We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a restaurant with rooms!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Vigna Ilaria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Locanda Vigna Ilaria to your Saves list
Locanda Vigna Ilaria
Via della Pieve S.Stefano 967/C | S.Alessio, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“More of a restaurant with rooms!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

An experience which might have left a poor impression but was ultimately highly redeeming! It took a good 10 minutes after our mid-afternoon arrival before our presence was acknowledged. The welcome (when it came) was warm and helpful. We wanted to explore Lucca for the remainder of the afternoon and evening so we were advised to park our car and they called a taxi. Good plan - given that Lucca is car-free and parking very difficult. What an amazing place. We were recommended to dine at the restaurant owned by the Locanda Vigna Ilaria in Lucca, Ristorante del Teatro. No complaints there! It was absolutely excelllent - and very atmospheric with the children playing in the Piazza Napoleone until late. We emerged for breakfast at 08.15. No-one around until 0845!! But the saving grace was the breakfast!! One of the highlights of our road trip holiday: freshly-squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, scrambled eggs with salami and the BEST capuccino ever! Who can be grumpy after all this?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    36
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
91
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Tuck away to the north of Luca this was an experience to find without sat nav. Make sure you have good directions with landmarks to keep you straight. The BB also is not known locally as a BB but a resturant and this is all that is on the sign. Nevertheless on arriving and pulling into the car park to ask for directions we were meet by a man tending the garden who exclaimed that we had found the right place and they were waiting for us! How nice a lovely welcome by the owner. Andres proceeded to ensure we were all settled in to our room and ask (if we wanted) to dine in the restaurant that night and he would ensure we had something special. He did not disappoint and after freshening up in our wonderful room with views of the outside dinning area we relaxed in alfresco style over procesco and was convinced to partake in a 56 course taster menu. No menu required Andres asked us what we liked and didn't and then conjured up a wonderful dinning experience for us. Highly recommend the local Tuscan beer which we search for for the rest of the holiday and never found! The food was AMAZING visually stunning and so flavor some with lots of love, care and attention poured into ever aspect. Our best meal of the holiday. The food was most memorable but the rooms were also wonderful with another great nights sleep.

Room Tip: Do not stay without experiencing the food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed here for one night to celebrate our anniversary and I cannot say enough to recommend it!! The rooms are simple but spacious and very clean. The inn is in the country, so you will want a car, but the location is ideal for seeing the area. The highlight is without a doubt the restaurant which Andrea and Elena run with a very personal and enthusiastic professionalism. The use of local products, including an extensive and very reasonably priced wine list, creates an incredible dining experience. The restaurant has a number of rooms which give you a very cosy atmosphere together with an extensive menu that is outstanding. We chose the tasting menus and Andrea and Elena prepared an incredible variety of dishes that were one of the highlights of our visit to Italy. They are true advocates of "Slow Food" so if you are adventurous with food, let Andrea choose. If there are foods you would rather not try, tell Andrea and they will tailor the menu to your wishes. All in all, a truly enjoyable visit. Thank you Andrea and Elena. You're terrific and we wish you all the best!!
Nancy and Robert

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

This delightful hotel is located just outside Lucca and was easy to find with ample parking. We were welcomed by the young and very enthusiastic owners who bent over backwards to make us feel welcome. The room was very nice and comfortable with a view of the Tuscan countryside. We arrived in the afternoon tired and hungry, having driven from Milan after our flight from South Texas. Since the restaurant was not open, the owners brought a deligtful, complementary snack to tide us over. The restaurant was wonderful, especially since we were able to sit on the patio. The menu was in Italian and they spoke limited English, so we just told them to serve us the specials of the evening. It must have bneen seafood night as that is what we got - and it was WONDERFUL! Not being big seafood eaters, we were introduced to several items we had not eaten (and might not have ordered) before. Each was a delightful surprise, was attarctivcely served and tasted really good. It was a wonderful experience and a fantastic meal. The breakfast, also on the patio, was more conventional but excellent. We were able to look into the kitchen to see them begin cooking for the day and my wife visited with the owner/chef, who also has a small gourmet shop there, gave her some Italian cookiing tips and sold her some great items to take home. This is not a fancy place but staying here was a wonderful experience which we hope we can repeat. Lucca was a short drive from the hotel. Although the closest parking lot was full, we were able to drive around the perimeter of the walled city and quickly found a good parking place close to one of the gates. We arrived in Lucca on the Friday before the third Sunday of the month, which meant that that Saturday and Sunday one of the largest antique markets in Italy fills the squares and streets of this quaint, walled city. Being antique dealers, we felt like we had arrived in paradise and had a wonderful day. Antiques or not, it you want to enjoy Tuscany at its best, Lucca is the town and the Vigna Ilaria is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights after flying into Pisa. The location is about 10 minutes drive north west of Lucca centre so you really need a car. Rooms are simple but clean and spacious like you find in a B&B back in the UK. However the level of service from the owners, Andrea and Elena, and the quality of the restaurant are simply outstanding. On arrival we ordered a glass of wine and beer to have out in the garden and Andrea insisted it was our complimentary "welcome drink". We had planned a full day sightseeing in Lucca and after our breakfast Andrea insisted in driving us down to Lucca centre where he dropped us off right outside the Tourist Office. He then picked us up at 6 pm exactly as arranged and took us back to the Vigna Ilaria. Both nights we had a wonderful meal in the restaurant and Andrea was very patient in explaining the menu to us. The food and wine were lovely. Breakfast consisted of fruit, bread, cheese and cakes and was a perfect start to the day. One minor quibble - a couple of chairs would have been nice to sit on while we spent short periods in our room. All in all a great place to start our Tuscan holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

This guesthouse is perfect if you are looking for a place to sleep while visiting Lucca. Decent price, clean rooms with good shower. If you sleep here I strongly recommend the restaurant, part of the charme is combo of eating and sleeping in the Locanda.

If you are looking for a big hotel with 24-h roomservice, big TV and lots of facilities this is not your thing. It has only few rooms and is driven by the couple that also runs the restaurant. So lots of personal attention. The owners are very friendly and have passion for their business.

Closeby there is a big fitness/Spa/swimming pool where you can spend a rainy day.

I give 4 stars to the room. To make it five it needs wire gauze and a bigger and more solid bed. The restaurant is absolutely 5.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

At this Hotel you feel like you are staying with friends. It's a very personal experience. The Hotel is a few kilometers outside of the city. But that's no problem. The very kind owner will just take you to the city and even pick you up. Andrea and Elena are very warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Vigna Ilaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Vigna Ilaria

Address: Via della Pieve S.Stefano 967/C | S.Alessio, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Locanda Vigna Ilaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Vigna Ilaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.