We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific boutique hotel in a central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alla Corte Degli Angeli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alla Corte Degli Angeli to your Saves list
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via degli Angeli 23 | Centro Storico, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Terrific boutique hotel in a central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Alla Corte Degli Angeli for 4 days on vacation during the last week of June. In a sentence, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and strongly recommend this hotel.

Alla Corte Degli Angeli has a central location inside the old city walls, in a quiet but charming alley just off the main shopping street, via Fillungo. All the major attractions are no more than 5-20 min walk away. Access to the avenue atop the old city walls that completely encircle Lucca is quite close by, adjacent to the old church of S Frediano. It took us 15 min to walk around the wall from the station for the Pisa airport bus to the hotel, although a taxi would be preferable if you have a lot of luggage. Also, there are several excellent restaurants within a 10 min walk of the hotel (some of which I have reviewed separately).

Our room 'Primula' - on the 2nd floor in the recently renovated part of the hotel - was spacious, clean and well furnished. The bed was comfortable, there was ample storage space, and the bathroom suite complete with jacuzzi and shower was excellent. Note that the hotel is situated in a very old building, and that means that the rooms (including the bathrooms) are somewhat oddly shaped; for us, adding to the charm. We found the room as quiet as could be expected given its location, and did not experience any problem with noise from the neighbouring restaurant mentioned by other reviewers.

The staff at the front desk - particularly Gabriella, Daniella and Rita - were pleasant and helpful, as were the staff in the breakfast room. The quality of the food at the continental breakfast buffet was satisfactory albeit unexceptional - particular highlights out of the ordinary being the self-service juicer for fresh oranges, and the fresh boiled eggs.

The hotel is a bit more expensive than others near by, but offers good value for the quality of the accommodation and the staff. Great choice for solos, couples or families with older children. Easy access to the bus station (or by taxi, the rail station) with convenient connections to Pisa and Firenze, making this a good 'base' if you don't wish to stay in a larger city.

Room Tip: Primula is a large quiet room at the top of the hotel, with an excellent bathroom including a jacuzz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear guest your review is really very interesting and you have made a perfect description of all services of the hotel,restaurants and city.
I think that your advice to reach the main locations next to Lucca will be helpful to the future trippers.The staff thanks you again and we hope you are our customer next time you will be in Lucca.Best regards Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    100
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
40
258
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights, using Lucca as a "base" for visits to Cinque Terre and Florence. Room was spacious and obviously recently updated. Shower nice; terrible hair dryer. Hotel staff is very accommodating and helpful; breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Many thanks for your kind review.We are glad to know that your stay was lovely and that you enjoyed in Lucca and in Florence. Every day we try to do our best to improve the service and the positive reviews are the best gratitude for it
We hope to see you next time in our cozy city.
Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The hotel was difficult to find and the staff was really not interested in helping us maneuver the Lucca streets. Directions for dinner were incorrect, causing us to miss our reservation. Breakfast was Ok.

Room Tip: Request parking directions before arriving
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
The hotel is located in the historical center of Lucca, a beautiful medieval town and the narrow streets are not always easily accessible to drivers accustomed to a big city. Lucca is chosen by our guests because of its old charm. We are sorry for what happened and hope that his stay was still enjoyable
Best regards Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Vesinet, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Right in the heart of the mediaval city of LUCCA a stunning place to stay
Top friendly and very helpful service
Possibility of car parking close to the hotel located in a limited traffic zone and in a pedestrian street with all the attraction of this city "a portée de main"
Very clean and comfortable room with mural painting and excellent and hearty breakfast
Should be rated 10/10 But at the check out the two credit card readers didn t accept my Amex so only 9.5/10

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear guest, your contribution is very important to us and we thank you for the score that gave us. We like to pamper our guests, especially at breakfast ... The hotel is at your disposal for your next stay in a city to be discovered each day.
Many thanks
Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We always try to stay in a boutique hotel, in the middle of a city,that is quiet and lovely...ALLA CORTE DEGLI ANGELI was perfect for us. One could walk all around the city easily and it was not mobbed by tourists. We had the hotel arrange a car pick-up at the Florence airport ( although Pisa would have been a better airport to fly into from Frankfurt, I think) . The murals in our room (Camellia) were lovely and the room was quiet with a very good bathroom. We slept with the window open for 4 nights and there was little or no noise. Breakfast was good and everything was well maintained and very clean.
One day we took the train to Pisa and had a delightful time revisiting the Leaning Tower and had a fabulous lunch at osteria dei cavalieri. We rented a car when we left Lucca and headed towards Chianti and then Tuscany and finally Rome. 3rd visit to Italy in 3 years so we're exploring less touristy spots and have been finding there are a lot of very nice towns and cities In Italy where you can get a real feel for the Italian lifestyle and people. Lucca and ALLACorte did not disappoint.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
We are glady. to know that your holiday in Tuscany was pleasant and relaxing. Lucca is truly a unique city with a lot of charm and our hotel is an example of how tourists can live the city as if it were in your own home. Thanks a lot for your positive comments and we hope to see you next time.
best regards
Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Tripadvisor is all very we'll but until you get to a hotel you cannot be entirely sure from either the reviews or the photos of the rooms on the website exactly what is the reality

This hotel is a gem. We loved the quirky individuality of the very well equipped rooms. Although. I felt at one stage that I would have benefitted from a degree in water physics to operate our multi_functional shower unit in Orchidea!!

The breakfast was standout and my wife is now looking to buy some of the morning coffee mugs that look like fun china versions of partly crumpled plastic vending machine cups.

Excellent location and even if our GPS managed to get completely confused, yet again, we managed to flow the hotels excellent directions successfully without any useful assistance from our garmin.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you very much, we are glady that you enjoyed our services even if the shower can be a bit complicated, it is still very enjoyable.Yes, Lucca downtown is not easy by the car but our staff is always at your disposal to help you and a once you arrive you will forget the difficulties to reach us ...
. We hope to see you again the next time.
Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Very charming. In the heart of historic Lucca. We stayed in room Carmelia. Cosy under a beamy ceiling and beautifully painted walls, like in all rooms in this pretty small hotel. Super breakfast. Very friendly staff, who made us feel at home right away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela G, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
all the staff thank you for your review. know that our guests feel at home is very satisfying for us. We hope to see you again the next time.
Best regards
Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alla Corte Degli Angeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Corte Degli Angeli

Address: via degli Angeli 23 | Centro Storico, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#4 Family Hotel in Lucca
#4 Business Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alla Corte Degli Angeli 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I would like to add information for all the customers that book to our hotel,because cause the limit traffic zone there are a lot of mistake and trouble, so I would like to add in the form confirmation or straight away in the hotel's information, the right route for to reach us. Below there are description in english and Italian.1) YOU CAN REACH THE HOTEL BY CAR You are allowed to get inside the walls from Santa Maria gate ONLY. As soon as you pass through the gate turn right taking Via della cavallerizza St. keep going straight on and you'll get into San Frediano Piazza where the church is, you mustgo all around this church untill you'll find Via cesare Battisti St. on your letf side. Get into via Cesare Battisti St. take the secondstreet on your left side wich is Via degli angeli St. Our staff will help you out with your luggage. HOTEL STAFF WILL TAKE THE PLATENUMBER OF YOUR CAR, that has to be send it to the police department and then they will show you where to park. YOU MUST LEAVE YOUR CAR KEYSAT THE FRONT DESK DURING ALL YOUR STAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alla Corte Degli Angeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Corte Degli Angeli Hotel Lucca
Alla Corte Degli Angeli Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alla Corte Degli Angeli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.