We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky hotel in good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alla Corte Degli Angeli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alla Corte Degli Angeli to your Saves list
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via degli Angeli 23 | Centro Storico, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Quirky hotel in good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is certainly different! Have to admit to be slightly disappointed having chosen it because of excellent reviews it did not quite live up to our expectations.It is different and quirky in a good way but I would not call it a 4star hotel.We had 2 double rooms (one for us and one for our son).One was very small but had a great bathroom the other was bigger but had a very small bathroom.Both had very little warderobe space.Possibly there are nicer rooms than ours but I'm not sure I would want to stay in either of these rooms again.Good points=excellent location and parking facility.Very good breakfast. Negative-staff friendliness varied but not overly friendly.Front desk not always manned.We returned one evening (not terribly late) and just helped ourselves to our keys as no-one was there at all -thus security not great.
It is a clean and well situated hotel with a difference but don't expect 4 star service or facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for your review and we're very sad for your comment, we're sure that another time if you trust us, you'll live a very nice experience. Anyway thanks, because we want to improve everyday for to do our job even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    98
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
38
256
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A charming little hotel in the middle of historic Lucca. It has about 14 rooms - each with its unique charm. We stayed in Giglio, which was on the first floor at the back of the hotel - very quiet, but also very dark.

The buffet breakfast was plentiful and the waiting staff very helpful.

The reception is manned by only one person, so in the evening, the same person works the bar and attends to any problems in the hotel. We got locked out one evening and waited twenty minutes before being let in. The receptionist did apologise but we weren't very impressed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for you comment and sorry for the late, usually there is always someone to wait all night maybe the man have had problems, afterall we wish your holiday has been nice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We came upon this Hotel thru all the wonderful comments on tripadvisor. It certainly lived up to all the great things said about it. Everyone there knows the meaning of attention to detail. I commend the staff for their friendly, helpful service. An experience like this will certainly make you never want to leave Lucca and convince you that you must return
Lorraine & Pauline

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks Madame and Sir, yes we try everythime to understand needs of all our customer, sometimes we succeed in it well and sometimes a less! But we put in our job all the passion and we are very glad when we read these words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgin Islands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Had a great 4 days in the hotel, it was very clean, quiet and a great location. The breakfast was excellent. I would stay here again. The staff were very nice. We caught the bus from the airport, stopped off at Pisa and then caught the bus onto Lucca.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks very much for your comment, we are very very glad to hear these words and we'll waiting for you next time in our lovely city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice room, updated, very comfortable. Helpful and friendly staff. Great breakfast. Very comfortable. What else could you ask for? There were a few minor hiccups, but excellent overall. Conveniently located to many Lucca attractions. We'd go back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks very much for your review, you're very kind and we appreciate it and if you want we'll be a pleasure for us to see you again in our cozzy city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts,
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Ideal location, friendly staff, presented in good order, very clean hotel. Extensive choices for breakfast. Nice rooms, not your usual cramped city hotel, with aircon which is essential in July ! We wer upgraded which is always a bonus ! They have some car parking nearby if you arrive by car.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for your comment we appreciate it, yes fortunately we have a quite big parking just in front of us and is not so easy into the walls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Had a wonderful stay, the breakfast was very good, the bathroom was brilliant with a Jacuzzi bath, only downside was that the room as quite dark but probably the downside of being in a town hotel. Very friendly staff

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks very much for your review, we are glad to know taht you have had a nice holiday in our beautiful and cozzy city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alla Corte Degli Angeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Corte Degli Angeli

Address: via degli Angeli 23 | Centro Storico, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#4 Business Hotel in Lucca
#4 Family Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alla Corte Degli Angeli 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I would like to add information for all the customers that book to our hotel,because cause the limit traffic zone there are a lot of mistake and trouble, so I would like to add in the form confirmation or straight away in the hotel's information, the right route for to reach us. Below there are description in english and Italian.1) YOU CAN REACH THE HOTEL BY CAR You are allowed to get inside the walls from Santa Maria gate ONLY. As soon as you pass through the gate turn right taking Via della cavallerizza St. keep going straight on and you'll get into San Frediano Piazza where the church is, you mustgo all around this church untill you'll find Via cesare Battisti St. on your letf side. Get into via Cesare Battisti St. take the secondstreet on your left side wich is Via degli angeli St. Our staff will help you out with your luggage. HOTEL STAFF WILL TAKE THE PLATENUMBER OF YOUR CAR, that has to be send it to the police department and then they will show you where to park. YOU MUST LEAVE YOUR CAR KEYSAT THE FRONT DESK DURING ALL YOUR STAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alla Corte Degli Angeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Corte Degli Angeli Hotel Lucca
Alla Corte Degli Angeli Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alla Corte Degli Angeli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.