We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, staff, facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alla Corte Degli Angeli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alla Corte Degli Angeli to your Saves list
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via degli Angeli 23 | Centro Storico, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
USA
1 review
“Great location, staff, facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

You can't beat the location - inside the walls on a small "pedestrian-only" street. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The room was great, with a nice shower and no lack of hot water. The breakfast is fabulous; no need to plan for lunch if you don't want to. I would definitely stay there again if in Lucca. My only complaint is that the pillows were really rock-hard.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have great views, but the staff worked with me at time of reservation to secure on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Many thanks for your post, wwe'll organize to provide a more soft pillows. We'll glad to host to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    109
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
44
274
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

La corte degli angeli is in a great location in Lucca- close to the shops, church, restaurants ... It is a beautiful, quaint family owned hotel . The hotel staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. One of them actually helped us park our car in the parking lot! The breakfast was very good and included in our price. very small and intimate

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio A, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you very much about your review, we appreciate a lot and we'hope to see you again in the beautiful Lucca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We did a motoring tour of Tuscany and decided to use Lucca as our base for the western part (Pisa etc). Lucca is a delightful small city and everything is within comfortable walking distance. This is really a charming hotel and we loved our stay. The room was excellent, lots of hot water and the staff were frendly and efficient. The hotel web-site is annoying because they use a booking request form instead of using a modern reservation service which gives realtime availability - so we booked through a website and got instant confirmation! The breakfasts were superb. We also appreciated the easy parking. Lucca is a delight, and staying in this hotel just made our stay very special. Felt quite sad to leave!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
170 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Loved Alla Corte degli Angeli and Lucca! This small hotel is wonderfully located, with beautifully decorated rooms and a warm, professional service. Enjoyed the bubble bath and top quality breakfast: the juicer is a fantastic idea! Highly recommend; will not look for any other place to stay if we're going back to charming Lucca.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great location, attentive staff, very large room by European standards, with equally spacious and immaculate bathroom. Excellent breakfast with fresh orange and grapefruit juice. Convenient private parking lot for hotel guests. Came with high expectations and was not the least bit disappointed. One word of advice. Although our GPS had no trouble taking us right to the front door, Lucca streets are small, complex, and it might be wise to find your way to the hotel in the light of the day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I really deliberated about hotels in Lucca but am happy to say we loved this place (we did get lost trying to find it!) Location, location! So great to be able to walk on the wall first thing in the morning(or last in Italian manner) , be close to fabulous shopping and all the points of interest. I'm sure there are lovely places outside of the wall to stay but for immersion into such a wonderful Italian historic life - nothing beats staying 'inside' the walls at Alla Corte. We had two cars which were also parked( No charge) right by the hotel so once we'd made it there we didnt use them again. The streets are so narrow with sharp corners to navigate so beware if you are an inexperienced driver! Sat navs dont work well in the high stone walled areas so make sure you have clear instructions from the hotel , knowing which 'porte' or entrance gate to enter into to start your directions. Do some research on dinning as there are some very 'touristic' ordinary places as Lucca is such a tourist destination. Our best dinning experience was Bucadisantantonio, - we went 2 nights in a row! Fabulous attentive service as well. Staff very very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: All appear great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel was recommended by a friend and we were not disappointed. The location was great and the staff very helpful. The bonus was the delicious breakfast which was more than we expected. Unfortunately, the dinners we had in Lucca were a disappointment. But walking around the city on the wall and exploring the different areas made our two day stay here a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alla Corte Degli Angeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Corte Degli Angeli

Address: via degli Angeli 23 | Centro Storico, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#4 Family Hotel in Lucca
#4 Business Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alla Corte Degli Angeli 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I would like to add information for all the customers that book to our hotel,because cause the limit traffic zone there are a lot of mistake and trouble, so I would like to add in the form confirmation or straight away in the hotel's information, the right route for to reach us. Below there are description in english and Italian.1) YOU CAN REACH THE HOTEL BY CAR You are allowed to get inside the walls from Santa Maria gate ONLY. As soon as you pass through the gate turn right taking Via della cavallerizza St. keep going straight on and you'll get into San Frediano Piazza where the church is, you mustgo all around this church untill you'll find Via cesare Battisti St. on your letf side. Get into via Cesare Battisti St. take the secondstreet on your left side wich is Via degli angeli St. Our staff will help you out with your luggage. HOTEL STAFF WILL TAKE THE PLATENUMBER OF YOUR CAR, that has to be send it to the police department and then they will show you where to park. YOU MUST LEAVE YOUR CAR KEYSAT THE FRONT DESK DURING ALL YOUR STAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Alla Corte Degli Angeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Corte Degli Angeli Hotel Lucca
Alla Corte Degli Angeli Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alla Corte Degli Angeli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.