We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast
Via di Tiglio, 126, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This reminded us of a motel 6 such as you would see in the United States. Clean basic rooms. Packaged breakfast food. Not inside the walls. Our room was next to the parking lot. Surprisingly quiet at night considering the location near a major road. We did not get an italian feel here that we enjoy when visiting Europe. If I had to do it again, I would stay within the city walls and pay more

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabriele, Direttore at Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guests,
we thank you and we are pleased regarding this positive review; we would like to specify that our B&B is different than a motel (no gas station, no car repairs, not public access), it is located in a private courtyard with private parking places, far from the traffic noises and just outside the pedestrian area and the city Walls. In our B&B you will find the attention to the details and the famous Italian Design; We have also fresh breakfast food. Thank you. Regards . Gabriele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    109
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
45
127
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Ai Cipressi is well located as it is not available to go inside the town by car. It is very close to Porta Elisa and near to bus station and the Turistic Office. The owner Gabriele is very friendly and helpful.
The value is ok for a B&B as it includes a good breakfast. The rooms are large and clean, with a small TV and air conditioning. The hotel has a parking area, wifi and bikes to rent. It is a good choice to visit Lucca spending little.

Room Tip: Rooms in the first floor are better as they are inside the main building and it is easy to have coff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Location

The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the town walls. The instructions on the website are good to get you to within a few yards (as will be a sat nav) but I must admit I missed it at first. As you come away from the walls you will first follow the road around to the left and pass the churches on either side of the road. The road then turns right and there is a no-entry sign ahead of you. The hotel is in a courtyard on the left at this corner, there is a sign but I must admit to missing it. You can't actually see the hotel from the road you turn into the courtyard and then right into another courtyard where there is some hotel parking. This is free and there is more free parking nearby if all the spaces have been taken.

The hotel is on the first floor and note that reception is closed from 12.30 to 3.30. I can't remember when it closes in the evening.

I must admit I only noticed that closing times when we were en-route and realised we would be arriving about 12.45. So I emailed reception and the owner kindly waited for us and delayed his lunch!

Staff

As I say the owner held off from lunch to cover our delayed arrival and check out was also very friendly.

Room size, comfort, amenities and cleanliness

The room was large as was the bathroom and we also had an extra single bed in the room. There is a small TV and there is a small table and chairs outside each room.

You have free wifi access though you need the code which I forgot to ask for so I had to wait until the morning to get it when we came back after dinner, I tried to log on then realised the code was not in the room handbook and reception had closed.

The room has an air conditioner.

There is also a TV room available.

The breakfast was good.

Value

At €95 I thought this was good value given the included breakfast, wifi , parking and location.


I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed 1 night with Gabriele & Daniele. We decided to try and save a little money by staying outside the walls of Lucca. It was a good decision. Even though it is outside the walls, it is only a 5 minute bike ride to the walls and bike ridding is what we wanted to do. They rent their own bikes which is very convenient and inexpensive. The place is simple, spotless and very quiet, away from street traffic. Our family slept great and Gabriele had a nice breakfast for us. It’s a great place to enjoy Lucca.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Close to town, a 10 min. walk from town. Quiet, very clean and flashy look. Good breakfast, friendly and kind personnel. Excellent option if you don't want to be directly in town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel based on the recommendation from a travel agent, and were very happy with the accomodations, staff, and location. Here is a quick summary, mostly pro's with a couple minor cons.

Lots of pros:
- the price can't be beat!
- comfortable beds! we stayed in three different places, and while this was the least expensive, they were by far the best during the trip
- great staff - Gabriel and his older brother were helpful, prompty and friendly!
- great location - this location was really great, both close to the town and nestled next to a Sanctuary, so it was surprisingly quiet, too.
- bike rental - if you stay here, get their bikes. They are cheaper, not as obvious as other bike rentals, and in good shape. Plus, you can keep them all day for a flat fee.
- roomy bathroom with ample hot water and comfortable shower
- nice, small outdoor sitting area
- fast wireless service! we paid three times more for a place in a different area with much worse service
- free parking!

A couple very minor critiques
- breakfast had a lot of carbs - bread and cereal - and could use more protein. The espresso machine was loud, but it made good beverages, so the noise was somewhat worth it.
- I wish there was a mini-fridge to store picnic items or white wine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Upon first approaching the hotel we had a little difficulty finding it because it is tucked away behind a storefront and parking lot. I was slightly sceptical at first because the rooms open up to an outdoor balcony, but out room turned out to be very quiet, clean and the owners were very helpful. We rented bikes directly from he hotel which was clearly convenient and ended up being less expensive than other shops because the rate was for a full 24 hours. The owner also helped us pick out a restaurant for dinner and made a reservation for us. There were 4 of us in a family so we were able to get a room for 3 people and have a small bed brought in-it was ready for us before we arrived. Breakfast was light and included juice, milk, cereal, fresh breads, hot drinks from a machine and a variety of biscuits and fruit. It seemed as though the hotel was recently renovated and the decorations were fresh and bright. The location was unbeatable- right around the corner from the entrance to the walled town. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via di Tiglio, 126, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lucca
#8 Family Hotel in Lucca
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Cipressi Hotel
Ai Cipressi Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.