We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais La Cappella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Relais La Cappella to your Saves list
Relais La Cappella
Via dei Tognetti fraz. La Cappella | Ponte del Giglio, 55060 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 133 Lucca B&B and Inns
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed here one night during our Tuscany trip. Everything was really impressive. Delicious food, very good conditions, amazing view.
Very quite and romantic place. Highly recommended for couples :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    6
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
38
65
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I had a fantastic experience at this hotel. The view is amazing and the service is top notch. The treat is Emiliano, who treats you with hospitality and kindness from the moment you walk in until the moment you leave. The treat is the food, a once in a lifetime experience, having Emiliano cook you a dinner with locally sourced ingredients cooked in a Tuscan style.

You absolutely must stay in this hotel on your trip to Tuscany.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed 2nights there. It is truly Tuscany to us. The view is amazingly beautiful and the owner is very welcoming. The most important of all he is amazing cook. We enjoyed 2 dinners there. And so far the best in Italy. The first night we arrived late,but owner still prepared delicious pasta and wine to us. Bread and pasta are all home made. We really loved it. If you rent car, u should never miss Relais la cappella.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portscatho, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

First, may I say that anyone giving this hotel less than 4* must be extremely picky customers. Frankly, I'd ignore them; anything less is completely unreasonable.

This was an astonishingly beautiful hotel and even better value for money, given its style and location. If you're after a relaxing, informal, place to kick back, away from a busy life for under £100 a room a night in Italy, look no further. This place is astonishing on all those levels.

The host, Emiliano, works incredibly hard to make sure your stay is as above, and nothing is too much trouble for him. He does nearly everything himself and is a superb cook, catering for every guest in the evenings (should they want it).

He uses ingredients from his own garden and serves beautiful extras like his own peaches and strawberries, etc. He manages to bring people together at the hotel at his informal dinners, and yet you feel you can do your own thing if you're so inclined.

So, in short, if you want a relaxing stay in a stunning location in the Tuscan hills above Lucca, look no further.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We had a stressful time trying to reach the villa since it does not appear in the correct place in Google Maps but when we got there Emiliano made us feel right at home and took the edge off of our trip. Emiliano takes very good care of the villa and is a wonderful host - he's an even better cook. He used only the freshest local ingredients in our delicious dinner. We ate overlooking the olive groves and vineyards with Lucca in the valley below. It was and amazing and romantic stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We've just spent 2 days with my husband and my daughter and it was a very nice stay. The view is gorgeous, the owner is very nice (helpful, passionate, speaking many languages), the room is big and comfortable and the dinner was delicious (local meals with fresh ingredients). We really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Very strange!!! We arrived at about 8. pm, not a single person to see. 2 cars in the parking area. The gate opens after ringing a bell - still no one to see. I walked around the house, at least someone showed up, in the garden.. My question: this is an hotel?!? Yes. But?!? Sorry, we are fully booked. On my way out, I saw 4 old people having dinner on one table. Could not see any staff. We drove back to Lucca, 15 km very strange

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais La Cappella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Cappella

Address: Via dei Tognetti fraz. La Cappella | Ponte del Giglio, 55060 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Relais La Cappella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais La Cappella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.