We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Celide

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Celide to your Saves list
Albergo Celide
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giusti, 25, 55100, Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in May 2013. The location was perfect as it is only a one minute walk to the Lucca town (behind the walls). The hotel was clean, organised and possibly the most modern hotel I have stayed in in Italy.

The hotel even offered free bicycles hire which we used each day to explore lucca town and ride along the walls.

All the employees were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. They spoke good english and were able to answer all our questions we had regarding Lucca.

We would definitely stay here again if we return to Lucca.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annapar1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Den Haag, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel feels more like a roadside motel than the spa hotel they're trying to present itself as. They have fragrant oils in the room that makes the room smell like bubblegum to promote their line of reed diffuser oils. It looked like their maintenance people were not that efficient, as the main door was sometimes out of order, and our bedside lights were not working. The room was quite small, but workable. It is next to a busy road, but the traffic dies down in the night, so it's not a big problem. The air conditioning was turned off (common in Italy outside of the summer months, I think...), so we had to sleep with our window open to have a decent temperature in the room. I know you pay a lot for being close to the old city of Lucca, but I feel like this hotel was overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frode N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The location just outside the walls worked fine for us. 10 minute walk from the train station. They have bikes they'll loan you or it is just another 5 minute walk to enter the walled portion of the city. The room was very modern and nicely appointed. We were only in Lucca for a night but I think it would be fine for a few nights. The rooms are a bit small but fine, as noted, for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

What a great find in Lucca! Out side the walls but wall entrance only five to 15 minute walk depending how energetic you feel. Very friendly staff who have exceptional English and are very accommodating. So clean and well maintained with some great chill out areas especially the roof terrace. Very near train station which you can get to Pisa and Florence very easily and cheaply. Just make sure you validate your ticket before travel. Buffett style continental breakfast with meats cheeses, fruit and pastries. Main hotel bar expensive but bar attached to hotel a lot cheaper as more of a local bar used by the locals. Would go back and stay here again as perfect location. We had a family room as 4 girls celebrating their 40th. Rooms we what we needed with showers only but not sure if this was in all rooms. Clean towels daily and rooms cleaned to a very high standard.
Hotel does have a spa but we did not use these facilities. Not enough time as much to see and do. Great place for all travellers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Floss900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel for its location on the edge of the old city and good reviews. Easy to find, close to the east gate. Friendly staff and free reasonably secure parking. Looks to have been refurbished recently. Comfortable room silent at night with the window open. Room bit tight as is usual where the ensuite has been shoehorned in but plenty of quiet public space including a terrace. Good free wifi. Breakfast good, nothing hot, but this is Italy. Associated fish restaurant next door excellent and discount for guests. Good value. Stayed 2 nights.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Edge54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
161 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel provided excellent service and we had a spacious modern and nice room. We were welcomed by extremely friendly staff. They even personally showed us our room on second floor. The friendliness felt genuine and gave a very nice impression. Parking was provided just behind the hotel. Very convenient indeed. Breakfast did not have the warm items I like, but it was good anyway. Central part of the picturesque town of Lucca is just a short walk away. When you visit the area this is the place to stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Scandinavian01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great staff,courteous and friendly.Lovely food,we didn't use the hotel for an evening meal but really should have because the breakfast was excellent and stands out in memory from other similar standard hotels.Ideal location,easy to get to from motorway if you do a minimum of research.Secure parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumnsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#10 of 57 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 816 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#6 of 57 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#13 of 57 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#15 of 57 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Celide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Celide

Address: Viale Giusti, 25, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#9 Business Hotel in Lucca
#10 Family Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Celide 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albergo Celide occupies a very convenient location on the main Street in front of the ancient walls of Lucca, at the border of the pedestrian area. It's easy to reach by car from all access roads to the town and 500mt from the railway station.Convenient, comfortable, central, the Celide hotel is suitable for leisure and business travelers. Completely renovated inside with warmly elegant public rooms, a beautiful terrace overlooking the Walls of Lucca and design bedrooms. Two private parking, bicycles available for our guests. Reception quality personally run by the family owners thanks to over four generations' experience. Explore the city on foot or in comfort and style using the free bicycles provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Celide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Celide Lucca
Albergo Celide Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing