We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart Comfortable Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Celide

Save Saved
You added Albergo Celide to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Celide
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giusti, 25, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Lucca
Kent
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Smart Comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have just got back from a business trip to Lucca, where i stayed in the Albergo Celide for three nights.

The hotel is not obvious from the street upon arrival as the entrance is recessed back from the street, but apart from this, its a great hotel for a business visit or holiday to this beautiful area of Italy.

I was in room 77 which is near the top of the hotel and the room was very smart and functional for the visitors needs, whilst there was an elevator, it only stopped at floor 1 as there was renovation work going on with floor 2. This meant using the stairs to get to my room at the top floor of the hotel.

The bed was comfortable and the wardrobe had plenty of room to hang clothes - there is a safe in the wardrobe also to keep your valuables. the room had a nice sized flat screen TV and a mini-bar was provided for night snacks. The bathroom was a big marble and chrome room which was superb with its own skylight to let in the sunlight in the morning.

The breakfast room is smart but serves Italian style breakfast which may not suit some UK (english breakfast only) tastes - I liked it!

The bar area was very smart and prices were reasonable for Italian norms.

WIFI was provided for guests and the signal was good - even on the top floor.

Staff service was charming and efficient - a big plus point for the hotel!

All in all this hotel comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    208
    39
    6
    5
See reviews for
60
238
28
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dgsk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

It has been pleasant to stay, room clean, although not too big. Staff very kind and helpful. Breakfast just enough, but might be better for this class of hotel e.g. fresh vegetable missing. The best was the morning cappuccino.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCelide, Manager at Albergo Celide, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Richard,

Let me thank you first for your review! I thank you also for shearing with us your vacation.
I tell you the truth! Your words motivate all of us to do our best (and more).

I hope to welcoming you again!!

With my warmest regards
Luca Giovanelli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I don't know if you're like me but I can't stand hotels (or restaurants come to that) which when you visit them bear no resemblance to their websites. Well rest assured, with Albergo Celide you get exactly what you see. Which is a small, very nice, immaculately clean, rather smart hotel just outside the city walls.
We stayed in a small double and whilst the room was small (and advertised as such) the bed was full size and extremely comfortable with a very nice bathroom and a shower with oodles of hot water - and I wasn't an early riser after an ahem, rather late night which is when you're most likely to end up with a cold shower....
Breakfast was no more or less than you would expect from an Italian hotel but perfectly acceptable nonetheless.
All the staff were excellent, but the manager was particularly stand out, a charming man who could not do enough for you - and when talking was also kind enough to put up with my rather ropey italian on my request (although his English is perfect if your Italian is worse than mine!).

Location-wise the Hotel is just over the road from the city walls and equidistant from two gates (on the best side of the city in my opinion) so is a very easy walk into and out of the Centre.

Another big plus point is a free car park attached to the hotel.

This is just a really nice hotel made special by the lovely staff who are always available to help in any way.

All in all I cannot recommend this hotel enough, my wife and I will in future stay here for our stays in Lucca

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We went to this hotel thanks to a deal with the local university.
It is a very nice hotel just outside the walls of Lucca. You can reach it on foot from the train station in about 10 mins.
We had a twin bed room: nice, not particularly big, but comfortable.
The real pro of this hotel is service: always kind and helpful.
There is one free spa entrance (though we didn't use it :(,
Also, free umbrellas (it rained a lot) and free bikes to ride (nice for a tour on the walls).
Breakfast is rich and the coffee is great :)
We did not try the restaurant, but some friends did and were very satisfied.
The price is ok, almost cheap for a four star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Celide for 3 nights on a visit to Lucca. Walking from the train station is for the well footed (approx. 10-15 min.), but for us no problem. The hotel is situated right outside the city wall, which makes it also practical for arrival by car, and apparently it has ample parking space (we didn't need it).

The rooms were clean and comfortably spaced, even the single rooms. Nice breakfast buffet (but no hot food). The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel has a bar in the lobby, a restaurant next door and a bar/caffé at the other end of the building. While the restaurant seemed quite elegant (and well booked), the caffé/bar seemed quite a magnet for the young people of the area. That bar does contribute some noise at night, as does the street, but living in a city myself, it did not bother me much.

We also found the rates very reasonable! Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel has a great location, a few steps from the wall, and great breakfast. The rooms were clean and the bed was confortable. The wireless internet connection was poor. The hotel has a restaurante, a few steps on the side walk, that serves great fish dishes. I recomend the tagliatelle with lobster!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night during an eight night stay in Tuscany. There was plenty of car parking a nice reception area and staff were very helpful. I only booked a small double room but it was perfectly OK and we had a very nice bathroom with great shower. It was only a 5 minute walk to the Porta Elisa and entrance to the city through the massive red brick walls. Although the hotel is located across the road to the city walls Viale G. Giusti is quite a busy road but we had no traffic noise in our room and had a great nights sleep. There was a very good breakfast served in a very nice area. We didn't use the spa because we wanted to see the City but there was a charge. A great place to stay to see Lucca.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Celide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Celide

Address: Viale Giusti, 25, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#9 Business Hotel in Lucca
#10 Family Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Celide 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albergo Celide occupies a very convenient location on the main Street in front of the ancient walls of Lucca, at the border of the pedestrian area. It's easy to reach by car from all access roads to the town and 500mt from the railway station.Convenient, comfortable, central, the Celide hotel is suitable for leisure and business travelers. Completely renovated inside with warmly elegant public rooms, a beautiful terrace overlooking the Walls of Lucca and design bedrooms. Two private parking, bicycles available for our guests. Reception quality personally run by the family owners thanks to over four generations' experience. Explore the city on foot or in comfort and style using the free bicycles provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Albergo Celide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Celide Lucca
Albergo Celide Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Celide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.