We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piazza party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel A Palazzo Busdraghi

Save Saved
You added Hotel A Palazzo Busdraghi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
Hotel A Palazzo Busdraghi
Via Fillungo 170, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 59 hotels in Lucca
Wilsonville, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Piazza party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had two couples in our party in Luca, Italy and stayed at hotel Palazzo Busdraghi. The Hotel is very conveniently located near Piazza Anfiteatro and shops. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They have parking available near by that is for the guests. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
42
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We only stayed here for one night before flying back to UK. The rooms are clean and our room had a jacuzzi bath, others have showers. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast was continental, there was plenty of it and the coffee was good. We went from Lucca to Pisa for the afternoon by train. Very easy journey to see the Tower. The hotel was a bit of a challenge to find, especially as we went in by car. Parking was a couple of streets away. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for only one night in this B&B. I have to say we were a little disappointed. It was the most expensive place we stayed in on our little tour of France & Italy and didn't really live up to expectation.

The place was pretty hard to find & quite a walk from the train station. We also did not realise the entrance was up very steep steps- not easy with heavy backpacks! The young lady at reception was not overly welcoming.

The room was luxuriously decorated but actually some pieces did appear to be below par- the mirror in the room was so scuffed it was difficult to see in it! As for the beautiful view... We could only see a side street from our window-quite pleasant but nothing to note. To be honest my husband & I were disappointed with the bath/shower- not into baths, especially not on hols so I would definitely have appreciated a proper shower & to be honest expected it!

Breakfast was basic but met requirements.
Overall the place was ok but not good value & would not recommend. I think the price does not reflect the standard.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apalazzobusdraghi, Manager at Hotel A Palazzo Busdraghi, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We were very surprised and disappointed to read your review, especially since no complaints were expressed to us during your stay. We are really sorry that your experience was not up to your expectations, but maybe the reason is that you were expecting to stay in a B&B, and we are not: Palazzo Busdraghi is a Residenza d’Epoca which means a Period Residence, located in a building of particular historic-architectural value, equipped with antique furniture. The pieces, mentioned by you as scuffed, are pieces of a great value that we are proud of. The mirror in your room was part of a vintage décor, while a regular one you could find inside the wardrobe
The difficulties in finding us, you could easily avoid just taking a few minutes to visit our website. A very detailed description of our location including a map can be found there as well as descriptions of the bathrooms, equipped with a Hydro-massage and Sauna shower OR with a Jacuzzi bath tub. If you had only expressed you preferences for a shower cabin while booking, or even upon arrival, we would have changed your room with pleasure! Keeping silence you did not give us any chance to help you.
Regarding the breakfast, we do understand that different travellers have different tastes but we believe that we have a great variety of different products (both sweet and savoury, including homemade cakes and creps) to satisfy the most demanding taste and with so many compliments from our past reviewers, we believe that we are heading in the right direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

A 3-start hotel in the bustling center of the walled city of Lucca. A bit noisy, but that is what you would expect at this location. It is right in the middle of everythng. Very good continental breakfast. Nice rooms and if hotel staff can make a good hotel great, then such is the case as they were incredibly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at this charming hotel. The location is perfect, the service excellent, and the breakfast among the best we have come across in similar hotels (the proper coffee was a highlight). The room was clean, the beds comfortable, and the bathroom (with 'jacuzzi' bath - other rooms have showers) modern. Do not expect a 5 star metropolitan hotel with bars and public areas - this is a lovely period residence, but with all modern conveniences. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We planed to stay in this Hotel for 3 nights starting March 31 2013 as a base for visit in the vicinity area. Eventually we only stayed there one night and they charged us for 2 nights. We started bad. it was very complicated to arrive and once we arrived we saw no sign of the Hotel. When we finally got there it was surprising to confront a narrow steep stair room that could have been cleaner and repaired. The room was nice but the window was not isolated from the street noise and we found ourselves trying to catch a sleep with all the noise of the street directly with us - in our room. Breakfast did not meet our expectations from an Hotel rated that high. I was surprised to be so disappointed in an Hotel rated that high by Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apalazzobusdraghi, gestore at Hotel A Palazzo Busdraghi, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
So sorry about this: I can only observe that you were surely expecting a different Hotel with a different atmosphere,
but Palazzo Busdraghi is a Residenza d'Epoca, period residence, into a medieval building, with old stone stairs!! And, we have a cancellation policy, of course.
Concerning our breakfast and the difficulty in finding us..
..we cannot be appreciated by all our guests!
But we accept your criticism and will use it to grow and improve our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

what a fine place to stay...Marta and Andrea, our hosts were terrific, couldn't be more helpful....our room (the red room number 5) was beautiful, comfortable and quiet...the steps up to the lobby are a bit foreboding, but Andrea was right there and he had our bags brought upstairs for us. Price, atmosphere and staff were terrific....do not hesitate to stay here if you have the opportunity...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apalazzobusdraghi, Direttore at Hotel A Palazzo Busdraghi, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful words!
and thanks to all our guests who appreciate our hospitality
and our passion in welcoming people!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel A Palazzo Busdraghi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel A Palazzo Busdraghi

Address: Via Fillungo 170, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 59 hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marta, Victoria and all the staff of Palazzo Busdraghi, with the new owner, will welcome their guests in a charming, silent and pleasant atmosphere, attending the guests stay, giving good advices and suggestions of visit, organizing tours to the nearby most interesting sites.June 2012..: our Residenza is getting renewed! new owner, new management, accessories, perfumes and atmosphere, tasty breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel A Palazzo Busdraghi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel A Palazzo Busdraghi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.