We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Might be trying too hard?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alla Corte Degli Angeli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alla Corte Degli Angeli to your Saves list
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via degli Angeli 23 | Centro Storico, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Might be trying too hard?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

No doubt they are trying hard to cater to Trip Advisor readers. They even have literature in the room encouraging you to submit a review. However, we had a few problems. I agree with what people have said about the quality of the rooms, nice breakfast, and great location. However, there was only one person on duty in this small hotel and if you needed her she was often hard to find. Not her fault--she was just doing everything all by herself. As an example, the shower in our bathroom was way too space-age complicated. The controls were electronic buttons with symbols and the instruction card was written in "Italian English". I called the front desk for help but the 1 person on duty was too busy with people at the front desk to help us right away. She did eventually come to the room but couldn't figure the darn thing out either. I finally got it to work later but didn't need the aggravation. Also, couldn't close the window in our room because it was broken. On the positive side, the bathroom had a big whirlpool tub and, generous size sink, and a TV.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllaCorteDegliAngeli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thanks for your review
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    123
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
52
295
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I found this hotel through Karen Brown's recommendations and was really glad I did. This was our first time in Lucca and the hotel is very well situated just inside the wall of the city. The rooms are spacious with modern amenities. The staff is very accommodating and helpful. A wonderful breakfast (with fresh squeezed orange juice) is served. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllaCorteDegliAngeli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thanks for your so kind feedback.
Regards
Vincenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were so lucky to be able to book the last 2 rooms (totally last minute) for 2 nights in this excellent hotel. One of the best places I've stayed - its charm is in the fact that it has just a handful of rooms, so you are so well looked after. The hotel were super-efficient in taking our car's registration plates as soon as we pulled up to the lobby (note - tiny streets, so you'll have to be a confident driver) to send across to the authorities, as Lucca has a strict ZTL "limited traffic zone" and drivers without the right permit get fined for entering the zone. The hotel also has an ample car park on the same street, which made everything so easy for us.

Highlights:
- The breakfast is probably the best thing - a wonderful spread of the usual fruits, pastries, breads etc... but you could also squeeze your own orange juice, or have an egg boiled right in front of you. The kind of fun quirks I love.
- The rooms are beautifully painted with gorgeous flower themes.
- And I *loved* the water jets in the massage baths. A great perk!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllaCorteDegliAngeli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
GRAZIE!
Hoping to have you here again at Alla Corte Degli Angeli!
Vincenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I found this gem of a B & B on Trip Advisor and was very happy. Get good directions from train station or taxi to the hotel. Wonderful breakfast, great staff. wonderful location. You will be quite pleased with this pick.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllaCorteDegliAngeli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thanks for your feedback!
Regards
Vincenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was our first trip to Lucca and our first time at Alla Corte Degli Angeli. We will be back!! The hotel is within the walled city and somewhat near the city center (maybe a 10 min walk). It was a bit tricky to find so be sure you have a very detailed map of Lucca (we did not). We prefer to be close to the city center but not near the noise so this was perfect. We loved the incredible murals and wooden beams in this hotel. It looked exactly like the photos too! Our room (Tulipano) was excellent-comfortable, large and with all the details we hoped for. Our bathroom was quite fancy with a large shower and tub, a TV and quite the deluxe shower "system" (see photos). This particular room faces the street and has nice view out the window. There was some street noise one morning when the garbage truck came through but we have a travel white noise machine that helped soften the disturbance. We will be back to Lucca and will definitely choose Alla Corte again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllaCorteDegliAngeli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Grazie for your so detailed review!
Best regards
Vincenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We happened across this hotel on the internet when we were touring Italy and luckyily for us they had one room spare for the night we wanted to stay. It is a real gem of a hotel, lovely friendly staff. Our room was decorated with hand painted murals and was large and cool, with a good size bathroom with all singing and dancing shower, which we did have to fiddle with to get working. Lucca being a medieval town is hard to navigate in a car, and we went round in circles before finding the hotel, passing a wedding several times much to their amusement! Walking around Lucca though, it is very easy to find your way back. Would definitely revisit Lucca and stay at the Corte Degli Angeli. Superb. Ps. forgot to say, exceptional value for a 4* hotel, especially after a very expensive stay in Portofino!

Room Tip: Great unique hotel in great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllaCorteDegliAngeli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thanks for your so positive feedback
Vincenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidderminster
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights, briiliant hotel with lovely rooms, tastefully decorated, Bathrooms with plenty of room and ours had a "special shower" which to be honest was a bit of a waste of time but the spa bath was very nice.Staff very helpful and friendly, breakfast superb and parking pretty easy if a little pricey. If you are visiting Lucca please stay here, the location is fantastic within seconds of all the local attractions.

Room Tip: Our room at the front was a little noisy when the dustbin men came around in the early hours so if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllaCorteDegliAngeli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thanks to suggest us to your friends!
Regards
Vincenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#8 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.6 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#17 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 596 reviews
3.1 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#5 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Corte Degli Angeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Corte Degli Angeli

Address: via degli Angeli 23 | Centro Storico, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#4 Family Hotel in Lucca
#4 Business Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alla Corte Degli Angeli 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I would like to add information for all the customers that book to our hotel,because cause the limit traffic zone there are a lot of mistake and trouble, so I would like to add in the form confirmation or straight away in the hotel's information, the right route for to reach us. Below there are description in english and Italian.1) YOU CAN REACH THE HOTEL BY CAR You are allowed to get inside the walls from Santa Maria gate ONLY. As soon as you pass through the gate turn right taking Via della cavallerizza St. keep going straight on and you'll get into San Frediano Piazza where the church is, you mustgo all around this church untill you'll find Via cesare Battisti St. on your letf side. Get into via Cesare Battisti St. take the secondstreet on your left side wich is Via degli angeli St. Our staff will help you out with your luggage. HOTEL STAFF WILL TAKE THE PLATENUMBER OF YOUR CAR, that has to be send it to the police department and then they will show you where to park. YOU MUST LEAVE YOUR CAR KEYSAT THE FRONT DESK DURING ALL YOUR STAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Alla Corte Degli Angeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Corte Degli Angeli Hotel Lucca
Alla Corte Degli Angeli Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alla Corte Degli Angeli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.