We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive Facade in Lucca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Frediano

San Frediano
Piazza San Frediano, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 40 Attractions in Lucca
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Impressive Facade in Lucca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

As you walk up the Via Fillungo you will reach a plaza that is overlooked by the beautiful San Frediano mosaic. It glimmers in the sun but is unmistakeable in any weather. This treasure of Middle Age art is something you must see when visiting Lucca. And it is even easier to enjoy when stopping at one of the restaurants with outdoor seating in the piazza this facade overlooks. I spent a lot of time here and will never forget this iconic image.

The inside of the church of limited hours so hopefully you will arrive when you can take a peek inside. But if not, the treasure is this mosaic and you can view it any time of night or day. If you are in Lucca, don't miss it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    86
    14
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely exterior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We got to the piazza several times but not into the church. The exterior has a beautiful mosiac that glimmers from a far. We plan to go back to Lucca next year and will definitely go inside. We took many pictures of the facade because it was so beautiful and can only imagine the inside.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“The Middle Age”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

There were a lot of people, not only tourists but local people, walking around this church. In the facade of the top of the church, we saw the mosaic which is the symbol of the Middle Age, and it is rare to see the mosaic on facade. Worth of seeing this.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The body of a saint on display here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Out of the 50 or so churches in Lucca Italy , a walled town in Tuscany,I found the most interesting to be the Basilica de San Frediano. Lying in state there is St. Zita, a remarkably preserved woman who was exhumed in the 1500's and canonized by the Catholic Church as The saint of maid servants. Lucca is an interesting walled city with narrow streets in Tuscany which is reminiscent of Ciena. On the way from the port city of Livorno you can see the leaning tower of Pisa in the distance. If it is your first visit to Tuscany I found Ciena,a 12 th century walled city, to be more interesting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Splendid Church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I love the Byzantine Mosaiques which adorn the front of this Church, they are so beautiful and well preserved. The interior is equally impressive with quite the most enormous baptismal font I have ever seen. The remains of Saint Zita are equally interesting (she is the patron saint of domestic servants and highly revered). I enjoyed my visit and would recommend to others.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Frediano also viewed

 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to San Frediano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Frediano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.