We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, relaxing break. An oasis outside of the heat of Lucca Centre.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Principessa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa La Principessa to your Saves list
Villa La Principessa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nuova per Pisa 1616/G, 55050 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great, relaxing break. An oasis outside of the heat of Lucca Centre.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We really enjoyed this break. I want to make this clear at the start as I will be making some recommendations which although appearing negative are simply suggestions and points that guests might feel would be important to a more luxurious stay at little extra effort and cost on the part of the hotel. We had a triple room which was a great size and offered a wonderful view of the gardens, pool and backdrop of the cool, refreshing mountains. The hotel is luxurious and it really is a peaceful and appreciated oasis just outside Lucca. This is particularly relevant given that our visit was in July and the heat within the historic centre itself was overbearing and after a few hours of being jostled and praying for the shadowed areas it was vastly appreciated to climb back into the foothills and breathe in the fresh air, bask at the pool and rest those tired feet. The hotel itself was well located. The down side was perhaps the fact that although it was close to Lucca, it was situated on the main road and the traffic was simply crazy. This made it very difficult to get a decent walk and without a hired car one is left to resort to taxi journeys which can be pretty expensive for the short journey into Lucca and back. The hotel restaurant was great, the food very affordable and the al fresco dining a highly enjoyable experience. We did not find all of the staff the most helpful but on the whole they were pretty good and we certainly had no complaints, the restaurant staff were the best in our opinion. The extra charge for wi fi at a hotel of this quality appears a little mean and no complimentary water was supplied even in the hottest of conditions. It would also be helpful if more sun loungers were supplied around the pool area so as guests were assured of a seat as opposed to wondering each day if 10 a.m was already going to be too late. Why oh why does the pool close at 7.30 p.m. just at the time some guests might feel it has become a little cooler and a swim would be pleasant? The hotel should seek to provide guests with a leaflet outlining helpful details upon arrival, such as a local taxi number, the bus timetable into Lucca, location of some other local restaurants. I know that most people may hire a car and will therefore not have noticed these issues and car parking is well provided for. Some people however have come from further afield and do not want to drive for their short time away and perhaps some thought should be given to a little more of a helpful guide. It may even be worth considering a shuttle bus type taxi leaving and returning a couple of times a day to at least ensure a trip into Lucca is made more easy. The final point I would like to make which again would be helpful to guests at little cost to the hotel would be to be more accommodating regarding late checkout. I am aware that this can be difficult when the hotel is fully booked but it is not very helpful to offer the day at the swimming pool yet provide no room or facilities for changing prior to going to the airport. We had asked for a late checkout and initially there was a misunderstanding as they thought we wanted an extra night at the hotel. When I asked about the late checkout the next day I was told that the hotel had managed to rearrange the rooms to provide the room for one extra night. I told them that I did not want another night but only a late checkout. I was surprised when I was then told that it was impossible as the hotel was fully booked. It simply can't have been if 1 minute earlier I was being offered my room for the extra night. It is small details like this that leave one a little angered when the hotel has been well paid and respected by us throughout our stay and it makes one feel that along with the wifi issue, complimentary water issue and a few of the extra charges here and there that much importance is placed by the hotel on getting the last penny and it smells a little of lack of grace. All this said however I want to make it clear that these are simple suggestions but overall the hotel, location, staff, restaurant and facilities are all pretty good and lend to a most enjoyable experience. Many of the issues I have raised would be less of a problem if one is driving or has hired a car for the duration of the stay and perhaps more thought could be given to those guests who want a holiday from the driving as well.

Room Tip: Best to get a room overlooking pool and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    55
    22
    11
    4
See reviews for
35
111
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucca, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is a hotel with great staff and amazing location.
The hotel manager recieved us with a very warm wellcome.
The staff are extremly service minded and make us feel royal. The building itself is more like a museum and for thoose Who like history it is Nice to stay in a house that once hosted Napoleon Bonaparte.
I have been travling the world in my job for many years, but selsom stayed at such a Nice place. The hotel could use some refurnishment, but its of a minor issue. Best think about the stay is the straff

Room Tip: Choose superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The view from our room's window was fantastic. The pool is large, rectangular and was uncrowded. The huge lobby area rooms conveys a feeling of the building's aristocratic past. Dining on the outside terrace is a luxurious experience, with delicious food and good wines.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear looking towards the swimming pool also have a huge view of the hills and fores...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moenchengladbach, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

A quiet old romantic Palazzo in a beautiful park, 10 min. away from Lucca Center.
The rooms are comfortable and clean.
Pool area is relaxing. Restaurant food is very good at reasonable prices. Romantic Athmosphere, especially when sitting outside.

