We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to finish our tour of Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino to your Saves list
Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino
Via Pieve S. Stefano 2511 | Vignale, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to finish our tour of Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Beautiful! Stunning! Enough superlatives, this place was a little jewel, a peaceful haven in a perfect place, to give us a restful end to an exciting trip.
Giovanna could not do more to be more helpful. So friendly and welcoming.
Your breakfast view will be tough to beat!!
We stayed in the apartments and found them very comfortable and peaceful.
The pool was a beautiful place to spend a restful morning charging our batteries.
Local restaurants are amazing, so you don't feel that you are missing being closer to the town centre. Just heavenly.

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the apartment upstairs with amazing views. The lovely stroll in the morning up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
49
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed a full week in the lovely manor house but our first night was in a very noisy apartment with a lot of children on every side! When we moved to the manor room we were very happy. It is beautiful and very peaceful. Lovely breakfast and fantastic scenery. Would recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We have stayed in the Fabbrica for almost a week with our family, including four grand parents and two children. All of us have been just excited about the place. It is not only beautiful and amazingly located, but the team of Giovanna and Giuseppe have been doing such a perfect job, that we have been just grateful for these gorgeous days. We loved our apartments, which have given all the couples enough privacy but we had the feeling of staying close together in a cozy and beautiful atmosphere.
Making yoga at the pool in the morning, overlooking Lucca, will stay as a wonderful memory.
Giovanna has prepared lovely breakfasts every morning, with little surprise cakes and goodies from the region.
I have enjoyed the Rose of Giuseppe so much, that we have taken 6 bottles with us to Switzerland ...
In summary, it was the best choice for our family holiday ...
Thank you Giovanna, Giuseppe and the whole Team!

Room Tip: does not matter, all are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our stay at this country estate was excellent and exceeded our expectations. The land is beautiful, vineyards and olive trees hundreds of years old. Giuseppe explained the wine making process in such a way that his passion became ours for the time we were there.
The rooms are well appointed and spacious. Giavanna was available for our every need. Breakfast on the terrace of their villa was delicious and the view magnificent.
Treat yourself!

Room Tip: No bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had a fabulous 3 night stay at Fabbrica di San Martino, a short drive from Lucca. What a fantastic place to stay. It is more or less a country estate with the main house and lovely garden and the old stable block set in large vine and olive growing fields with spectacular countryside views. Our hosts were lovely and charming and couldn't be more helpful. Giuseppe stayed up late to let us in after our plane was delayed and we got a little lost. The property is a little difficult to find at night so make sure you get directions from the owners rather than do as we did and get them from a map website. Our room was really an apartment on the ground floor of the old stables. There were two bedrooms, a bathroom and a fully enquipped kitchen/dining/living room with everything you need for self catering even though we were there for B&B. Breakfast was served on the cool terrace of the main house with stunning views. There was coffee, tea, hot water, milk and fruit juice in thermos flasks. On the table were yoghurts, a big bowl of fruit to help yourself from, cheeses, ham rolls, bread, butter, jams and a cake of the day. We were invited to view the inside of the mansion house to see the antique furniture and the interior and it is amazing. There are three restaurants within a short drive. We tried one of them and it was excellent. There are lots of places to eat in Lucca itself. Mustn't forget to mention that In the evenings we had the most spectacular display from the fireflies. This is a great place to stay and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
245 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in a very comfortale farmhouse apartment with a large bedroom and large dining/living room/ kitchen. I had obsessed about whether to stay within the Lucca walls or outside, and before we arrived, I was concerned that I had made the wrong decision. As it turns out, my decision was absolutely right. The countryside at the Fabbrica is beautiful and restful, Giovanna and Guiseppe are warm, super friendly and very helpful. If it is warm enough, Breakfast is served on the incredibly beautiful terrace of the main house. The walled city of Lucca is fine to walk around for a day, but I think staying outside the walls is a much better choice. From Fabbrica, you can take long walks or drive to various sites or simply rest. One place we loved was Barga, about a 30 or 40 minute drive from Fabbrica. Also, we ate dinner twice at an excellent restaurant up the hill from Fabbrica called Lombardo.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I feel guilty for not writing this review so much earlier!

My husband and I spent 4 nights here on our honeymoon in Oct 2013. I could have stayed a month. I have always wanted to stay in a "typical tuscan villa" in the countryside and this place was perfect. We had a HUGE room on the mail floor of the house. The house was like a musuem with beautiful furniture and artwork. Giovana makes you feel very welcome and the private breakfast every morning on the patio was amazing. Sitting there every day before heading out on an adventure was on the highlights of our honeymoon.

I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone looking for that true tuscan experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
2.7 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
4.7 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#15 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
1.7 mi away
Relais La Cappella
Relais La Cappella
#3 of 56 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#5 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
2.8 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
1.0 mi away
Al Podere di Rosa
Al Podere di Rosa
#2 of 56 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino

Address: Via Pieve S. Stefano 2511 | Vignale, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.