We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda l'Elisa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Locanda l'Elisa to your Saves list
Locanda l'Elisa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nuova per Pisa, 1952, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 57 Hotels in Lucca
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a hidden gem. Parking is great, Food is brilliant. Swimming pool and quiet grounds, that sing at night with the sounds of frogs!!
We had booked a double room but were upgraded to a junior suite which was very nice. However the bathroom was ok. I didn't like the leatherette feel on the bathroom wall or the cloth shower curtain!! A bit too chintzy and busy in the bathroom . The whole hotel has a country house feel with lots of antiques, so if you want a clean modernist hotel then this won't be the hotel for you.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite on the ground floor, doors to the garden. Bathroom too chintzy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    32
    6
    16
    3
See reviews for
13
63
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Away from city, located in a beatiful garden, a very beatiful old, clean, comfortable hotel. There is a pool but you wouldn't want to swim in. (it may be clean but does not feel so) Staff is very helpful but choices are extremely limited. Breakfast was really poor.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louveciennes, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We spent three nights there and loved it. The camelias were in full bloom, the meadows near by had orchids, poppies andbluebells galore, which show they are kept natural. The hotel is a bit close to the main road for absolute quiet but really there is enough vegetation to stifle the sound of morning traffic. Lucca is close by but you definitely need a car, public transport is not very frequent.
We loved the food, it was elegant yet simple and frankly not what has come to pass for Italian food these days; In Lucca the ordinary is exceptional, Tuscan cuisine is imaginative.As a matter of fact the restaurant was awarded for its cuisine in the Michelin guide this year.
Our junior suite had a 4 poster bed, a mahogany table set for 2 with a bowl of fruit and sweets.and a bathtub as well as a shower and bidet; it was kept spotless by an invisible but frequent maid, our bed freshly remade after a nap for example.
Tje staff was very useful as we often got lost and needed both maps, plans and explanations
Bteakfast was a buffet with home made croissants, pound cake, buns, ham and local cheese, yogurt both plain and flavored, fresh fruit , 2 kinds of juice and of course coffee or tea.I frankly don't understand the remark of DavidDomix.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were ther 14-18th June 2013. Having 3 days in Pisa before we came to Lucca. We had booked their special package in ajuior suite with Tuscan discovery dinner on first night with a bottle of champage and breakfast in our room, plus a bouquet of roses which I changed for a fruit plate..
Arrived mid afternoon, and shown to our suite, large sitting room with equally large bed, the bathroom had a bath with shower head, also a walk in shower, marble top sink and slippers and bathrobes. I had a fall in Pisa in the bath there (no bath mat) and I was very badly bruised on my arm and hurt my back. thankfully there was a bath mat in the bathroom.

The rooms were splotless and maids would come in TWICE a day to clean and tidy up.
Set back from the main road, with tables and lounges chairs around their swiming pool it was a lovely setting in the countryside. Staff were very attentive, do go on the visit to the local vineyard, a small vineyard, but the food was great as was their wine. Tasted just as good when we opened a bottle at home as it did in Italy. Only ten minutes away by car from Lucca a walled city..

Staff spoke excellent English and no doubt other languages, nothing was too much trouble.
I did not want to leave and was tearful and would go back, close enough from England if you wanted to do a long weekend.. Hope to go back soon.

Loved it

Sally & David Wallis.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Being aware that it is a 5 stars locanda and not a 5* Luxury Hotel we had a very nice time there.
We appreciate a lot the position and the peace near by.
The personnel was really kind.
Good place to stay in!
We bought the locanda with a Let's Bonus offer. The full prices look quite expensive:-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Five stars is only an ambitious dream for this Locanda. Maybe 3 and a half ?
No specific facilities for children. Too much room freshener (to cover other odors?).
Poor breakfast . WiFi not working very well in the room.
45€ per day for a child bed is fully out of the market (robbery?).
Positive remark: clean bed sheets !

Room Tip: Junior suite are confortable but they do not worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

A snowstorm on our first day in Italy prevented us reaching our original hotel. We found this gem by chance, and from the moment we arrived, the staff made us very welcome. Breakfast was served in our room, we were upgraded to a huge deluxe room, and recommendations for local dinner restaurants proved outstanding. Set in the countryside just outside Lucca, this beautiful old villa has a cosy bar, and pretty secluded garden. Very peaceful and so glad we discovered it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locandalelisa, Direttore at Locanda l'Elisa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Google Translation
Gentili Signori,

Siamo lieti di avervi ospitato durante il vostro breve soggiorno a Lucca, ringraziamo per la vostra gentilezza ed educazione dimostrata verso il nostro staff.

Cordialmente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda l'Elisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda l'Elisa

Address: Via Nuova per Pisa, 1952, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Locanda l'Elisa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Locanda l'Elisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda l`Elisa Hotel Lucca
Locanda l Elisa Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda l'Elisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.