We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Alexander

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Alexander to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Giustina 48, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Perfect Welcome from the boss, who seemed always to be on reception. If it wasn't him it was his son. Nothing was too much trouble. Perfect breakfast with delicious bacon and scrambled eggs. Although breakfast room/reception lounge a bit small, and if everyone came down at the same time a little queue formed. Rococo furnishings, spotless and comfortable. Lucky to have a lift, although top floor is 2 extra flights of stairs. Very quiet, and near all the lovely bits of Lucca.
Perfect for a Long weekend. Business or pleasure

Room Tip: Air conditioned. Very comfortable, charming rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    117
    22
    10
    8
See reviews for
66
235
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in august. The room was small and dark and did have a strange smell, bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was tired but ok, shower worked well. Noise from the connecting bedroom. Breakfast was the best we had had during our travels in Italy. I was disappointed as the photos give a much better impression of the hotel than it really is and I was expecting much more as this was the most expensive of all our hotels during our stay in Italy. Not sure if I would stay again, maybe another room would of been better.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Lovely experience throughout. From check in and help with parking, superb rooms (though aircon loud) and fabulous breakfast. All room names based on Puccini opera's, so we kept forgetting our room name. We had a great 2 days in beautiful Lucca as well, and would recommend renting bikes, and riding the city wall.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Lovely family run hotel in the middle of Lucca, great service, clean, well equipped rooms, good breakfast and great staff who helped us out with several requests. Lucca is a beautiful city and the Palazzo hotel was the perfect place to stay, would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This gem is within the walls of Lucca and close to all the major attractions.
Mario and Gabriel made our stay very special. Typical in italian rococo design this is what a italian hotel should feel like when you are visiting a historical town such as Lucca. Beds were great,water pressure and shower and the service unbeatable. Hotel has private secure parking for their guests
As well as a full breakfast for your morning start. I am a montreal travel agent and give this historical hotel a thumbs up

Room Tip: Try and get a higher floor as the views are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This boutique hotel is inside the walls of Lucca and proximate to everything. It is very charming, made more so by the exemplary service of the proprietor Mario. He was more than willing to assist with everything from dinner reservations to car rentals to train schedules.
Two couples stayed in two junior suites on the top floor ( Tosca and La Boheme). The rooms our spacious but as an older property, there were a few issues. The mini fridge in our room did not work and we would have loved to have had cold water each night. In our friends' room, the AC did not work that well because of the configuration of the room and they did not seem to have much hot water.
If you are North American, be advised the rooms have tubs with a hand held shower nozzle which we were not that adept at using. The other issue is the virtual lack of counter space in the bathroom. Breakfast is included and is the same each day. Yogurt, some fresh fruit, brioche, toast , cakes, a platter of sliced meats and cheese, three cold cereals and a small dishes of scrambled eggs and bacon. Depending on when you eat, the dishes can be depleted. Overall though, I found this to be a charming hotel and good value for the dollar.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe england
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is a lovely hotel and we were very lucky to be upgraded to a junior suite, I think the owner was sorry for us as we arrived quite wet and bedragled due to terrible weather! Lovely room with angels on the ceiling, furniture a little worn but room full of character. Like the previous guest we didn't like the hand held shower but that's a minor detail. Breakfast was excellent with a really good choice. Owner and all staff we came across were really nice. Would certainly stay here if we were ever in Lucca again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Alexander

Address: Santa Giustina 48, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lucca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#10 Business Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known today as the Hotel Palazzo Alexander, the residence encompasses four floors of rooms and junior suites, all with modern, private bathrooms-some with whirlpool baths. In addition, all rooms contain such conveniences as air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, computer hook-ups, safe, minibar, hairdryers and free of charge wi-fi connection.The décor of the residence reflects the noble Lucchese style with the use of antique wood floors in all the bedrooms and fine marble and other local stones in the bathrooms, lobby and common rooms. Located in the center of Lucca’s historic district, Palazzo Alexander is easily reached from the main highway exits and from local train and bus stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Alexander Lucca
Palazzo Alexander Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Alexander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.