We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino
Via Pieve S. Stefano 2511 | Vignale, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 58 hotels in Lucca
Los Altos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at Fabbrica for 6 nights. It was a wonderful experience. We stayed in the ground floor apartment. It is comfortable, well equipped and quite large. The proprietors, Giovanna and Giuseppe are very pleasant and helpful people. We had planned to use this as a home base for trips to Florence, Pisa, and other spots in Tuscany. Instead we just stayed here because, after a day or two of exploring, we decided this was as good as it gets. We did not rent a car, but for our purposes, that was fine, though when we return we probably will to venture out more into the lovely countryside. It's about a 1 hour walk to Lucca and bit more back as it is uphill. There is a market about 1/2 hour walk. On most days, we walked to the market and picked up food to cook for the next evening. We also had meals at couple of local restaurants that were quite good. The swimming pool is much nicer than it appears in most photos and is in a very picturesque setting. We had an added treat of a wine tasting and tour of the vineyard by Giuseppe. Four people who were staying in Lucca booked a tasting and we were given the opportunity to join as guests. Giuseppe described their biodynamic approach to farming, showed how he grafts local grape vines to American roots, talked about planting herbs to properly condition the soil, poured us some wine, and had us sample some of their olive oil. It was fabulous. We also got a tour of the main house, a villa built in 1735, that has most of the original fixtures and furniture. This is a great place to visit and we plan to return.

Room Tip: The ground floor apartment is perfect for a couple or family of 4. The upstairs apartments are fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed in a huge apartment in the ancient farmhouse, beautifully furnished with colourful and comfortable antique pieces. A delicious spread of breakfast pastries, fruit, yoghurt, local cheeses, honey and filled rolls was brought up from the manor house and laid out each morning, whilst we were asleep! Lovely views of Lucca and surrounding hills and countryside, from all our rooms. The family at the beautiful main villa are charming and very welcoming, and are often seen around the farm. Wonderful restaurants within a short drive. Easy access to Lucca. A very peaceful and beautiful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

A fascinating old villa the family now shares with guests.. We stayed in the house, but the best rooms are the apartments just outside as far as we could see.

House and rooms full of old pictures/old furniture and old style. Set in the Countryside it feels like you have stepped into a piece of history. Being old gives problems to the Family who battle away to maintain a comfortable environment.

Breakfast was a delight on the porch overlooking the lovely view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in the farmhouse next to the manor in one of the appartments. The rooms were very spacious, well equiped and comfortable. Breakfast which was served on the bordes of the manor itself and was just fantastic. Both the food land the location. At the time we were there, the grapes were harvested and were benig treated to make them into wine. As a result thee was a constant smell of wine when walking next to the cantina, which provided a typical pleasureable atmosphere. There is a also a nice swimming pool and sun terrace a little bit away from the houses but as it is really getting to be autumn now we couldn't really enjoy this. I should also not forget to mention the view which shows Lucca and the mountains behind it and is just beatifull, especially in the morning when the sun comes up and the autumn mist is still hanging between the hills and over Lucca. So really very nice and we certainly will come here again when in the area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We came here last year and made a detour to visit again this year. We didn't sleep here this time but came to buy more wine.
The owner is still as welcoming as ever and the place looks really good. Reservations by returning Italians also is a good indicator on how they run the B&B. The rooms is the main house are B&B but they also let apartments, with or without breakfast. Fantastic views on Lucca.

Room Tip: We had the apartment last year but I would love to come back to stay at the main building (only B&am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at Fabbrica di San Martino 3 days July 2012.
This is a wonderful, quiet place in rural surroundings with the kindest hostess and host you can imagine. If Paradise is half as nice. . . .
Breakfast amazing, fresh bakery, home made fresh juice and coffee.
I promise I'll get back there. Take 2-3 km to Lucca into consideration, we had own car - no problem. And in the evening when we came back from Lucca a fox walked quiet on the road in front of us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from 3 weeks in Tuscany and Umbria and our 3 night stay at Fabbrica di San Martino was definitely one of the highlights. The 18th century villa with original furnishing made us feel like royalty. Each morning while enjoying our elegant breakfast on the front terrace we were awestruck by the view. Giovanna and Giuseppe were wonderful hosts and helped with travel tips.

My husband is already planning a trip back...and we aren't even over the jet lag!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino

Address: Via Pieve S. Stefano 2511 | Vignale, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.