We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend the town, undecided on the hotel for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Napoleon to your Saves list
Hotel Napoleon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Europa 536, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Ranked #44 of 57 Hotels in Lucca
Tempe, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Highly recommend the town, undecided on the hotel for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We chose this location because we were looking for a central place to leave our bags while we day-tripped through areas of Tuscany. We did not do our research beforehand and got off at the Pisa train station and took a taxi to the hotel in Lucca (~40 euro) and that became a huge downside to our stay from the beginning. We did not know that Lucca had a train station that was about a mile away from the hotel. We originally booked 5 nights and after the taxi ride immediately tried to change it to only 2 days to find a hotel we thought would be closer to train station. The manager was not happy that we were cancelling our extended stay and became less accommodating as a result.

We then were given a choice of rooms between the 4th floor without a balcony and the top floor with a panoramic balcony but no elevator to get there from the 4th floor. We chose the top floor for the view and they happily brought our bags up the stairs for us. Outside of our room also had an exercise room which seemed nice, but we had no use for. We then proceeded to find out that despite the insistence of the manager, the hotel room did not have wifi. I even walked my laptop down all the flights of stairs and did not pick up a wifi signal until I got to the lobby.

On a good note, the room was nice and the view was amazing. We also decided to venture into the city at night to look for food and the hotel manager recommended a steakhouse about 2 blocks away and called to reserve us a table - he also said they would give us a discount if we brought his card. The steakhouse was amazing. Incredible food, but also steep prices - the discount helped a little but the bill was fairly high even though the food was well worth it. The next day we looked at tour brochures in the lobby and decided what we wanted to go see on our own. The man at the front desk the following morning was far more accommodating to our questions about what there was to see locally and how to get there. He even helped us get a taxi to only charge us a flat rate (~70 euro) to take us to the Ponte della Maddalena (the devil's bridge) about 30km north, stop to take pictures, and bring us back. Along the way we also saw the wall around Lucca for the first time and the taxi driver told us we should spend the rest of our day walking around inside and some of the history.

Lucca was amazing. The shopping, the sights, the history and even museums - it was an incredible day and we even walked back to the hotel from the town (past the train station) in about 20-30 mins. As we were about to leave we were also told that we should go to the city Collodi (where Pinnochio story was originated), which is about another 20-30km east of Lucca. We did not make it to this town, but would highly recommend anyone visiting look into it - the town has a huge Pinnochio statue and other history on the story.

Room Tip: Your only hope for wifi is the lower rooms (closer to the lobby). The top floor does have an amazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    58
    36
    19
    7
See reviews for
21
46
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We spent three days here during our visit to Lucca. Our triple room was spacious and very comfortable -- including a large bath with tub and shower. The daily continental breakfast featured a good variety of pastries along with milk, hot tea,coffee, and a very attentive staff. A great value with easy access to the Old City, and even a McDonald's nearby!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the southeast corner of the facility as the loud band from a nearby nightclub may kee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I went there for a job trip, the staff was really kind, available and helpful.
They kindly kept some boxes I had to receive from abroad for work and they were able to help me much with information about parkings (in Lucca there are also big free parking close to the doors to enter the center through the ancient walls)
The hall is nice, clean and warm, it's not very luxury, but it's fine. There is a useful parking and you can reach the center of the city also walking for about 10 minutes.
The room I had was recently renovated, very clean, with nice flat tv, nice bathroom, unfortunately the water wasn't ever really hot in the shower… but I'm used to have very hot shower… Room is a bit small, but very well organized and the bed is very comfortable. Price was quite good… and Lucca is simply wonderful and it seems very safe!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Napoléon L, Direttore at Hotel Napoleon, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and helpful review. Our staff hopes to see you again soon in our House and in our wonderful town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We chose this hotel because it had parking and we had trouble finding an inner city hotel on the dates we wanted. Also it claimed to be 4 star and we expected a certain level of facilities and service. It is a very dated hotel which has had a quick fix in a few places. The first bedroom we were shown was 2 star level but we were offered a better room afterwards. No one to help with bags. Reception staff not unpleasant but the overall impression was of Fawlty Towers. The free Wifi had a complicated process of logging on and only worked in reception unlike the good reception we had had throughout Italy. Apart from breakfast there was no where to eat, not even bar snacks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one, it is in a good position being about a 10 minute walk into the old town of Lucca.
Staff spoke excellent English and couldn't have been more helpful. Room comfortable but noisy from passing traffic. We were in a room overlooking the main road. Problem was from poor fitting windows.
Car park at rear. Breakfast pretty good.
It's about a 20 minute drive to Pisa, and my tip is that if you want to visit Pisa go early in the morning. We got there for about 9am and no problem parking and not crowded.

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear if you want to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great location if travelling with a car with free parking in a fairly secure area. 10-15 min flat walk to town walls. We stayed in room 204 which was a Comfort Double and it was very modern and spotlessly clean. Some wings / floors of the hotel may have older style rooms. The hotel is on a busy road but the sound proofing and air cond made for a restfull sleep. Pleasant English speaking staff. Good breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms eg 201/2/3/4 etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

In no way a four-star hotel. 2-star max. Booked last minute via hotwire at a reasonable rate for peak season. It is close to Lucca city wall - about 1000 feet, so pretty convenient. And there is free internet and breakfast included.

The hotel looks like it has not been updated since construction in the early 1960's. Rooms are bare, and tiny, with original mattresses also from 1950, judging from comfort. Tolerable for one night, but not for repeat visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on backside, away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Address: Viale Europa 536, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Napoleon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.