We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most classy and lovely hosts in west Tuscany” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Alessandra

Villa Alessandra
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lucca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Alessandra
Save Saved
You added Villa Alessandra to your Saves list
Via Arsine 1100/b, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 52 Specialty lodging in Lucca
Villars sur Ollon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The most classy and lovely hosts in west Tuscany”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

We stayed in Villa Alessandra more than once, lately in april last year and keep finding this place absolutely lovely. In the midst of a typical Tuscan/Lucca countryside, far enough from the city not to be disburted by noises or pollution, yet close enough to be in the center of Lucca in roughly 15 minutes.

The old classy and aristocratic house is charming and beautifully decorated, exceptionnally well kept, and the rooms are spacious, extremely comfortable, each with its own decoration style,

One is welcomed by the most pleasant hosts. Of course they are hosts, not valets ( as pretended by one of the reviewers...) and you cannot ask a gentleman in his early seventies to carry your bags. They are very culturred people, know the countryside and Lucca very well and will guide you with intelligent and acute advice.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

My fiancee and I stayed in Villa Alessandra for 4 nights earlier this month. The Villa is in a beautiful location. The gardens are well preserved and the rooms are big and confortable. There is a pool, although it's quite small. What this place lacks is a host with good manners and willing to help and welcome his guesses. He and his wife make the atmosphere rather hostile. We asked him few questions regarding resturants, bicicles and other practicalities. He always treated us as if we were suggesting or asking the most stupid questions. Unpolite, unfriendly and unable to liase with its guesses professionaly.
We chose this place because it was recommended in Alastair Sawday's book and sounded great. The guide said the place has two bikes guesses could use. It did not. Our host didn't help us with this either.
As beautiful as this place is, I would not go back unless I know the host has changed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

An enchanted place in the hills of Lucca, close to the city centre.
A car is required
Very large baths and showers, elegantly decorated rooms : a touch of class
A warm welcome to match the aristocratic atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

We really enjoyed our time at this B&B, particularly the beautiful Tuscany views, the attractive and air-conditioned rooms, and the hearty breakfast. The hosts were friendly and generally helpful. The pool was also fantastic during the hot August weather!

  • Liked — Beautiful villa and rooms, with views over Lucca. Delicious breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

Stayed at this villa earlier this month. The location and villa are very nice but the owner, well to say that he was less then welcoming is an understatement. He didn't even welcome us to the house or offer to carry the bags....
While staying there for a number of nights, he merely grunted at us if we met him in the hall and was not forthcoming with any information on the area, restaurants, things to do etc...Have to say I was disappoined by it as the place was recommended in Alastair Sawday's book and from his description it sounded lovely.
It is also quite a bit out of Lucca so you definately need a car!!

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2003

location a little out of the way, about 7 minutes from the wall in Lucca. Restaurants required a car. The rooms were large and the bathroom very spacious. The views were awesome. The host however was less than warm and did not even offer to help us with our luggage

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Alessandra

Address: Via Arsine 1100/b, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 Specialty lodging in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Alessandra is a noble country mansion built on the hill of Lucca in the middle of the XVIII° century (1760).Surrounded by vineyards and olive-groves edging its gardens rich of flowers and mimosa trees Far only few minutes from the Old City center unites the advantages of a modern town with the charm of the old times spirit It is available for weekly rentals (full Villa) or daily B&B (rooms only)or daily B&B (rooms only). ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Alessandra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.