We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Felt like visiting old friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast La Romea

Save Saved
You added Bed & Breakfast La Romea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast La Romea
Vicolo delle Ventaglie,2, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 127 Lucca B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It Felt like visiting old friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Well situated , comfortable and roomy. This 14th c home was a delightful change from the typical hotels we'd been visiting. . Our hosts anticipated our every need. Breakfast was wonderful . Only regret was we stayed just one night. Lucca itself was well worth the visit as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    31
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
101
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed just one night, but it was one of the highlights on our Tuscany trip. Super friendly and personal service, great large room and wonderful breakfast in the morning. It's smack in the middle of Lucca, which with our car was a bit challenging but we were expertly guided through the city and then on to the parking lot (free of charge). Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

right in the center of Lucca. We rolled our bags easily from the train station to the B&B. The breakfast was among the very best we've had in Italy. Loved the idea of being in a 14th century building. Very spacious, with a nice large modern bathroom.

Room Tip: We were in the Ivory Room and enjoyed it a lot, though I think all the rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Right in the centre off Lucca in a very quiet square is this utterly charming B&B. Situated on the 1st floor of a very large spacious 14th c house, the rooms are huge, airy and light .... Furnished beautifully an simply. The red room is very comfortable, with great shower room and is super quiet. It has all mod cons...frig, tv , Wifi. Giulio and Gaia do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. Good breakfast in their delightful living room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at La Romea for three nights during a ten day trip to Tuscany and Florence, started off in the sumptuous yellow room followed by a final night in the cute green room both rooms were a delight with amazing works of art and fittings. Giulio and Gaia were so friendly and helpful and always on hand to give advice and suggestions especially when serving the marvelous breakfasts.The location is perfect for exploring Lucca itself and for getting to the train station. We had a great stay here and would definitely visit again without hesitation. Only one problem - we missed Leonard Cohen performing in the Summer Festival the day before we arrived!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Little and charming B&B. The "peach" room is lovely, very spacious, with a spaciuos bathroom.the breakfast is very good and served in a homely living room. The owners are super kind and lovely. It is very well located in the historic centre, heart of Lucca and just few steps of the main shop street as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Perfect from start to end. The Blue Room with the amazing bathroom is a wonderful place to stay in the historie centre. Giulio called us to make sure we found our way with the car and we just had a good time from when we entered the 600 year old building. Gaia served our teenage boys extra breakfast in the nice liiving room, where we also played cards and had an evening Prosecco by ourselves. We stayed 4 people for 2 nights and felt as spesial guests, just around the corner of everything that happens in Lucca.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bed & Breakfast La Romea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast La Romea

Address: Vicolo delle Ventaglie,2, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast La Romea is a typical exemple of historic residence, located on the first floor of a late XIVth century palace in Via Sant'Andrea, a short walk fron the Guinigi Tower. Guests will be welcome in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere at the hart of the medieval town. The spacious living room gives room for your private meetings and a wonderful breakfast. We can organize Baby sitting as well as Dog sitting, please ask the reception. We can organize for transportation to and from the two major airports of Pisa and Firenze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Bed & Breakfast La Romea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast La Romea Hotel Lucca
Bed And Breakfast La Romea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast La Romea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.