We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but very handy and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carignano

Save Saved
You added Hotel Carignano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Carignano
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Sant'Alessio n 3680 | Localita Carignano, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 58 hotels in Lucca
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Basic but very handy and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This country hotel is 10 minutes away from the centre of Lucca. I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. The management has changed recently so the restaurant next door is now separate from the hotel which means you can't pay for your meals there by signing on your room. The rooms are comfortable. clean but simply decorated. I had a nice balcony with a view over the small park Breakfast is continental only but more than adequate. Parking is very good. The hotel is now installing a new swimming pool which should be ready for the summer season.
Location is perfect not only for visiting Lucca (do not miss it!) but also for chic Forte dei Marmi, the Opera in Torre del Lago and to see all the other wonderful locations in Tuscany. Prices are more than reasonable

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms round the back are large and newly buillt
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    63
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
43
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days and we were very pleased, the staff was very friendly and helpful with directions, excellent location in Lucca, we were able to visit CinqueTerre one day and Florence the next day, the restaurant next to the hotel was wonderful, we had dinner there twice and the food was very good.You can not beat the price of the Carignano including breakfast and free parking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espezel, France
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

A place we will visit again! A B&B bargain for 5 nights for 2 people in a superior room with breakfast for under 300€. The room was a good size with views over a grassy paddock and distant hills. Cleaned immaculately each day. Friendly English speaking staff and a reasonable buffet breakfast with the best selection of leaf tea's we have seen in ANY hotel.
Attached restaurant served great pizza/ beer for 8€ or 4 courses including a mega steak and wine for 25€. We ate there 4/5 nights!
Not close enough to Lucca if you don't have a car or bike.
Close to easy/harder bike rides (Pisa is 25 km, 75% tracks, dead flat) hotel has no information, but lots of bike hire in Lucca and some will bring them to the hotel/ take you on a tour.....it does have a computer/ printer to access online maps!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wye valley
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for our last night in Italy and wanted somewhere near to Pisa airport. This was perfect. We had time to explore Lucca ( worth a visit-or two) the next day before returning home. The hotel is in the countryside so no noisy traffic roaring past. The rooms are of a good size and we did have an outside balcony but no view. I believe there is a swimming pool here but we didnt use it. There is a bar/coffee area but when we stayed here they were so short staffed that it was only manned when the receptionist was free to do so. Poor girl was rushed off her feet. The restaurant was very good and extremely popular so book ahead if there is a number of you. Breakfast was good but a criticism is that the fruit juice is from a machine (never seen that before) and i think was powdered!! Again there was not enough staff so items were running out well before they were replenished. However, the room rates are reasonable and hopefully they will sort out the staffing issue. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

I wanted a nice hotel outside Lucca so I could park my car without being worried that it would be gone the following morning. Also I wanted a relaxing hotel with an excellent restaurant nearby.
Well the hotel offers everything i was looking for and at a modest price.
The restaurant La Cantina di Carignano offers a wide variety of local and Italian dishes and from the meals I have had all very well prepared.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

What we liked best was the peace and quiet (our room was on the 2nd floor and facing the garden/pool area --- don't know what it's like facing the road). You could open the doors to the small terrace and enjoy fresh air all night long -- I wish more hotels offered this simple pleasure. The staff was very helpful, the wireless internet was free (another lesson for other hotels). Our only complaint was the breakfast ... it looked like it was the victim of some serious cost-cutting. The breakfast room was rather depressingly decorated, and the food limited in scope and quality (some sliced brown bread, a few slices of cheese and ham, hard boiled eggs, some very mediocre sweet pastries, some totally artificial fruit juices and a slightly dodgy-looking coffee machine). If they put a bit more into their breakfasts, I would happily give them full marks.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are wonderfully quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed two nights and found the hotel to be very good. The rooms were large as was the bathroom and the bed was very comfortable. The balcony had a nice view of the back yard and the country side. The hotel has seen better days by the look of the furniture but was clean. The front desk staff was friendly but not overly service minded - when checked in late at night and were kept waiting at the desk while two phone calls were first answered. The attached restaurant was excellent. It is a short drive to Lucca town center so it was a quiet place to sleep. Breakfasts were plentiful - had to ask for cappuccino as the machine variety was not very good. Other than that the breakfast was fine. Would we stay there again? Perhaps.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Carignano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carignano

Address: Via di Sant'Alessio n 3680 | Localita Carignano, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 58 hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carignano 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable three star hotel Hotel with 38 spacious bedrooms, air conditionig,family rooms for up to 5 persons, garden with childrens pool, ample parking, italian cuisine cooking school, typical local restaurant, pizzeria. vacation packages, 4 km from the center of lucca, 5 km from railway or expressway ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Hotel Carignano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carignano Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carignano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.