We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino
Via Pieve S. Stefano 2511 | Vignale, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 58 hotels in Lucca
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Really nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in the farmhouse next to the manor in one of the appartments. The rooms were very spacious, well equiped and comfortable. Breakfast which was served on the bordes of the manor itself and was just fantastic. Both the food land the location. At the time we were there, the grapes were harvested and were benig treated to make them into wine. As a result thee was a constant smell of wine when walking next to the cantina, which provided a typical pleasureable atmosphere. There is a also a nice swimming pool and sun terrace a little bit away from the houses but as it is really getting to be autumn now we couldn't really enjoy this. I should also not forget to mention the view which shows Lucca and the mountains behind it and is just beatifull, especially in the morning when the sun comes up and the autumn mist is still hanging between the hills and over Lucca. So really very nice and we certainly will come here again when in the area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We came here last year and made a detour to visit again this year. We didn't sleep here this time but came to buy more wine.
The owner is still as welcoming as ever and the place looks really good. Reservations by returning Italians also is a good indicator on how they run the B&B. The rooms is the main house are B&B but they also let apartments, with or without breakfast. Fantastic views on Lucca.

Room Tip: We had the apartment last year but I would love to come back to stay at the main building (only B&am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at Fabbrica di San Martino 3 days July 2012.
This is a wonderful, quiet place in rural surroundings with the kindest hostess and host you can imagine. If Paradise is half as nice. . . .
Breakfast amazing, fresh bakery, home made fresh juice and coffee.
I promise I'll get back there. Take 2-3 km to Lucca into consideration, we had own car - no problem. And in the evening when we came back from Lucca a fox walked quiet on the road in front of us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from 3 weeks in Tuscany and Umbria and our 3 night stay at Fabbrica di San Martino was definitely one of the highlights. The 18th century villa with original furnishing made us feel like royalty. Each morning while enjoying our elegant breakfast on the front terrace we were awestruck by the view. Giovanna and Giuseppe were wonderful hosts and helped with travel tips.

My husband is already planning a trip back...and we aren't even over the jet lag!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

The manor, the vineyard, the farmers house were you stay, it all comes together and you wish you could stay a little longer. This place would be lovely with a big family and use up all the rooms with the common rooms, the kitchen, the pool etc. a good place to stay for a week. Nonetheless we only came for one night. La contessa showed us two rooms available in the farmers house just outside the gate of the manor. Both have a bedroom, bathroom and common room and all done in a lovely simple old fashioned but charming way. You are offered an apartment rather than a room even for one night stay. The name "hotel" gave us the wrong impression that we could also eat there but Giovanna made reservations for us at the recommended restaurant nearby. Breakfast is set out in your common room and included ham, cheese etc.
Without a reservation it was a bit tricky to get passed the chain at the entrance but the telephone number is mentioned at the entrance. You can also try ringing all the bells (cantina is the shop), someone will respond eventually. Keep trying, it's worth it.
Next day we bought a case of the estate's wine that we had with our dinner. Giovanna and Guiseppe produce about 12.000 bottles of wine.

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice and have a view. I wouldn't choose the 'upstairs' room first but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya0810
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We spent 5 days at the Fabbrica di San Martino in Octobe 2010. It is about 15 minutes outside of Lucca on the country side on a road filled with wine growers and makers. About 5 minutes from the villa, you can find a tiny charming town with small restaurants, grocery and wine stores.
We opted to rent an appartamento instead of staying at the villa. It was a good move as it was the more private option. If you consider this place, ask to have a room with a view to Lucca or the first floor apartment with terrace overlooking Lucca. We didnt specify our preference and missed out on a better experience. Our room was old and rustic; exactly what we wanted. But be aware, you might find it too rustic. Th beds were 2 single old church style beds w put together. The bathroom and kitchen have been updated for comfort but not style. Again, if you want traitional, country experience, you will like this; if not, go somewhere else.
The owner of the villa brings breakfast daily; an amazing assortment of cheeses, parties and cold cuts with coffeee and tee. We loved our breakfasts at San Martino.
If you go, make sure you go to Illaria for dinner. It is an amazing restaurant. The pork chops were wonderful and you get to choose your wine at the cellar
Say hi to the cute donkey with the "cross" on his back and do try the wine from the fabric. It is very good.
Enjoy Lucca, it is a wonderful town.

Room Tip: Ask for view of Lucca and breakfast included; it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

We stayed 5 days at Fabbrica di San Martino beginning of September. It was a wonderful stay. The owners, Giovanna and Giuseppe, are great hosts who understand what running a hotel is all about and have good tips about what to do in the area. The apartment are big, clean and have all the comfort you need. We travelled with a baby of 4 months old and couldn't have asked for better service. The baby bed was great and the apartment had a microwave which is very handy when you need to warm a bottle. Most agriturismo's don't have this so it was a big plus! In the 3 weeks we have travelled through Italy, this was definately our best stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino

Address: Via Pieve S. Stefano 2511 | Vignale, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.