We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tuscan gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Villa Marta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Villa Marta to your Saves list
Albergo Villa Marta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del ponte Guasperini 873 | San Lorenzo a Vaccoli, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A Tuscan gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Im usually a big flashy hotel kind of a girl but this place is truly special, a real taste of Italy. Stayed here with my sister for a girls birthday weekend. A weekend was not long enough, the hotel itself is a short drive from the beautiful town of Lucca but it feels a million miles away. Tucked away in the countryside in lovely grounds the hotel is beautifully maintained, well run & a pleasure to stay in. Lying in bed with the shutters open listening to nothing but bird song was a pretty good way to start the day. Followed by a wonderful, home made breakfast ( I saw the apricot cake cooling by the kitchen window after returning from dinner night before!). Can't wait to return & share the secret with family & friends.

Room Tip: I'd pick a superior or deluxe room for a later check out
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you Mrs Helen for your review about your stay with us. We are really glad to know that you had a great birthday weekend here.
We await you for another stay and to try our Restaurant and menu.


Kind regards,
Andrea&Alessia&Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    93
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
38
310
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

After visiting Florence and Siena, my mum and I stayed at Villa Marta for 2 nights to see Lucca and surroundings. We were happy to have a hotel outside the city. We did not have any trouble finding the hotel, the signs already were visible from Lucca center.
We really enjoyed the location: very close to lucca (only 10-15 minutes by car) and also to pisa airport (30 minutes), but at quiet place with a lovely garden and a great view. The hotel itself was very beautiful and well decorated and so was our room. We decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant. I have to follow a strict gluten free diet and was very happy that they were able to explain to me clearly which dishes I could eat and which not. Also, they make their own gluten free bread, which tastes wonderful. The only thing I could comment on is that it was a little bit long waiting for the dishes to arrive, especially the second evening when there was also a big group dining at the same time. But the food tasted very good. For breakfast I was a little bit disappointed that they didn't offer their delicious gluten free bread that I tasted the evening before, but only pre-packed gluten free crackers/biscuits.
Overall, we had a very nice stay and would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you Sasa for your review.
We like to offer a remarkable service so we keep your suggestion to improve us.

All the best.
Andrea & Alessia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our last stop on a whistle stop tour of Tuscany, and by far the best place we stayed..... It is so true you get what you pay for! From the enthusiastic welcome , the comfy room and the excellent food we had a lovely 2 days despite the weather being decidedly inclement.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
I'm glad to know that you had 2 lovely days with us.
We hope to welcome you again (may be for a longer stay!)

Kind regards,
Andrea MArtinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay here following a recommendation from a friend and were truly delighted with our choice. The staff/owners are remarkably friendly and knowledgable about the local and not so local sights and were always keen to engage in conversation without being too forward.

Rooms are simple, but wonderful. The standard of the food in the restaurant is wonderful, but some may find the choice a little,limited if staying for more than a couple of days.

We plan to return to Tuscany in the summer and even if we don't stay in the area, will certainly visit these lovely people again

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you TerryOB!
I'm really pleased that you liked your stay and about your next stay, contact us to have the better price!

See you in Summer.
Kind regards,
Andrea Martinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Really nice hotel, fantastic rooms, delicious food we ate dinner one night - it was amazing. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. The only downside - a litte remote. Lovely restaurant down the road other than that nothing else in the area. That said I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We're really pleased that you liked your short stay.
See you soon for a longer one.

Kind regards,
Andrea & Alessia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were happy with our selection of Lucca as a base for day trips around Tuscany and up to Cinque Terre. The owner/manager and staff at the Albergo Villa Marta were helpful and friendly. The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was perfect. The restaurant and bar were convenient. The grounds and scenery were beautiful. The price was great.

A few other notes on our stay:

- You will need a car. The hotel is a little outside of Lucca. No need to worry. Driving is fairly easy in Tuscany if you have a good GPS and you can manage to be an "offensive" driver. No need to be meek in Italy.
- We were there for about a week beginning in the middle of October. The weather and countryside was very similar to Northern California. Not too cold, Not too hot.
- Plan your day trips in advance. Many places have restricted hours on Sundays and Mondays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Great photos of the double Deluxe room 104 and the hotel gdhorytwo, thank you!
We hope to welcome you again next time that you'll visit Tuscany!

Kind regards,
Andrea&Alessia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We (4 of us) stayed two nights at the Albergo Villa Marta. Both rooms were well-appointed, neat, beautifully furnished and reasonably spacious.
All staff were friendly and helpful. Some of the nicest and most receptive people we met in Europe worked here.
The hotel is surrounded by lawn and garden areas. There are outdoor areas where you can enjoy a drink and the swimming pool is inviting, depending upon the weather.
The breakfasts were superb and the dinners were equally varied and satisfying. The staff during breakfast and dinner were attentive and patient with us non- speaking Italian guests.
The road into the hotel is narrow from the main road, but the locals are obviously well-prepared for foreign guests and their lack of experience of driving narrow country roads.
In the three months that we travelled Europe, this place was, without doubt, one of the best we had stayed in.
The fact that it is located only 10 minutes drive outside the beautiful and enchanting Lucca is a great advantage. The fact that we had a car was also a positive for staying at Albergo Villa Marta.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Villa Marta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Villa Marta

Address: Via del ponte Guasperini 873 | San Lorenzo a Vaccoli, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#7 Family Hotel in Lucca
#8 Business Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Villa Marta 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former hunting lodge, transformed into a fine and elegant 4-star country resort, deep in the Luccan countryside in the heart of Tuscany but located only 5 kms from the historical centre and only 20kms from PISA AIRPORT. All the rooms (15 in total)are provided by FREE WIFI access and a/c control, tv, telephone and frigobar. Albergo Villa Marta is also provided by a pool with terrace and a small gazebo, free parking area, a bar, a 24/24h multi-lingual reception and a Restaurant opened monday to saturday form 19 to 21.30 Pm. Reservations are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Escapio, Splendia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Albergo Villa Marta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Villa Marta Hotel Lucca
Albergo Hotel Marta
Albergo Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Villa Marta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.