We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Rex to your Saves list
Hotel Rex
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Ricasoli 19, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Lucca
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Hotel Rex in Lucca is near the city wall, train station and lots of amenities.
After a short drive from Pisa airport we had a smooth check in and a reserved car parking. Breakfast was good. Room was big, very clean with high ceiling however it needs a bit of updating but it is full of character.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    89
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
35
112
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Rex as a complete accident. My friends were camping near Lucca, and so we were driving around trying to find me a hotel room nearby (I DO NOT camp - bad experience). We drove up and there is Hotel Rex literally two minutes walk from the train station. The patriarch (a very energetic young octegenarian) was outside making sure it was very tide. He was so charming! The room was clean and cozy. The staff was friendly and kind. I would recommend Hotel Rex to everyone. I know that's where I'm staying if I ever go back to Lucca.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel is located across a parking lot from the train station. It is across the street from access to the Lucca town wall. They have bicycles available to ride on the wall or wherever. It is also within walking... distance of EuropeCar car rental. The mother and daughter who run the hotel are extremely helpful, speak very good English, and went out of their way to give directions and service. The night clerk also spoke very good English and was a valuable resource to help find a great dining experience. Included breakfast was plentiful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I would recommend the Hotel Rex in Lucca. It is a friendly family hotel and you are made to feel very welcome. The bedroom was air conditioned which was great. Very clean and tidy, and a great selection at breakfast, something for everyone! I have stayed in Lucca a few times and for me the Rex was ideally situated. It is right at the train station which means when you arrive you literally walk out of the station with your luggage, cross the road and you are there. Although at the station it is very quiet, no noisy trains at all. To enter the lucca walls, it is literally 4 mins walk from The Rex. Another plus, is the price, VERY reasonable. I'll be back :-)

Room Tip: We had a twin room overlooking the square which was lovely, all have lovely window shutters outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Unfortunately, the Italian train employees staged a wildcat strile that Monday and all trains from Viareggio to Lucca were cancelled. So we caught a bus in the rain and dragged our luggage through the town. Two days later it was very convenient for our train to Siena via Florence. The room was good, clean and quiet, the breakfast was acceptable and the front desk staff were very friendly.
It was very convenient for our exploration of Lucca and access to wine bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Perfect location! Just outside the old walls. Staff are helpful enough, if a touch grumpy :) room was large with a high ceiling, brand new bathroom. Breakfast was good enough. Free parking.

Seeing as you can't drive into the old city without a permit, this is basically the best you'll do if you have a car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

After getting lost in Florence, finding Hotel Rex in Lucca was a breeze! Our GPS put us in front of the railway station across from Hotel Rex. Parking for our rental car was provided right in front of the hotel. The desk people welcomed us warmly. Directly across the busy street is the ancient city wall that encompasses the old town. We rode bikes atop the wall then came down and walked around the old town. Absolutely charming!. Had a great lunch in Piazza Napoleone.
Valentina (at the desk) recommended a tiny restaurant just around the corner for dinner. Bar Cupido was a delightful find with good service and GREAT food. ad no other tourists, but lots of locals. Valentina told us that the next night was Luminaria di Santa Croce, a big procession through the old town. The next day we drove to La Spezia where we took the train to the Cinque Terre for the day. Upon our return, we went back to Bar Cupido for dinner then over to experience the Luminaria di Santa Croce procession. There were 4,000 marchers from all over Italy in the procession.Many were in traditional costumes or Medieval costumes. We did not stay for all of it but did hear and see the fireworks from our room at midnight! Our room was typically small but comfortable. Very clean. The breakfast was pleasant. The staff and location really make Hotel Rex a great find. Would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to friends planning a couple of days in Lucca.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Piazza Ricasoli 19, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy family-run hotel located 100 meters far from the historic center and 80 meters far from the main railway station, convenient location for easy exploration of the countryside and the coast of Tuscany. Hotel Rex offers a range of services to its customers, such as free Wi-Fi in the entire building and in all rooms, a rich buffet breakfast with sweet and savory dishes, comfort for children and free parking places in front of the hotel. The friendly staff at Hotel Rex is always happy to answer all your questions and give you tips on how to make your stay special in Lucca and at Hotel Rex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.