We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not 5 star what so ever !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda l'Elisa

Save Saved
You added Locanda l'Elisa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Locanda l'Elisa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nuova per Pisa, 1952, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 58 hotels in Lucca
adi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not 5 star what so ever !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

just go to Villa La Principessa on scale 1-10 locanda is 2 villa la principessa is 9+.
i do not know who rate it as 5 star. anyway price is 3 star and breakfast is 1 star. nice guy at front desk is good but that is about it,nothing more. very basic food - just bad breakfast,even the motel near by the airport has served better one.

Room Tip: no spa at all, no fittness center. ery old rooms. verry very small tv that did not work at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locandalelisa, Direttore at Locanda l'Elisa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Google Translation
Gentili Signori,
Siamo spiacenti che il vostro soggiorno non sia stato piacevole come era da vostra aspettativa, tuttavia teniamo a precisare le condizioni di emergenza che erano presenti in Lucca durante il vostro soggiorno: una imprevista tempesta di neve ha bloccato i collegamenti stradali e quindi i nostri fornitori e dipendenti, non permettendo loro di raggiungere il posto di lavoro, ragione per cui non abbiamo potuto garantire un servizio ottimale. Abbiamo altresì provveduto a concedervi un upgrade gratuito alla vostra categoria di camera Deluxe, e siamo sempre stati a disposizione per qualsiasi tipo assistenza nei limiti delle condizioni imposte dalla emergenza climatica.
I clienti dell'hotel, durante questi 2 giorni di tempesta sono rimasti bloccati all'interno della struttura a causa della impraticabilità dei collegamenti stradali. Abbiamo cercato di fare del nostro meglio in una situazione di emergenza e abbiamo ricevuto notevoli ringraziamenti da parte di altri clienti per lo sforzo effettuato, siamo spiacenti non abbiate apprezzato tale sforzo.
Il nostro hotel non segnala e non pubblicizza in alcun modo la presenza di una Spa o di un centro Fitness all'interno della Struttura, questo è un servizio che al momento non offriamo e quindi non capiamo il disappunto per la mancanza di tale servizio.
Le nostre stanze sono in stile fine 800 , definirle vecchie non è corretto, disponiamo di pezzi di arredamento originali di notevole valore, la tappezzeria di ornamento è di notevole pregio manifatturiero, essendo prodotta dalla famosa casa parigina Pierre Frey.
Il disagio accorso per il mancato funzionamento della TV nella vostra camera è stato purtroppo causato dalla temporanea tempesta di neve che ha danneggiato il segnale satellitare, di cui non è stato possibile risolvere il problema in tempi rapidi.

Cordialmente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    31
    6
    16
    3
See reviews for
13
62
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at Locanda, and I do like the hotel because it is quiet and out of the central city. Way, way out....and really hard to find. They need a good map on their website. The hotel is an old grand dame, and is showing her age. The furnishings in the public rooms are meant to be evocative of the time when Josephine's sister lived there, but somehow they seem more old than antique. The bathrooms are very modern, however, and the rooms are comfortable and spacious. The best rooms are those that look out over the entrance. The dining room is pretty and light, and the food is quite good. The staff is very friendly, attentive, and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the second floor with the balcony overlooking the entrance, or the one next to i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at Locanda l'Elisa in July 2012 for one night. We had read the not so positive reviews in advance, but thought we would give the hotel a chance anyway..after all you can always find people who are not happy about something.

But the reviews were right I'm afaid. If I was to rate the hotel I would say 3½ star. No more.

It seems very old and worn out. From the days when wall to wall carpets were a sign of class and good taste.Those carpets were still there.

We stayed in their best and largest room (they called it junior suite), because we were two adults and our two children (age 9 and 13), but even so it was very worn out. The decor was I would guess 30-40 years old, wall to wall carpets, heavy curtains, floors made a squeeking sound (like old England) etc. The room was actually clean only you do not get that feeling when walking barefoot on a carpet you think has been there for 30 years.

The pool was old too with a wooden frame around it. Some of the would frame was loose so you could not sit on the frame with your toes in the water. There was a small pond next to the pool with a lot of frogs but also a lot of musquitos. So many in fact, that you were not able to dine outside, but had to dine in the gazebo restaurant (which was actually pretty cosy).

