We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Villa Marta

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 11 more sites!
Albergo Villa Marta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del ponte Guasperini 873 | San Lorenzo a Vaccoli, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 59 hotels in Lucca
London
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay here following a recommendation from a friend and were truly delighted with our choice. The staff/owners are remarkably friendly and knowledgable about the local and not so local sights and were always keen to engage in conversation without being too forward.

Rooms are simple, but wonderful. The standard of the food in the restaurant is wonderful, but some may find the choice a little,limited if staying for more than a couple of days.

We plan to return to Tuscany in the summer and even if we don't stay in the area, will certainly visit these lovely people again

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you TerryOB!
I'm really pleased that you liked your stay and about your next stay, contact us to have the better price!

See you in Summer.
Kind regards,
Andrea Martinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    70
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
28
258
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Really nice hotel, fantastic rooms, delicious food we ate dinner one night - it was amazing. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. The only downside - a litte remote. Lovely restaurant down the road other than that nothing else in the area. That said I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We're really pleased that you liked your short stay.
See you soon for a longer one.

Kind regards,
Andrea & Alessia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were happy with our selection of Lucca as a base for day trips around Tuscany and up to Cinque Terre. The owner/manager and staff at the Albergo Villa Marta were helpful and friendly. The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was perfect. The restaurant and bar were convenient. The grounds and scenery were beautiful. The price was great.

A few other notes on our stay:

- You will need a car. The hotel is a little outside of Lucca. No need to worry. Driving is fairly easy in Tuscany if you have a good GPS and you can manage to be an "offensive" driver. No need to be meek in Italy.
- We were there for about a week beginning in the middle of October. The weather and countryside was very similar to Northern California. Not too cold, Not too hot.
- Plan your day trips in advance. Many places have restricted hours on Sundays and Mondays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Great photos of the double Deluxe room 104 and the hotel gdhorytwo, thank you!
We hope to welcome you again next time that you'll visit Tuscany!

Kind regards,
Andrea&Alessia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We (4 of us) stayed two nights at the Albergo Villa Marta. Both rooms were well-appointed, neat, beautifully furnished and reasonably spacious.
All staff were friendly and helpful. Some of the nicest and most receptive people we met in Europe worked here.
The hotel is surrounded by lawn and garden areas. There are outdoor areas where you can enjoy a drink and the swimming pool is inviting, depending upon the weather.
The breakfasts were superb and the dinners were equally varied and satisfying. The staff during breakfast and dinner were attentive and patient with us non- speaking Italian guests.
The road into the hotel is narrow from the main road, but the locals are obviously well-prepared for foreign guests and their lack of experience of driving narrow country roads.
In the three months that we travelled Europe, this place was, without doubt, one of the best we had stayed in.
The fact that it is located only 10 minutes drive outside the beautiful and enchanting Lucca is a great advantage. The fact that we had a car was also a positive for staying at Albergo Villa Marta.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just 10 min from Lucca, situated in a peaceful wonderful garden with a swimming pool. Elegant, sophisticated room with a big bath room. Luxurious atmosphere. Great food! Genuine italian style with finesse.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you NenneMor. We hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Andrea& Alessia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed at this albergo prior to my departure from Italy. Located just outside of the historic area of Lucca, it was a bit difficult to find. The facility is need of updating and it's layout is funky in that uniquely Italian sense. But it's clean, the staff is helpful and engaging and the price is right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your comment NCItaliaphiles.
I'm sorry but I cannot understand why you bring into question our 4 stars and you wrote that the facility needs an updating but I hope to meet you again to speak about it.
Even if you didn't understand the mood of the hotel, you had a good stay and you liked my unique staff. That's really important to me.

Until next time.
Kind regards,
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Hotel Albergo Villa Marta was a great place to stay. Located between Lucca and Pisa, it's a good base for touring both towns and nearby areas. It's also a great place to spend time relaxing at a self-contained resort. There's a very good restaurant and bar, pleasant sitting areas, and large swimming pool on site. They even had a happy hour at the bar. Our rooms were large with excellent bathrooms and beautiful views. We met several interesting people during our 3-day stay.

Staff members were very pleasant and helpful. They made us feel comfortable and at home. Before we arrived, they sent us information about side trips we could take from the Villa. They also provided us with information re: parking and driving in Lucca and Pisa.

We did have trouble finding the Villa when we first arrived. We came in on the A11 autostrada from the west, and had trouble getting from there to the SS12, which goes toward the Villa. We wound up going south on the A11 to Pisa and working our way back north. Be sure to look for signs leading to "San Giuliano Terme" on your way in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear PennyRick,
I'm sorry about the trouble that you had to find the villa and I'd like to take the advantage of this opportunity to remember that the right exit of the motorway is LUCCA EST and not Lucca West.
Anyway I'm really pleased that you had a really great stay with us and my staff members made you feel comfortable and at home: that's our goal.

We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Andrea&Alessia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albergo Villa Marta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Villa Marta

Also Known As:
Albergo Villa Marta Hotel Lucca
Albergo Villa Marta Hotel
Albergo Hotel Marta
Albergo Hotel Lucca
Address: Via del ponte Guasperini 873 | San Lorenzo a Vaccoli, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#7 Family Hotel in Lucca
#8 Business Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Villa Marta 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former hunting lodge, transformed into a fine and elegant 4-star country resort, deep in the Luccan countryside in the heart of Tuscany, a place where you can enjoy total peace and relaxation, due in no small part to the welcoming and attentive hospitality with which Andrew and Alessia care for their guests. They and their staff will welcome you in person, attending to all your needs with friendly efficiency, contributing to the feeling that you are staying in a country house rather than a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Escapio, HostelWorld and Otel so you can book your Albergo Villa Marta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Villa Marta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Albergo Villa Marta to your Saves list