We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"An Amazing Highlight Of Lucca!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Podere di Rosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Al Podere di Rosa to your Saves list
Al Podere di Rosa
Via Pieve S. Stefano, 563 | S. Alessio, Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Lucca
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"An Amazing Highlight Of Lucca!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! Wish we could have stayed longer at this charming, most inviting B&B . From the moment we arrived Paulo and Caterina were very welcoming and most accommodating . Our family of 5 found are rooms to be very comfortable and beautifully decorated.Having Paulo's home made wine ,from his vineyard, outside on the terrace was so relaxing after we settled into our rooms. Caterina prepared us a fabulous dinner that evening which was typical of the region. Caterina's homemade pasta, bread, Paulo's olive oil and arugula and of course the wine made it our most memorable meal. Breakfast the next morning was also a delicious feast ! We can not say enough about this wonderful place and the host and hostess other than we want to return someday only to stay longer than just one evening . An evening we shall never forget! Grazie!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I highly recommend this B & B. My family and I stayed only one night but really would have liked to have stayed longer. Paulo and Caterina are the perfect Host and Hostess and are more than accommodating. The rooms were clean, comfortable and charming. The dinner that Caterina prepared for us was delicious and the breakfast the next day was so filling we didn't need lunch! This, without a doubt, was one of the highlights of our vacation!!
Molte Grazie

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Me and my wife stayed few days over at Al Podere di Rosa and it was a wonderful, peaceful place to stay. We had a car so the location was ideal to stay as we could in the evening time relax and sleep well in the peaceful enviroment and in daytime explore Lucca and surrounding area easily.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Al Podere is an agriturismo and Caterina and her husband Paolo were the perfect hosts. All the good reviews of this agriturismo are accurate and we could not fault any part of our stay.
Although this a B&B, one night, Caterina prepared a typical Tuscan meal for the guests at a cost of 20 euros. This turned out to be good value as Caterina made and descibed the Tuscan cooking of each course and naturally, Paolo supplied the wine from his own vineyard. Catrerina is a lovely lady and a great character and will help with directions, free parking places when visiting Lucca and any other questions you may ask.
There is outside seating but it is ok to stroll the grounds and chat to Paolo working in the fields.
In short this was an excellent experience to finish our 14 day tour of Tuscany and Venice.
Unable to find fault.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

NIce room. No aircondition, but fans. Very firm matress if you like that;) Breakfast is definitely 5 stars. Homegrown products. A culinary experience. Not walking distance to Lucca centre, but if you go by car or bike it is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Al podere di rosa is a wonderfull spot to enjoy the city of Lucca. A few minutes fromthecity but in a wonderfull country situation at the foot of the hills covered with trees, olives and vines with wonderfull views of the unsurpassed tuscan countryside. The rooms are superb with all the modern confort. Breakfast is famous. But the best is Caterina and his family that have a gift to makesyou feel at home.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We did a driving trip around the Chianti hills and stayed in many Agriturismo however I can safely say that this one is definitely my favorite. The location is just outside of the walls of Lucca, the breakfast are freshly made and delicious and the family (Caterina is a really lovely lady and really goes out of her way to make you comfortable). We truly enjoy or stay here including the homemade jam (They do sell their own organic olive oils and wines and Jams here) however Caterina gave us my favorite breakfast jam jar for free. We recommend this place to all of our friends it is a gem of a find, really comfortable and clean the room we were in had a HUGE bathroom! If you do plan a visit to Lucca do stop over here it really is worth it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Podere di Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Podere di Rosa

Address: Via Pieve S. Stefano, 563 | S. Alessio, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Al Podere di Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Podere di Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.