The staff was very friendly and helpfull though. It was actually a nice hotel only the rating is wrong, and thereby the pricing wrong as well. 3½ star at the most.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Nice, cute and charming hotel near Lucca, Italy. However, this hotel does not qualify as a ***** hotel. There is absolutely no element that qualifies for *****: no help with the luggage, no room service, reception was friendly but not particularly useful. Breakfast was meagre and disappointing (bad orange juice, we had to pay for any extra). The hotel would qualify for a **-*** hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

During a recent road trip around Italy, we spend a couple of nights in this hotel, and were quite disappointed. Our room was small - looking on the floor plan it was the smallest in the hotel, which was a shame seeing as the hotel was half empty! The buffet breakfast was meagre (you had to pay extra for ham and cheese, which is a bit odd for Italy), and a few tables were swarming with ants. Decor in the room was strange, with ceiling drapes being used to attempt to hide strip lighting in the bathroom!! I'm usually a big fan of boutique hotels, but this was severely lacking and nowhere near the standard of other 5 star hotels. Admittedly, the cost does reflect this, but still, visitors might be disappointed if they are expecting a standard 5-star service.

Room Tip: Room 24 is tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA - NC
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel in what used to be a villa just outside of Lucca. The rooms were all large (they let us see all the available ones and choose our rooms). The service was great and the staff was very helpful. The breakfast service was excellent as well with plenty to choose from. Overall, it was a great 2 night stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

My favorite room in all of Italy. Automatically upgraded to the one bedroom apartment style room upon arrival - what a wonderful surprise. I can't tell you how great this room was. It had a very comfortable couch, chair, ottoman, dining room area, separate bedroom area (with very heavy curtains between the rooms, you could close for privacy). The apartment was warm and cozy. I felt like I was in the summer estate of some royal family member. The bathroom was modern and had a tented fancy ceiling that just took my breath away. The shower was heavenly after having to endure "baths only" in some of the hotels we stayed at. The living room area/bar off the lobby was a comfortable place to sit, considering the very deep and high backed couch, and wing chair. They actually opened the restaurant for us that night, which was our Thanksgiving Day back home. The restaurant is a very beautiful, very fancy gazebo. Custom curtain treatments, linens, crystal, candles, soft background music - everything you hope a romantic dinner will be. The service was exceptional as well as the food. Truly a memory we will cherish for a lifetime.

The location of the hotel is perfectly situated between Lucca and Pisa. Both of which we really enjoyed. The Tower was recently refurbished and is so clean and white it actually sparkled in the sun the day we were there. The Cathedral of Pisa is one of the most stunning we have ever seen (and believe me, we have seen hundreds). We had a delicious pasta lunch in the pizzeria about two blocks outside the opening exit/entrance near the back of the tower complex. It was just a regular looking pizzeria with a little outside sidewalk terrace area that had a lot of locals in it. (It's right across from the university cafeteria that looks like a garage) Highly recommend. Sorry, I digress...

The hotel staff was friendly and very efficient. You give them the large key ring when you leave the "house" and pick it up again at the desk upon your return. They provide maps. There is a cafeteria type of breakfast place right next door that we got breakfast and coffee to go from. The wi-fi service worked great in the room. The fresh fruit basket was delicious and much appreciated as we were starving when we arrived. The fine bone china dinnerware set up for two on the dining room table in the room was really the icing on the cake. Talk about "being made to feel welcome" is an understatement here. The walls of the apartment are all padded and covered with silk wall coverings. The carpeting throughout the whole hotel was wonderful and made the room just feel that much more like home. No cold hardwood or linoleum here - thank goodness. Some hotels throughout Italy, no matter how expensive, simply don't carpet their rooms. I just don't get it. Also, don't expect soft beds, big feather pillows, small wash clothes or hair conditioner in any hotel (they only provide shampoo and body wash). We stayed in six different cities and realized they simply don't provide these items in Italy (at least we never got them). The room had a safe and a mini bar.

You will love your stay here. Don't hesitate to book it right now if Pisa and Lucca are in your plans. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda l'Elisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda l'Elisa

Address: Via Nuova per Pisa, 1952, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Locanda l'Elisa 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Venere and Otel so you can book your Locanda l'Elisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda l`Elisa Hotel Lucca
Locanda l Elisa Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda l'Elisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.