We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean and close to Lucca centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast
Via di Tiglio, 126, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice clean and close to Lucca centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at Ai Cipressi in Oct 2012 and were very happy with our choice - good welcome, convenient location just outside the city wall; clean and nice room with a kitchen and large bathroom with shower. Easy day trips from Lucca train station to Pisa and Viareggio.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    108
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
44
126
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We found this B&B pretty much as described by other reviews- clean, quiet, comfortable and whilst outside the city walls, very convenient. The bike rental was very handy and Lucca is just lovely. Do be careful crossing the intersection to the old part of the town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Beautifully, clean large rooms and comfortable breakfasting area, Keep in mind that this is not a hotel, but the management and staff are more helpful than many concierges in large hotels. Very close to the gate into the old walled town. Absolutely no complaints and would definitely return. Lucca is so beautiful, as are the surrounding areas that you wont be spending too much time in the rooms anyway.

Room Tip: the rooms over the car park area have a little corridor outside with tables where you can sit at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This reminded us of a motel 6 such as you would see in the United States. Clean basic rooms. Packaged breakfast food. Not inside the walls. Our room was next to the parking lot. Surprisingly quiet at night considering the location near a major road. We did not get an italian feel here that we enjoy when visiting Europe. If I had to do it again, I would stay within the city walls and pay more

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabriele, Direttore at Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guests,
we thank you and we are pleased regarding this positive review; we would like to specify that our B&B is different than a motel (no gas station, no car repairs, not public access), it is located in a private courtyard with private parking places, far from the traffic noises and just outside the pedestrian area and the city Walls. In our B&B you will find the attention to the details and the famous Italian Design; We have also fresh breakfast food. Thank you. Regards . Gabriele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Ai Cipressi is well located as it is not available to go inside the town by car. It is very close to Porta Elisa and near to bus station and the Turistic Office. The owner Gabriele is very friendly and helpful.
The value is ok for a B&B as it includes a good breakfast. The rooms are large and clean, with a small TV and air conditioning. The hotel has a parking area, wifi and bikes to rent. It is a good choice to visit Lucca spending little.

Room Tip: Rooms in the first floor are better as they are inside the main building and it is easy to have coff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Location

The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the town walls. The instructions on the website are good to get you to within a few yards (as will be a sat nav) but I must admit I missed it at first. As you come away from the walls you will first follow the road around to the left and pass the churches on either side of the road. The road then turns right and there is a no-entry sign ahead of you. The hotel is in a courtyard on the left at this corner, there is a sign but I must admit to missing it. You can't actually see the hotel from the road you turn into the courtyard and then right into another courtyard where there is some hotel parking. This is free and there is more free parking nearby if all the spaces have been taken.

The hotel is on the first floor and note that reception is closed from 12.30 to 3.30. I can't remember when it closes in the evening.

I must admit I only noticed that closing times when we were en-route and realised we would be arriving about 12.45. So I emailed reception and the owner kindly waited for us and delayed his lunch!

Staff

As I say the owner held off from lunch to cover our delayed arrival and check out was also very friendly.

Room size, comfort, amenities and cleanliness

The room was large as was the bathroom and we also had an extra single bed in the room. There is a small TV and there is a small table and chairs outside each room.

You have free wifi access though you need the code which I forgot to ask for so I had to wait until the morning to get it when we came back after dinner, I tried to log on then realised the code was not in the room handbook and reception had closed.

The room has an air conditioner.

There is also a TV room available.

The breakfast was good.

Value

At €95 I thought this was good value given the included breakfast, wifi , parking and location.


I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed 1 night with Gabriele & Daniele. We decided to try and save a little money by staying outside the walls of Lucca. It was a good decision. Even though it is outside the walls, it is only a 5 minute bike ride to the walls and bike ridding is what we wanted to do. They rent their own bikes which is very convenient and inexpensive. The place is simple, spotless and very quiet, away from street traffic. Our family slept great and Gabriele had a nice breakfast for us. It’s a great place to enjoy Lucca.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via di Tiglio, 126, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lucca
#8 Family Hotel in Lucca
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Cipressi Hotel
Ai Cipressi Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.