We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Villa Marta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Albergo Villa Marta to your Saves list
Albergo Villa Marta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del ponte Guasperini 873 | San Lorenzo a Vaccoli, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Lucca
Amsterdam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just 10 min from Lucca, situated in a peaceful wonderful garden with a swimming pool. Elegant, sophisticated room with a big bath room. Luxurious atmosphere. Great food! Genuine italian style with finesse.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you NenneMor. We hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Andrea& Alessia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    79
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
37
285
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed at this albergo prior to my departure from Italy. Located just outside of the historic area of Lucca, it was a bit difficult to find. The facility is need of updating and it's layout is funky in that uniquely Italian sense. But it's clean, the staff is helpful and engaging and the price is right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your comment NCItaliaphiles.
I'm sorry but I cannot understand why you bring into question our 4 stars and you wrote that the facility needs an updating but I hope to meet you again to speak about it.
Even if you didn't understand the mood of the hotel, you had a good stay and you liked my unique staff. That's really important to me.

Until next time.
Kind regards,
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Hotel Albergo Villa Marta was a great place to stay. Located between Lucca and Pisa, it's a good base for touring both towns and nearby areas. It's also a great place to spend time relaxing at a self-contained resort. There's a very good restaurant and bar, pleasant sitting areas, and large swimming pool on site. They even had a happy hour at the bar. Our rooms were large with excellent bathrooms and beautiful views. We met several interesting people during our 3-day stay.

Staff members were very pleasant and helpful. They made us feel comfortable and at home. Before we arrived, they sent us information about side trips we could take from the Villa. They also provided us with information re: parking and driving in Lucca and Pisa.

We did have trouble finding the Villa when we first arrived. We came in on the A11 autostrada from the west, and had trouble getting from there to the SS12, which goes toward the Villa. We wound up going south on the A11 to Pisa and working our way back north. Be sure to look for signs leading to "San Giuliano Terme" on your way in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear PennyRick,
I'm sorry about the trouble that you had to find the villa and I'd like to take the advantage of this opportunity to remember that the right exit of the motorway is LUCCA EST and not Lucca West.
Anyway I'm really pleased that you had a really great stay with us and my staff members made you feel comfortable and at home: that's our goal.

We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Andrea&Alessia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The property was very charming, surrounded by lemon trees and a lovely garden. The staff were wonderful, helpful, very friendly and the rooms clean and romantic. What really pushed this hotel up a big notch is the excellent food and service at the restaurant. We recommend the Florentine steak as well as some of the salads (olive oil!). A similar meal might have cost twice as much in central Florence and not tasted half as good! This is an excellent hotel and we will be back. Even if we cannot get a room, we will be back for the restaurant!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you very much mcc-cb!
So we await you soon for a new stay!

Kind regards,
Andrea&Alessia&the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Breakfast was astounding - generous serve of Lucca's famous olive oils. Locally sourced and organic fresh fruits abound. Had the most divine cherry-pie.
Finding the property was a challenge as its NOT located in Lucca. Make sure you have good directions from the website prior to setting off.
Everything about this property was reflective of the excellent management. The rooms were quaint, modern and well-maintained. Would make a special trip just to stay here in future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
I'm really pleased to know that you had a really good stay with us and you liked our buffet breakfast and the good home made cakes that my wife Alessia cooks.
We await you soon, to try the new buffet and the new menu of the restaurant Botton d'Oro in 2013.

Kind regards,
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The rooms are decorated very cute and romantic, bathroom is fantastic. You wake up in the morning with the smell of the nature and fresh cofee coming from the vindow of your room ...The breakfast is excellent. There are some well thought details ( like the prosecco champagne left for you on your room ) or the little newspapers printed for you to read in the breakfast) which makes you feel that this place is special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you very much Gunsu.
I'm really pleased that you noted our care in all the details and you liked it and you had a good stay with us.


Kind regards,
Andrea&Alessia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Villa Marta while we were travelling around Italy and France. It was quiet, the breakfasts and dinner were delicious and the staff were incredibly helpful, the best hotel we stayed at for our trip.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Jodie thanks you very much for your kind review and we await you soon for a new stay.

Kind regards,
Andrea&Alessia&the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Villa Marta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Villa Marta

Address: Via del ponte Guasperini 873 | San Lorenzo a Vaccoli, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#7 Family Hotel in Lucca
#8 Business Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Villa Marta 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former hunting lodge, transformed into a fine and elegant 4-star country resort, deep in the Luccan countryside in the heart of Tuscany, a place where you can enjoy total peace and relaxation, due in no small part to the welcoming and attentive hospitality with which Andrew and Alessia care for their guests. They and their staff will welcome you in person, attending to all your needs with friendly efficiency, contributing to the feeling that you are staying in a country house rather than a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Agoda, Venere, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Villa Marta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Villa Marta Hotel Lucca
Albergo Hotel Marta
Albergo Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Villa Marta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.