Room Tip: Very nice old Palazzo in a beautiful park. Pool area is very relaxing after Tuscany sightseeing. Rom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Quiet hotel with large, clean rooms. A a green oasis with a wonderful garden near Lucca.
The pool is large and the whole setup quite relaxing.
Only negative point: Staff is sometimes difficult to catch e.g. for a dring at the pool or at the bar.
Overall very pleasant experience. I would book there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We first discovered Villa La Principessa three years ago when my wife and I were scouting wedding locations in the Lucca area, and fell in love with it immediately. From the outside it's a stunning historic villa amid glorious green gardens, and inside it's a trendy mix of vintage furniture, modern art, and tastefully clashing patterns.
Although we didn't hold the ceremony itself there, the main wedding party filled the hotel in the summer of 2012. My wife and I stayed in the main balcony suite, a large comfortable room with lounge space, bedroom, huge bathroom, and of course the exquisite balcony that overlooks the hotel's front door.
The majority of our time at the hotel was spent around the swimming pool, which is kept spotless, and is endowed with the most breathtaking views of the neighbouring hills. Our large party commandeered the area, and were serviced perfectly by the extra helpful and polite staff, whose English was faultless.
The overall treatment and unique location combined to make Villa La Principessa an unforgettable experience, and thus we have subsequently returned twice. Our visit last weekend was to celebrate our 2nd anniversary, and it did not disappoint.
Noting other comments on this site, I just wanted to share my thoughts. Re: location, I find the seclusion of the hotel is what makes it so serene. It's far from the motorway, and easily accessible to/from Lucca itself, so offers great isolation and privacy, which is surely one of the reasons you'd stay at this grand villa. That said, yes, if you don't have a car the cost of taxis can add up. The hotel will arrange these for you (very quick and on time), but beware of Lucca's distinct lack of taxis after midnight - best to prearrange pick-up or take the number of a friendly cabbie!
With regards to someone saying that this place is "lacking atmosphere", I would say that depends on who you are traveling with. The staff are unobtrusive, quiet, and leave you to enjoy your stay. Although that means that the bar is often unmanned, they are quick to serve you once requested. The "atmosphere", therefore, is surely the beauty of the surroundings, the blissful moments of peace enjoyed by the pool, and the indulgence of sharing the company of your traveling companion(s).
Once again arriving home and immediately wish we were still in Lucca, we will definitely be returning to Villa La Principessa.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main villa for that authentic experience. Get in early to request the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Very grand looking hotel from outside - looks like it has been a large private home in the past but apparently that was really quite some time ago and it has been used as a hotel for many many years. Our room was very nice - it did have loud fabric wallpaper which matched the curtains and the bedcover- perhaps a florenze design? pink and turquoise - the built-in wardrobe doors were also covered with this fabric so the whole room and its contents were almost indistinguishable - quite an optical feet! There was a lovely view to the pool - parking was free - the breakfast was absolutely ok - as was the dinner - but for the grandness of the place I did expect a little bit more foodwise - the 4 star we had stayed in in Oristano at half the price for example had just as good a breakfast and better coffee! As for the dinner - the flavours didn't quite hit the mark and the local restaurants we had eaten in in Stintino and Oristano were far better. However if its grandness you want this would certainly tick the box although the cushions on the old couches in the salon are a bit worn and lumpy but that's all part of its charm and authenticity.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room facing the pool - think 2nd floor - cant remember
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We thank you very much for the visit and for your nice comment.
We do our best to offer a wonderful stay at Villa La Principessa taking care of the relax, of the privacy and of the food and suggesting nice place to enjoy and discover Tuscany at its best.

We look forward to welcoming you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa La Principessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Principessa

Address: Nuova per Pisa 1616/G, 55050 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lucca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa La Principessa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa La Principessa is an elegant hotel with private park and swimming pool, surrounded by the hills around Lucca. All rooms are air-conditioned and bright.The historic centre of Lucca is 3 km from Villa La Principessa, formerly a noble residence.La Principessa's restaurant serves traditional recipes and Tuscan wines.The sun terrace and the garden offer panoramic views of the countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa La Principessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Principessa Hotel Lucca
Hotel La Principessa
La Principessa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa La Principessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.