We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay in beautyful surroundings!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Podere di Rosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Al Podere di Rosa to your Saves list
Al Podere di Rosa
Via Pieve S. Stefano, 563 | S. Alessio, Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice stay in beautyful surroundings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed at this lovely farm for a week this summer. The hospitallity was excellent, and so was the breakfast. The location is close to Lucca, but inn rural and quiet surrounding. The room were clean and spacious. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
61
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This converted farmhouse is located in a small town (S. Alessio), very close to Lucca. It is picturesque, with large, clean and comfortable rooms; it provides a generous breakfast; the owners are friendly; and overall it is a very good value. Quite perfect!

To reach Lucca, you drive about 7-8 minutes to free parking lots outside the city walls (the owners will mark them on your map), and from there it is a brief 7-8 minutes of a pleasant walk to Piazza San Frediano, and the rest of this beautiful city. Hence, you have the advantages of both a countryside residence and quick access to the city (without the usual headache of parking).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Lucca is a beautiful, historic walled town near Pisa - and Al Podere is the perfect base. A family-run farm for generations, Paolo and Caterina are welcoming and generous hosts, and our four days in mid-June were delightful. Our room was homely, spotlessly clean, and breakfasts were magnificent with lots of the farm's own produce. The farm lies about 3 kms outside the city walls - but beware non-residential motor traffic is banned inside Lucca. Paolo has plenty of recommendations for excellent local restaurants. Overall - an excellent B & B - cannot recommend too highly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Lucca. A working organic vineyard which offers a real taste of the area. Very clean and comfortable with excellent breakfast served in the original wine cellar. Fireflies and the scent of jasmine added to the charm of this great B & B. As we were moving on to an apartment for a week we were able to buy some of Paulo's vegetables, wine and olive oil.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night when we were driving around Tuscany. The family who own this farm stay we're wonderful and we were made to feel very welcome. The room was comfortable and everything was very clean. We loved the breakfast room.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

How fortunate we were to stay at Caterina and Paolo's farm. Their home is a joy to behold; olive groves, vineyards, greenhouses and vegetable gardens, all organic. On arrival we were treated to some of Paolo's wonderful wine as we conversed on the patio with another couple staying at the farm. We were relaxed from the moment we checked in. And it got better. Our room was spacious and the views were fantastic. There is plenty of hot water for showers and the breakfast is a delight; eggs from their chickens, cheese, yogurt, cereals, and more. A great start to the day. Paolo and Caterina provided suggestions for routes to the sites we wanted to visit and recommended some restaurants we might want to try. Each restaurant was excellent.

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary while we were there, and unbeknownst to us, our sons had sent Caterina and Paolo a card, asking them to give it to us on our anniversary date. At breakfast that day, they presented us not only with the card, but also with a bouquet of roses that Caterina fashioned from her garden. We could not have been happier with our stay at Al Podere di Rosa. On leaving, we purchased some of Paolo's olive oil so the good times will continue at home. Thank you Caterina and Paolo for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our cycling holiday. It was truly a delightful experience. Everything was excellent although the walls are quite thin! We would like to thank the hosts for making our holiday so special.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino
4.5 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#5 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
1.7 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#15 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
2.3 mi away
Relais La Cappella
Relais La Cappella
#2 of 56 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#8 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Podere di Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Podere di Rosa

Address: Via Pieve S. Stefano, 563 | S. Alessio, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Al Podere di Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Podere di Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.