We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alla Corte Degli Angeli

Save Saved
You added Alla Corte Degli Angeli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via degli Angeli 23 | Centro Storico, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Lucca
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Incredible Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I and friends traveled to Europe for three weeks in April/May and stayed here for two nights. We arrived early and our rooms were not yet ready, so the staff let us go to the dinning area and have a free breakfast while we waited. The breakfast served each morning is extremely good and includes almost anything you would want to eat, including cheeses and Italian meats as well as fruits, pastries, eggs, etc. The rooms are individually painted and decorated and are beautiful and spacious. The bathroom is large with separate shower and jetted tub for two. Everything here was outstanding and I can't think of one negative thing to say. If you stay here, you will not want to leave. Plus, the staff gave us a dinner recommendation for a small restaurant down the street and this ended up being one of our favorite dinners of our entire trip.

Room Tip: there is not a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks very much for your post, we appreciate it. We try always to do better and we're very happy to see these results. So we hope to see you again in our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    94
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
37
242
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We were only supposed to stay 3 nights but requested a room the night before our intended arrival due to a bad experience at a different hotel. They were kind enough to get us in on such short notice. Both rooms were beautiful with different murals.
The dining area was very comfortable & the continental breakfast was good.
The staff were all very helpful & friendly.

The location is half a block off the main street which was very convenient, walking distance to most sites. The only warning I can give is if you an on driving here bring a small car and beware of the small streets & sharp turns. If you miss the turn to the hotel you will take the chance of getting lost in small one way streets and having to exit the walled city and try again...like we did.
I'd go back again :0)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks very much for your review Madame!! Yes is it true, we definitely need a small car bacause we're in the heart of Lucca and the streets are very narrow. So thanks again we hope to see you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Pauline room for three nights. Charming corner room. Incredible breakfasts.......do order an egg and you will see what we mean ....and do make your own fresh squeezed orange juice. Great service at the front desk with our boarding passes and directions.Would unhesitatingly stay here again (very close to all the shopping as well).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks very much for your comment, we're glad having given you a nice holiday and we hope to see you next time in our beautiful city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 1 night on our way to Cinqueterre. We arrived by train and took a cab to the hotel. It is located in the old historic city, and the whole area is charming and very picturesque. The building is old but the interior is nicely renovated and decorated. Our room was charming, clean and comfortable. Bathroom was very clean and well equipped. Windows overlooking the street were not a problem as the hotel is located on a small quiet street. Breakfast was included and was wonderful, with excellent choices including being able to use an electric juicer to make a fresh O.J. Just around the corner there is a highly recommended restaurant named Osteria dal Manzo, which I also highly recommend for dinner. The staff was very friendly and since we arrived early before check-in time they offered to watch our luggage and even offered us a late breakfast, for which we were not charged. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks very much for your review, we'll try to do our best for to give to all customer the best service possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just returned from 10 days in Italy. We particularly enjoyed our time in the charming small city of Lucca. This hotel was in a great location, the help at the front desk was excellent and the breakfast spread every morning was impressive. Lots of fresh bread, pastries, meats, cheese, yogurts, fruit, fresh-squeezed orange juice, etc all with such pretty presentation. There was some noise in the morning as the place is small and the maids can't help but be heard. Didn't bother us too much, but I never leave home without my earplugs!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks very much, you're very kind. We'll try to get batter for to manage to get a five stars review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The charm of the house and the room - our's Paolina - is perfect. A lovely house in a very calm street... With private parking !

The web site looks like reality..Book here you will enjoy your stay. Friendly staff, nice breakfast.

For lunch or dinner go to restaurant Buca S. Antonio, west corner of Piazza San Michele, very central. The Chef Giulliano Pacini makes daily fresh pasta, and exquite food, price is reasonable, nice decoration, friendly service.

We are French, you can trust us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We're very proud for your fabulous review and we' la wait for to see again in our magnificent city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in Camellia Room several nights as part of a month long trip to Italy. The room has everything the modern traveller expects but more importantly it has charm and delights the senses. La corte degli Angeli provided a most warm welcoming and truly magical experience. We enjoyed our stay so much that I want to book a trip to Italy just to return here. I don't say this lightly as I am nitpicky at the best of times.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Many Thanks for your review, and we home to see again in out hotel, for to give us an even batter holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alla Corte Degli Angeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Corte Degli Angeli

Address: via degli Angeli 23 | Centro Storico, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#4 Business Hotel in Lucca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#4 Family Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alla Corte Degli Angeli 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I would like to add information for all the customers that book to our hotel,because cause the limit traffic zone there are a lot of mistake and trouble, so I would like to add in the form confirmation or straight away in the hotel's information, the right route for to reach us. Below there are description in english and Italian.1) YOU CAN REACH THE HOTEL BY CAR You are allowed to get inside the walls from Santa Maria gate ONLY. As soon as you pass through the gate turn right taking Via della cavallerizza St. keep going straight on and you'll get into San Frediano Piazza where the church is, you mustgo all around this church untill you'll find Via cesare Battisti St. on your letf side. Get into via Cesare Battisti St. take the secondstreet on your left side wich is Via degli angeli St. Our staff will help you out with your luggage. HOTEL STAFF WILL TAKE THE PLATENUMBER OF YOUR CAR, that has to be send it to the police department and then they will show you where to park. YOU MUST LEAVE YOUR CAR KEYSAT THE FRONT DESK DURING ALL YOUR STAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Alla Corte Degli Angeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Corte Degli Angeli Hotel Lucca
Alla Corte Degli Angeli Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alla Corte Degli Angeli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.