We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel with excellent staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hambros

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hambros to your Saves list
Hotel Hambros
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pesciatina 197 | Lunata, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Paris, France
Level Contributor
222 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A great hotel with excellent staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at this hotel over a long weekend to attend the birthday of a friend closeby. It is not easy to find; thank God a great Avis car rental employee at Pisa Airport gave me some excellent instructions.My room located on the third floor of this renovated 'Villa', was spacious with a great shower and a big flat TV screen. It had an excellent air conditioning unit which would switch on automatically when the temperature rose. I questioned why a small light remained switched on at the bathroom and I was advised it was for safety reasons if somebody woke up abruptly; it bothered me mind you as I could see the light from the bottom of the bathroom door into the bedroom when sleeping.The hotel surrounded by gardens with some modern sculpures displayed does not have a restaurant so the staff recommends the local italian trattoria in the adjacent part of the building (I had a meail twice at this restaurant and found it very good). There is a breakfast room with "classroom" type of seating which felt strange.The breakfast buffet included in the price of the room was very good. There is ample parking.
The staff were excellent. They were accommodating, helpfull and made all the guests feel very welcome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    58
    22
    6
    0
See reviews for
13
52
2
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel is very well located a few minutes from the town of Lucca.
It is renovated and the rooms are modern and simple.
Not a place I would stay for days but for a one night stop it's ideal. I believe it to be a good choice for the area. It is certainly value for money.
Breakfast is basic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel is about 4 kms from lucca, so you need a car to access it, it is situated next to a very ugly long road with lots of industry or shops but at the end of a long and nice alley (no issue of street noise at all). The front of the building is very nice. The staff at the reception and in particular at breakfast time have been very kind and helpful. The rooms are standard with air conditioning and clean but with no charm. The main issue from this hotel may come from the noise of the neighbours that you may hear but with earplugs, it is no problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

By accident we booked this hotel so we were a bit awaiting at first. We drove to Lucca area and found it. The hotel's drive is long, which was really nice because then you are not staying so close the the road. It is a nice en peaceful place to stay, i really recommend it! The hotel is like n old mansion, Tuscany style. The staff was very kind and the rooms were nice, just as the breakfast and the rest of the hotel. It is situated in a park surrounding which make it just right.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Wonderful Hotel in the Lucca area-Not real close to Lucca but between Lucca and some amazing undiscoverd little Villas in the hills! Wonderful hotel with amazing employees! Also visit the restaurant called "The Saloon" right down the road! Amazing seafood and Pizzas!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed there for four night late December, very comfortable, basic accommodation. Clean with good service in a quiet location. Try to get arrom at the front of th hotel, has a nice view

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Next to Lucca, not very close (6 km, but the road is going through the city directly to the gates), consider going by car to the Lucca.
We loved the setup: rooms, trees, people and a small and great restaurant owned by some nice guys (maybe english?!). Good choice via booking.com.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
7.7 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Le Rotonde
3.8 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#15 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Volpi
Hotel Villa Volpi
#34 of 56 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
1.1 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#16 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 610 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#22 of 56 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hambros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hambros

Address: Via Pesciatina 197 | Lunata, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lucca
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hambros 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hambros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hambros Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hambros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.