We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly delightful experience in a beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Principessa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa La Principessa to your Saves list
Villa La Principessa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nuova per Pisa 1616/G, 55050 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Truly delightful experience in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

After spending a few days in Rome, we were looking forward to a quite restful week in Tuscany. Arriving at the hotel by car, we were immediately taken by the beautiful surroundings. It is a old style villa sitting at the foot of a hill, surrounded by forest of trees and bamboo bushes. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We booked a room for a family of four, and were pleasantly surprised by how spacious it was, there were two spacious double rooms, with a separate bathroom. Room were nicely set with a old style cottage feel. Wifi is not free but it is based on per use basis, so we paid €10 for the use for the whole 6 days. We had a couple of dinners in the hotel out in the garden, and they were wonderful experience, with nice food, and friendly staff, and beautifully surroundings, although I would prefer to have more choice in the menu. Breakfast is also good with plenty of choices. We also had a few lunches on the lawns near the swimming pool, it was very relaxing and enjoyable experience.
The hotel is only a couple of miles from Lucca city centre, and about half an hour drive from Pisa, so a very good spot to tour the region.
Overall a truly enjoyable stay, and we would definitely come back

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    56
    22
    11
    4
See reviews for
37
113
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Bardfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We have just spent a perfect week in this beautiful villa a short drive from Lucca. The period features of the elegant palazzo have been preserved and the surrounding gardens are lush, green and shady. We were able to eat outside on several occasions (the weather was quite stormy for much of the time).Delightful bedrooms and bathrooms and the social areas - lounge, bar - are perfect with enormous comfy sofas, great for relaxing. The staff are friendly and helpful but never pushy. I am a coeliac and they were very attentive to my dietary needs, adapting the menus, providing gluten free bread and biscuits and I had an excellent choice at breakfast.
can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We arrived in our Fiat 500, driving through drifts of beautiful rustling bamboo growths, we pulled up at the entrance of this Italian Palazzo. The fountain by the entrance was bounded by 4 frothy clouds of pink hydrangeas in antique terra cotta pots. When we stepped into this grand property, we were greeted with a welcome, as warm and mellow as the caramel coloured wood panelling and triple height ceilings. You are staying in a real palace, this is not a stage set and you have just stepped back in time. Short of picking up your crinolined dress , you can almost imagine The Duke and Duchess swooshing with their gowns around in this grand setting.

We were helped to our room by a bellboy. Our room 152 faced the other houses. On the first floor, in a far wing, there is not a lift unfortunately but the bellboy was strong and muscular. Beyond this, the grape field extends, up the hill and you can see a nunnery in the green mountains. It was an inspiring picture, certainly with Tuscan aspirations.

Our room was good. Luxurious and opulent especially the fabric coverings, a bit dark with just one window, albeit framing an inspiring Tuscan idyll.

Don't spend too much time in your room. Go sit and read in the various salons, go explore the nooks and crannies of this palace! Soak in the atmosphere, then have a bubble bath afterwards!

The pool was also great. You can order your 5 euro glass of chianti or champagne bucket of prosecco by the pool from the bar. No need for your colourful and bright beach towels - you will be presented with a fresh fluffy pool towel upon arrival. This place pampers and pleases.

The receptionists were very helpful in their recommendations to other Villas and their gardens. We drove to Villa Grabau and that is another romantic residence if you have a car ( an antique fiat 500 would be perfect). The staff, especially Silvia was very helpful. She was great when we were there and even more helpful after we left as unfortunately, I seem to have left my sunglasses at the hotel and Silvia was so helpful and efficient in the email communications with me to resolve this matter. Thank you for your help Silvia.

We have great memories of this place, with the utmost grandeur imaginable and we hope to be back. Thank you. This is a totally romantic experience - lose yourself in time- indulge a bit, enjoy the fantasy.....



Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Spent 2 nights in July. Chose the hotel because of the nice pool. However we had a thunderstorm with rain and overcast the whole time. This is a friendly and nice place with good service. We just had some trouble coping with the extreme wall papers in the rooms (psychedelic flowers in hideous colours) - authentic 70'ies style I'm sure. Bathrooms in all orange for one room and all green for the other. All carpets for the rest - not very new..... Beds are really hard. A bit too much for our taste. All that aside - a nice place. Very quiet and contemplative - readers and writers around at various places.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We really enjoyed this break. I want to make this clear at the start as I will be making some recommendations which although appearing negative are simply suggestions and points that guests might feel would be important to a more luxurious stay at little extra effort and cost on the part of the hotel. We had a triple room which was a great size and offered a wonderful view of the gardens, pool and backdrop of the cool, refreshing mountains. The hotel is luxurious and it really is a peaceful and appreciated oasis just outside Lucca. This is particularly relevant given that our visit was in July and the heat within the historic centre itself was overbearing and after a few hours of being jostled and praying for the shadowed areas it was vastly appreciated to climb back into the foothills and breathe in the fresh air, bask at the pool and rest those tired feet. The hotel itself was well located. The down side was perhaps the fact that although it was close to Lucca, it was situated on the main road and the traffic was simply crazy. This made it very difficult to get a decent walk and without a hired car one is left to resort to taxi journeys which can be pretty expensive for the short journey into Lucca and back. The hotel restaurant was great, the food very affordable and the al fresco dining a highly enjoyable experience. We did not find all of the staff the most helpful but on the whole they were pretty good and we certainly had no complaints, the restaurant staff were the best in our opinion. The extra charge for wi fi at a hotel of this quality appears a little mean and no complimentary water was supplied even in the hottest of conditions. It would also be helpful if more sun loungers were supplied around the pool area so as guests were assured of a seat as opposed to wondering each day if 10 a.m was already going to be too late. Why oh why does the pool close at 7.30 p.m. just at the time some guests might feel it has become a little cooler and a swim would be pleasant? The hotel should seek to provide guests with a leaflet outlining helpful details upon arrival, such as a local taxi number, the bus timetable into Lucca, location of some other local restaurants. I know that most people may hire a car and will therefore not have noticed these issues and car parking is well provided for. Some people however have come from further afield and do not want to drive for their short time away and perhaps some thought should be given to a little more of a helpful guide. It may even be worth considering a shuttle bus type taxi leaving and returning a couple of times a day to at least ensure a trip into Lucca is made more easy. The final point I would like to make which again would be helpful to guests at little cost to the hotel would be to be more accommodating regarding late checkout. I am aware that this can be difficult when the hotel is fully booked but it is not very helpful to offer the day at the swimming pool yet provide no room or facilities for changing prior to going to the airport. We had asked for a late checkout and initially there was a misunderstanding as they thought we wanted an extra night at the hotel. When I asked about the late checkout the next day I was told that the hotel had managed to rearrange the rooms to provide the room for one extra night. I told them that I did not want another night but only a late checkout. I was surprised when I was then told that it was impossible as the hotel was fully booked. It simply can't have been if 1 minute earlier I was being offered my room for the extra night. It is small details like this that leave one a little angered when the hotel has been well paid and respected by us throughout our stay and it makes one feel that along with the wifi issue, complimentary water issue and a few of the extra charges here and there that much importance is placed by the hotel on getting the last penny and it smells a little of lack of grace. All this said however I want to make it clear that these are simple suggestions but overall the hotel, location, staff, restaurant and facilities are all pretty good and lend to a most enjoyable experience. Many of the issues I have raised would be less of a problem if one is driving or has hired a car for the duration of the stay and perhaps more thought could be given to those guests who want a holiday from the driving as well.

Room Tip: Best to get a room overlooking pool and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is a hotel with great staff and amazing location.
The hotel manager recieved us with a very warm wellcome.
The staff are extremly service minded and make us feel royal. The building itself is more like a museum and for thoose Who like history it is Nice to stay in a house that once hosted Napoleon Bonaparte.
I have been travling the world in my job for many years, but selsom stayed at such a Nice place. The hotel could use some refurnishment, but its of a minor issue. Best think about the stay is the straff

Room Tip: Choose superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The view from our room's window was fantastic. The pool is large, rectangular and was uncrowded. The huge lobby area rooms conveys a feeling of the building's aristocratic past. Dining on the outside terrace is a luxurious experience, with delicious food and good wines.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear looking towards the swimming pool also have a huge view of the hills and fores...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa La Principessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Principessa

Address: Nuova per Pisa 1616/G, 55050 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lucca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa La Principessa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa La Principessa is an elegant hotel with private park and swimming pool, surrounded by the hills around Lucca. All rooms are air-conditioned and bright.The historic centre of Lucca is 3 km from Villa La Principessa, formerly a noble residence.La Principessa's restaurant serves traditional recipes and Tuscan wines.The sun terrace and the garden offer panoramic views of the countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa La Principessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Principessa Hotel Lucca
Hotel La Principessa
La Principessa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa La Principessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.