the signs already were visible from Lucca center.
We really enjoyed the location: very close to lucca (only 10-15 minutes by car) and also to pisa airport (30 minutes), but at quiet place with a lovely garden and a great view. The hotel itself was very beautiful and well decorated and so was our room. We decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant. I have to follow a strict gluten free diet and was very happy that they were able to explain to me clearly which dishes I could eat and which not. Also, they make their own gluten free bread, which tastes wonderful. The only thing I could comment on is that it was a little bit long waiting for the dishes to arrive, especially the second evening when there was also a big group dining at the same time. But the food tasted very good. For breakfast I was a little bit disappointed that they didn't offer their delicious gluten free bread that I tasted the evening before, but only pre-packed gluten free crackers/biscuits.
Overall, we had a very nice stay and would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you Sasa for your review.
We like to offer a remarkable service so we keep your suggestion to improve us.

All the best.
Andrea & Alessia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Villa Marta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Villa Marta

Address: Via del ponte Guasperini 873 | San Lorenzo a Vaccoli, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#7 Family Hotel in Lucca
#8 Business Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Villa Marta 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former hunting lodge, transformed into a fine and elegant 4-star country resort, deep in the Luccan countryside in the heart of Tuscany, a place where you can enjoy total peace and relaxation, due in no small part to the welcoming and attentive hospitality with which Andrew and Alessia care for their guests. They and their staff will welcome you in person, attending to all your needs with friendly efficiency, contributing to the feeling that you are staying in a country house rather than a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Villa Marta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Villa Marta Hotel Lucca
Albergo Hotel Marta
Albergo Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Villa Marta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.