We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and staff can't be beat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rex to your Saves list
Hotel Rex
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Ricasoli 19, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Location and staff can't be beat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

After getting lost in Florence, finding Hotel Rex in Lucca was a breeze! Our GPS put us in front of the railway station across from Hotel Rex. Parking for our rental car was provided right in front of the hotel. The desk people welcomed us warmly. Directly across the busy street is the ancient city wall that encompasses the old town. We rode bikes atop the wall then came down and walked around the old town. Absolutely charming!. Had a great lunch in Piazza Napoleone.
Valentina (at the desk) recommended a tiny restaurant just around the corner for dinner. Bar Cupido was a delightful find with good service and GREAT food. ad no other tourists, but lots of locals. Valentina told us that the next night was Luminaria di Santa Croce, a big procession through the old town. The next day we drove to La Spezia where we took the train to the Cinque Terre for the day. Upon our return, we went back to Bar Cupido for dinner then over to experience the Luminaria di Santa Croce procession. There were 4,000 marchers from all over Italy in the procession.Many were in traditional costumes or Medieval costumes. We did not stay for all of it but did hear and see the fireworks from our room at midnight! Our room was typically small but comfortable. Very clean. The breakfast was pleasant. The staff and location really make Hotel Rex a great find. Would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to friends planning a couple of days in Lucca.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    93
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
37
118
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a week and couldn't be happier with the location, facilities and service. The location is ideal as it is very close to the railway station and to the City Walls, making it easy to get out and about. Despite the closeness to the station it was very quiet and tranquil. The room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. Shower cubicle could have been slightly bigger but that didn't matter too much, more importantly the water pressure was excellent. Breakfast buffet was very good with an extensive selection. What really made the stay so pleasurable was the wonderful, friendly service from the owners and staff. You were really made to feel welcome and part of a family. Would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel location is perfect most if you came by train. Just one block or less and here you are!
Easy to park, because the station is there. and close to a gate to go inside the old city that you can go walking.
The attention is careful, rooms are clean, spacious,bright, good internet connection. Normal Breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Great location, clean, very friendly service, very personal service, good value. Old chap is a gem and does much to welcome you. We had a rental and were also able to park right outside the hotel. Would definitely recommend for a quick visit to Lucca.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel was in a great location, and the men who handled our check-in were extremely sweet and helpful. The hotel was reasonably priced, but the bed was maybe the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We drove in and found it easily. Their reccomendation for dinner was perfect. Breakfast was bountiful and we even borrowed the bicycles to ride the wall in the morning. Couldn't ask for a better place, except for the football celebration that went on half the night. But I'm sure that disturbed all the hotels.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I've stayed there five times, and the best parts of the Rex are its location, service, and price. It's a few meters away from the train station and right across the street from the city walls and center. The rooms are simple but clean, and the bathrooms are somewhat cramped, but the friendly staff--including the 95-year-old owner--will work with you to make sure you have a comfortable stay. Couldn't expect anything better for the price and location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Piazza Ricasoli 19, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy family-run hotel located 100 meters far from the historic center and 80 meters far from the main railway station, convenient location for easy exploration of the countryside and the coast of Tuscany. Hotel Rex offers a range of services to its customers, such as free Wi-Fi in the entire building and in all rooms, a rich buffet breakfast with sweet and savory dishes, comfort for children and free parking places in front of the hotel. The friendly staff at Hotel Rex is always happy to answer all your questions and give you tips on how to make your stay special in Lucca and at Hotel Rex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.