We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunately disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Tana del Boia

La Tana del Boia
Piazza San Michele 37, 55100 Lucca, Italy
+39 333 535 3540
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 406 Restaurants in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unfortunately disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

After reading the other reviews, we were expecting a life-changing culinary experience, but we didn't. The bread was dry and the portions of meat and cheese were meagre. It was "OK."

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    235
    41
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

I went here last night with friends from Lucca
Great sandwiches made on the spot and great wines and beers
This is a perfect take away spot if you wish to grab a tasty snack with local products
Staff were really friendly and oozed passion as they filled our sandwiches with cheese and local salsiccia

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is a small bar with local beer and wine and freshly made paninis. We enjoyed a tasty sandwich served with a smile and nice conversation with our server. Luckily, we were able to grab a seat at one of the 3 tables for some lunchtime people watching.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was perfect, how can a wooden platter of meat and cheese can be so amazing? All freshly sliced and prepared in the tiniest of rooms just added to the wonder. It tasted as beautiful as it looked. We were taken in on the recommendation of an Italian working in Lucca and it was great to see it used by locals. Just because it's on the main tourist run don't think this means it's not authentic, real Italian food served by real Italians, just perfect. Round off the experience with a coffee next door.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

It was great! cheap, fresh, tasty! our waitress was lovely. We will come back certainly. I would recomended this place to everybody.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tana del Boia also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to La Tana del Boia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tana del Boia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.