We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Principessa

Save Saved
You added Villa La Principessa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa La Principessa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nuova per Pisa 1616/G, 55050 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Lucca
Arlington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed for only 2 nights while we visited Lucca. Our room overlooked the lovely garden. It was large and immaculate with at least a 12 foot ceiling ( indeed a villa ). The staff were friendly and helpful. Plus, the included breakfast was the best we've had on our Tuscany trip! Both nights we ate in the restaurant - outstanding! The risotto was the best I have ever had! The entire experience was a very positive surprise. I nearly didn't book the hotel because its web site didn't begin to do it justice. A real jewel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We thank you very much for the visit and for your very nice comment. We do our best to offer a wonderful stay at Villa La Principessa taking care of the relax, of the privacy and of the food.

We look forward to welcoming you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    55
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
35
107
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We were in this quiet and charmant hotel in June 2012. We highly appreciated his location in the midst of greenery: it was a delightful haven to return to everyday after visiting Lucca. The building is a jewel, renovated but maintaining its original charm, and the rooms were clean, confortable and spacious. The staff were all welcoming, friendly and helpful. World return without hesitation.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family (2 kids).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Many thanks for the important comment that you have dedicated to us and we are very pleased that you enjoyed the tranquility, the care and the atmosphere of the Villa.
We are very pleased to offer a relaxant break and our intent is offer the possibility to our guests to fully appreciate the swimming pool, the park and gardens around the Villa, taste traditional dishes in a very pleasant setting, sleep in a comfortable and well furnished room and give a desire to return

We look forward to welcoming you again

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We got an excellent welcome from the receptionist (always important, but does not always happen), who when she noticed my wife used a stick immediately offered to change our room. Lunch by the pool was excellent quality and value. This was the only time we had to give our room number as all the waiting staff seemed to know it after this. The main restaurant has an excellent menu and pages of superb local wines. In summer, you can eat on the terrace.
The room was large, comfortable and well maintained. The 30m outdoor pool was perfect, with good towel service. It had a bar for daytime or early evening drinks.
When we stayed in September, the hotel had significantly reduced its rates, and the best rate appeared on their web site rather than through agencies, which always seems sensible.
The hotel is circa 2 miles from Lucca, so is convenient for sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for your nice words. We are happy to have transmitted the attention we reserve to the Guest from the first steps that moves in the Villa; we take care to assist the Guest in every need 24 hours a day taking care of their relax in hotel, by the pool-area or in the garden offering them pease, good service and a choice of small pleasures...a snack, a light lunch or an aperitif with dinner.

We look forward to welcoming you again. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

great environment, friendly staff, nice place, good food, beautiful garden, ideal position.
what do you want more? possibly a touch expensive but luxury is to be paid, no chance.
Another good reaon to come back to Lucca, a city not to miss. After the bllodbath in Florence, Lucca ia a breath of fresh air, also in this strange fall weather.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment and we appreciated that you loved the hotel with its park, its gardens and the location of the villa which is just few steps from Lucca and half an hour from important and beautiful tuscan cities.
We are happy to have transmitted the constant attention we reserve to the Guest from the first contact and making so nice your stay.

We will be glad to welcome you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Lovely old building, nice grounds, large comfortable room, outstanding breakfast selection, good restaurant. Excellent base for visiting Lucca and the surrounding Tuscan towns and seaside. The staff were friendly and helpful with good English skills.

Room Tip: pick a room facing the garden. But they all seemed nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We thank you very much for the visit and for your nice comment. We do our best to offer a wonderful stay at Villa La Principessa taking care of the relax, of the privacy and of the food, suggesting nice palce to visit and discover.

We look forward to welcoming you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Ohio
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a beutiful hotel that has everything. The pool and grounds are great and the rooms are very nice. The breakfast is very nice and we enjoyed it on a very nice patio. The negatives are: 1) service is just OK. The hotel was fully booked and there were only a few wait-persons who worked the moring and evening meals; 2) the restaurant offers an evening menu that is both limited and expensive

Room Tip: I am sure that you can not go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Many thanks for the important comment that you have dedicated to us.

One of our intent is offer the possibility to our guests to fully appreciate the swimming pool, the park and gardens around the Villa, sleep in a comfortable and well furnished room and give a desire to return

We do our best to improve and all comments are very precious.
We look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

wonderful place to have lovely holidays and copious meals. taste the best italian food and wine for unforgettable time!!! don't forget to bike throught the fantastic town of lucca with its amazing walls.

Room Tip: we just saw our room and it was very confortable with the view on the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We thank you very much for the visit and for your nice comment. We do our best to offer a wonderful stay at Villa La Principessa taking care of the relax, of the privacy and of the food. The location is one of our pride because we are surrounding by a big ancient park, gardens and hills but just few steps from the medioeval town of Lucca.

We look forward to welcoming you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa La Principessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Principessa

Address: Nuova per Pisa 1616/G, 55050 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lucca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa La Principessa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa La Principessa is an elegant hotel with private park and swimming pool, surrounded by the hills around Lucca. All rooms are air-conditioned and bright.The historic centre of Lucca is 3 km from Villa La Principessa, formerly a noble residence.La Principessa's restaurant serves traditional recipes and Tuscan wines.The sun terrace and the garden offer panoramic views of the countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Villa La Principessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Principessa Hotel Lucca
Hotel La Principessa
La Principessa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa La Principessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.