We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with Nonna!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast La Gemma di Elena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bed & Breakfast La Gemma di Elena to your Saves list
Bed & Breakfast La Gemma di Elena
Via della Zecca 33, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 133 Lucca B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Like staying with Nonna!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed in Lucca for two nights and absolutely loved this B&B. It was just like staying at our grandmothers (except Italian!). The rooms were cute, full of kitsch little trinkets and the homely lounge area was warm and packed with character. We had the best sleep of our two week trip of Italy - our room was clean, really quiet, comfy bed and wooden shutters so it was totally dark at night.

The location was perfect - not in amongst the busy streets but still close enough to walk to everything. Some excellent local restaurants/bakeries/food stores near by too (ask the hosts for recommendations!)

Breakfast was great (don't expect a Full English here - this is Italy!) with a spread of fresh hot coffee, bread, cakes, cereal, meat and cheese.

The most memorable part though was our hosts, who were welcoming and extremely helpful. They speak mainly Italian (again, this is Italy!) but don't let that put you off. This is a genuine experience and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
27
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011 via mobile

The B&B is lovely and looks very nice. The problema was that our double room with bath was right on the street,where cars and people go by and shout at any time of the night (and very early morning).

Breakfast was a bit poor, with no real bread and weird capuccino.

It was ok for one night,but I wouldn't go back,on holiday I like to sleep

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here in 2007 and were not intending to be in Lucca this year but best laid plans of mice and men.....the laws of indecision and luv of Lucca intervened.
Arrived unannounced and banged on the door to a smiley greeting to grab one of the ensuite rooms and settle in to trawling the alleys.
it reminds me of a bordello with italian overtones.....rich red brocades and a larger than life lounge area.......in a nice way it really grabs me.
Same good honest fare with a continental breakfast and little interference from the share participants... just love it.
The price had not changed and at E65 a couple great value.

Room Tip: Love the big ensuite room ....could sleep 4 at a pinch
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

I stayed here with my boyfriend a couple of weekends ago. It was my second visit to Lucca so had a lot to live up to. La Gemma di Elena was an absolute delight. The staff were really fun and friendly, the location great and the room was just beautiful. Very eclectic and characteristic, with a boutique style. Perfect for long weekend away, with friends or partner. It was great value for money, especially after the place I stayed in previously. I am already looking forward to our next visit, and La Gemma di Elena will always my first choice for accommodation!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

Checking out new trip using tripadvisor and thought it only fair to add a comment to a previous trip 6 months ago. Always nervous about booking a place. Don't worry about this place tho'. The women who run this place are great hosts, bohemian styling, easygoing manner, thats the B&B as well as the hosts. Lovely buffet breakfast. Lucca is a real gem and this place will give you a really nice vibe. Just off one of the main streets, quiet but in the midst of everything, but thats Lucca, not a bad street in the whole town. The rooms have what you need, not overly flash but like someones bedroom rather than a B&B. Nice modern bathrooms. The breakfast room is a big open room with lovely floor tiles. We really loved our stay here, quite a unique place/ambience. The rooms have names not numbers (ours was Pedro). Sums it up really.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

I had a good stay here. I had a "single" room but there are other nice large double rooms that I thought were fantastic. ( some even had a sofabed ) The manager is from Holland and was very helpful to me unfortunately I cannot remember his name. Good breakfast and comfy common areas. Location is good as well.

  • Liked — the location, it's very clean and friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2004

This was a great place to stay in Lucca. The price is right for just 50 - 60 euros depending if you want a bath room or not. They only charged 6 euros extra to park our rental car in a secure parking lot. It was a lovely place with lots of color. The older couple that run the place were very friendly and helpful. For 5 euros extra they will have a buffet breakfast for you. The room was very clean and comfortable. It was also within walking distance to all the sights in Lucca on a quite street. I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed & Breakfast La Gemma di Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast La Gemma di Elena

Address: Via della Zecca 33, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed & Breakfast La gemma di Elena in Lucca , Since 2000 , the year of jubilee , we host with enthusiasm at the B&B La gemma di Elena in Lucca guests from all over the world , who want to discover the BEAUTIFUL LIFE (La dolce vita) of Tuscany and Lucca . The B&B La gemma di Elena has been opened in a historic building in the city of Lucca , in the street where the coins were minted once . The palace where B&B La gemma di Elena was the home of the Blessed Elena Guerra, who with her doctrine has inspired and taught so many the way of the Catholic religion. From an idea born by chance 14 years ago we opened the B&B La gemma di Elena, combining a name that could preserve the history of the apartment, the name Gemma , such as precious stone and disciple of Blessed Elena war. Today, the B&B La gemma di Elena offers 6 rooms with private bathroom. The rooms are spacious, bright and decorated in the original tuscan style. In addition it is possible to book at the B&B La gemma di Elena two apartments (standard and deluxe) completely renovated. We offer to our guests a daily breakfast buffet with fresh, local products. We have a private parking in the courtyard. Children under 14 years are not charged by us . Payment by credit card accepted. Service wash & dry . Free Wi -fi Pets are allowed. Selling hot & cold drinks and local products. Transfer service with private driver to/from the airport of Pisa and Florence. Organizing private tours on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bed & Breakfast La Gemma di Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast La Gemma di Elena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.