We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lucc, Italy Lounge Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast La Romea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bed & Breakfast La Romea to your Saves list
Bed & Breakfast La Romea
Vicolo delle Ventaglie,2, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 133 Lucca B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Lucc, Italy Lounge Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Exploring the city of Lucca Italy was fun, especially walking the cities well-preserved wall and ramparts. My husband and I stayed in a recommended B&B, La Romea. Here is my quick list of likes and possible areas for improvement . . .

LIKES:
B&B was centrally located within the wall.
Giulio and his wife were friendly and helpful, and spoke English well.
Our bedroom and bathroom were on the large side from most rooms we've stayed in throughout Europe.
There were travel books available for guests use.
There were miscellaneous items avaiable for guests use: umbrellas, children's toys, etc.
WiFi was availble in our room and the large guest lounge area.
The B&B is in an old, interesting building . . . guests must climb 3 sections of stairs to get to the buildings first main floor were the B&B is located.
Good breakfast - variety and taste!

POSSIBLE AREAS FOR IMPROVEMENT/BE AWARE OF :
The B&B was difficult to find within the city.
There is no overnight hotel guest parking available. So, if you are driving to Lucca, you must park outside of the wall and walk into the city or pay to park just inside the wall in one of their parking garages, and then walk to your hotel.
The decor was eclectic within the B&B. A bit on the worn side.
Hard, lumpy bed/pillows.
There was no water, coffee, tea, or anything available to guests upon arrival or throughout the stay without extra charges, breakfast excluded.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    35
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
110
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We chose this B + B at the last minute, recommended in Rick Steves Italy 2011, and could not have been happier. The accomodations are spacious, immaculate, quiet, and very comfortable. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was the best we had during our 11 days in Italy. The B + B is centrally located in the beautiful town of Lucca. Wonderful respite during a hectic tour of Italy. Don't hesitate to book your stay here, it will be one of your favorite memories of Italy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

we spent two nights at this bed and breakfast,and we enjoyed everything : the location, in the hearth of the old town,with a lot of good restaurants and shops nearby , the cozy room ,the high quality breakfast .The owners were friendly and helpful.We felt like at home.We highly recommend this bed and breakfast !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

Sme places aren't as romantic or wonderful as you think you remember them. Not La Romea.

We stayed here 2 years ago, and decided to come back when planning another revisit to Italy. We loved the quiet charm of Lucca and wanted to share it with friends. Coming back to stay at La Romea was exactly as we remembered if not better! Giuliani and Gaia are wonderful hosts. The space is charming and clean. Breakfast was delicious.

Lucca is a great town to visit. La Romea is an unforgettable place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We enjoyed being only a few steps away from everything we came to experience (as it turned out that was largely pasta, rest, walking, and more pasta--Lucca has high standards for pasta). Our room was comfortable and the large living room area where we had breakfast each morning was also a nice place to stop by to find something to read (many English books [and Italian, of course] on many subjects, magazines, etc. The hotel is centrally located (small signs are on the outside of the building) near the main shopping streets (all pedestrian streets), restaurants, and espresso places. Guilo and Gaia (and yes, her mother too) were most gracious and helpful, pointing out where things were, etc.
There are wide steps leading up to what in the USA would be the 2nd floor, but our hosts readily offered to (and did) assist us with our bags. If you have tender feet you might like shower shoes because (in the Red Room, at least) the shower floor is made of large pebbles (they are beautiful, so that helped). The breakfast was good: cereals, yogurt, milk, etc. as well as pastries, cakes, savory ham and tomato finger foods. We were also offered eggs cooked any way we liked. It's a great stress-melting place & I'd stay there again. While we were there the other guests were all Italian (I consider that a very good sign).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Guilio and Gaia and Gaia's mother provided us with genuine hospitality during our two-night stay. What impressed us was how willing they were to accommodate our late arrival; when we rang the bell at 9:00 PM, Guilio greeted us by name and carried our large suitcase up the stairs, sat down with us, spread out a map, and proceeded to orient us to Lucca and his favorite local restaurants, which were wonderful choices. Our room was GIGANTIC and very comfortable. This location is great, right in the center of the town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed in La Romea for 3 nights on a friend's recommendation. It was great. It's in a 14th century building up a flight of stone stairs not too far from the main shopping street. There is a funky but charming common room around which the bedrooms are arranged. The bedrooms are high-ceilinged, nice, great shower in the bathroom. The nice Italian couple who run it, Julio and Gaia are great hosts, almost always with one of them around if you need them in the common room. Gaia's breakfasts are works of art--lots of variety with yoghurt, fruit salad, cold cuts, cheese, etc but she'll also make you wonderful eggs on request. There is a good restaurant below the B&B in the same building (Lucca is a very quiet but pleasant town with medieval walls still intact that you can bicycle (bicycle rental places available or walk around and circumnavigate the entire town, lots of shopping; but it is also quite quiet at night and unsually for Italy even a bit hard to find restaurants open at night after 8 or 9 pm except pizzerias). We had a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms are color-coded to room decor. So we stayed in the "Camera Rosso" or "Red Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed & Breakfast La Romea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast La Romea

Address: Vicolo delle Ventaglie,2, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast La Romea is a typical exemple of historic residence, located on the first floor of a late XIVth century palace in Via Sant'Andrea, a short walk fron the Guinigi Tower. Guests will be welcome in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere at the hart of the medieval town. The spacious living room gives room for your private meetings and a wonderful breakfast. We can organize Baby sitting as well as Dog sitting, please ask the reception. We can organize for transportation to and from the two major airports of Pisa and Firenze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bed & Breakfast La Romea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast La Romea Hotel Lucca
Bed And Breakfast La Romea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast La Romea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.