We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant little gem in beautiful Lucca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Alexander

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palazzo Alexander to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Giustina 48, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Lucca
bath
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant little gem in beautiful Lucca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in Lucca on night two of our three day tour of Italy. We got the train from Pisa which was very easy and cheap. There were three of us and we had a beautiful room on the top floor with views over the rooftops and mountains. The room was fabulous I did note that some rooms had a veranda which would have been lovely. We didn't have any noise from locals or other guests. Breakfast was really good with plenty of choice. Lucca is a fabulous town to visit and this hotel was my favourite. Don't think twice about staying

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    105
    21
    8
    8
See reviews for
59
213
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Love this hotel, it's staff and location.
The hotel. As other reviewers noted, it is close to everything but still a couple of blocks away so it is rather peaceful and quiet. The amenities are as you expect. The towel heat rack was great as the weather was cold. It cost around 6 euro to get to the hotel from the train station. Cost a little more to get back as the cab had to wait for us. The staff was great at arranging us he cab.

The breakfast was delicious and the staff vey very helpful and friendly. They definitely made the stay pleasurable. The only con I can think of is that the other reviewers were correct about the thin walls. While I easily knocked out, my husband could not go to sleep because the person upstairs was walking around at midnight and the sound of the walking around kept him awake. Again, I did not hear any of this and slept rather easily.

The hotel staff recommended a restaurant nearby. The food was fantastic and we got a discount.

Overall, we loved Lucca and this hotel and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Note. There is no swimming pool. I accidentally hit on the review and do not know to delete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

After an exhilarating local bus journey from Pisa airport through the enchanting Tuscan countryside with the slanting sunlight shining through the autumn leaves we entered through the high walls , the city of Lucca. In no time at all our taxi took us out of one city gate and back in one further down and whooshed us up a narrow street or two to Hotel Palazzo Alexander. Whata charming hotel. Our rooms were on the second floor. Once I opened the windows, the sounds and smells of Italy invaded my senses. Our rooms appeared recently redecorated furniture wise but the atmosphere of traditional Italy was maintained. My ensuite felt like an old Roman bath with lashings of hot water, lots of fluffy towels and a wonderful heated towel drier . It appeared to be enameled with a rich "wood" finish. Breakfast was very much a continental style affair but the breakfast room was warm and welcoming. Our host was friendly, welcoming and very helpful when assisting us with directions to good restaurants. This is a really good value hotel, centrally placed with competitive prices in a very popular city. I will be back again.

Room Tip: If you do not want to be woken when the surrounding residents of Lucca roll up their shutters, maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

It was a joy to stay 4 nights at this hotel, easy to find but easy to get lost in Lucca. Lots of great restaurants and cafes. Thanks to Mario and son Gabriele for their hospitality and also Johnny who was responsible for the smell of fresh croissants wafting throughout the hotel at night preparing breakfast; everything freshly homemade. The hotel arranged an early morning taxi to pisa airport which arrived on the dot as arranged. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were given a room on arrival and were offered an upgrade next day but refused the offer as Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here after reading reviews on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. The hotel is ideally located. Staff are friendly, rooms very clean witha very good style!I would stay here again .
Lucca is very nice... better than aHotel in Pisa close to the airport !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Palazzo Alexander is in a great location in Lucca- close to the shops, church, restaurants ... It is a beautiful, quaint family owned hotel . The hotel staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. One of them actually helped us park our car in the parking lot! The breakfast was very good and included in our price. There also was WiFi service and a laptop available for customer use. The rooms were a decent size, but ask for the corner room. It's about twice the size for the same price. My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay in this charming hotel in beautiful Lucca.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very big and include a sitting area and a large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The moral of this story is “Nice hotel but if you have a car, then DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL unless you want a nasty surprise on your credit card!”
In June 2011 my wife and I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights at 150Euro per night and we parked our Hire car in the hotels car park, which is within the “Zona Traffico Limitato” (ZTL). We paid the hotel’s additional 14.00 Euro per day fee to park there. The hotel recorded the car registration number to pass to local police to ensure that you are allowed to enter the ZTL without receiving any penalty fines.
3 months after we returned home I received 5 separate letters from Hertz regarding 5 separate police penalty notices for driving into the ZTL. Hertz charged my credit card with 5 separate “admin fees” of Euro 36.00 each, for providing my address details to the local police. The fees related to each separate day we entered the ZTL to park in the hotel car park!
I contacted the hotel and they admitted they had incorrectly recorded the car registration number. Because the correct registration number was not on the police’s list of vehicles allowed into the ZTL, the police had duly contacted Hertz to obtain my address details to enable them to issue 5 penalty notices to me.
The hotel was apologetic and assured me they would sort this all out and I provided copies of various documents for the hotel to pass to the police. The police have taken no further action.
But I am still out of pocket in the sum of £161.20 (Euro 180.00) due to hotel’s error. The T & C’s for Hertz are quite clear about an admin charge if they have to provide information to the police and I understand that. However this all came about because of the Hotel’s error.
I have asked a number of times for them to sort this out and always get a polite reply, but no money. My patience has been exhausted after 18 months, therefore this poor review.
So the moral of this story is “Nice hotel but if you have a car, then DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL unless you want a nasty surprise on your credit card!”

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palazzo Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Alexander

Address: Santa Giustina 48, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lucca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#10 Business Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Alexander 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known today as the Hotel Palazzo Alexander, the residence encompasses four floors of rooms and junior suites, all with modern, private bathrooms-some with whirlpool baths. In addition, all rooms contain such conveniences as air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, computer hook-ups, safe, minibar, hairdryers and free of charge wi-fi connection.The décor of the residence reflects the noble Lucchese style with the use of antique wood floors in all the bedrooms and fine marble and other local stones in the bathrooms, lobby and common rooms. Located in the center of Lucca’s historic district, Palazzo Alexander is easily reached from the main highway exits and from local train and bus stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Alexander Lucca
Palazzo Alexander Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Alexander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.