We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab end to honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Alexander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Alexander to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Giustina 48, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fab end to honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We changed our hotel from in the hillside near Lucca to the old town itself as we'd spent a few days driving all over and wanted to be based within walking distance of restaurants etc. We were at the end of our honeymoon in Tuscany and following a bad experience in a posh hotel in Chianti, we were SO happy to find this hotel.

We were met by a lovely guy who helped us to park the car (warning - you get an automatic ticket if you stop in a parking bay in the old town - cameras are everywhere) so you need to get the hotel to register you as parking with them or you get the fine at the airport when returning your hire car.

The room was amazing, with lovely parquet floors, beautifully presented in old Italian style but not too fussy. Breakfast was yum and the staff extremely freindly and helpful at all times. The hotel is at the perimeter of the city wall so v quiet and peaceful.

They recommended a restaurant in town called Stella Polare though which we thought looked quite swish so we saved it for my birthday dinner that evening. A real mistake - the food was bordering on rank. I think there are other places to head for! When we left we clocked a van with Stella polare on the side so reckon there must be some affiliation. Go with other recs in this regard.

Room Tip: If you can try to book a superior room for double aspect windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    121
    22
    10
    8
See reviews for
68
244
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Palazzo Alexander is in a great location inside the walls within easy walking distance of all the sites. The staff is very helpful, the rooms reflect faded grandeur (although furniture and decor seem far from authentic). It provides an excellent breakfast in a small dining room. It would be a wonderful place to stay if it were not for the price.- by the time we paid the extra 12 euros a day for parking on top of the room rate, our rate came out at well over 200 euros, which was clearly the worst value we had in Italy.

Make sure you have a good map of the hotel location - we had driving directions from Google Maps which were totally useless and spent quite some time driving across pedestrian squares and even on top of Lucca's walls trying to find the hotel! From the Lucca Est exit on the autostrada take the raod towards Lucca center - when you reach the walls, go straight and then take the second gate through the walls. turn left and then two rights (follow the one way system and finally turn left onto Santa Guistina - the hotel is first on your left.. You will need to stop outside the door of the hotel and find the receptionist to lead you to the parking area - this may involve holfing up the traffic since it is on a narrow street.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzo-alexander, Proprietario at Hotel Palazzo Alexander, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Dear Sir Tibrit,
we thank you for your nice words regarding our property and we thank you also for your advise.
I would like to explain to you why you have paid so much:
The average of the price of our superior and standard room is € 150 per rrom per night but if you book that room with a on-line travel agency the price could be higher because they will charge their commission that it coul arrive to the 25% of the price, infact you have paid €200.
Regarding how to reach our hotel if you give a look tou our website you will find lot of information about the street and a video too that explain the exactly way to arrive to the hotel.
Hope to see you again in the future, we send you our best regards
Gabriele Maraviglia
Hotel Palazzo ALexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

....with the previous reviews and would recommend this hotel. It is a family run hotel which has style and character. The staff are very pleasant, efficient and helpful. The rooms are clean, comfortable and old fashioned, in keeping with the age of the building. Some minor details need attention such as replacing a missing key to the wardrobe and mending the lock on the room safe.
It is well located with easy access to the buses and bike hire at the nearby tourist information office. Hiring bikes to ride around the ramparts is to be recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor (attic) have the best views over the rooftops of Lucca to the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We travel to Italy rather regularly, and for the last ten years have almost always stayed at the Palazzo Alexander during visits to Lucca. It is well located in the historic area of the city, i.e. within the old walls. The staff is very professional, and always helpful in responding to questions about sites to visit in Lucca or offering suggestions for local restaurants. The rooms are very well decorated; the suites are exceedingly spacious. The hotel offers parking (an extra charge) nearby that is convenient for individuals arriving in Lucca by car.Including in the room price is a abundant buffet breakfast offering fresh pastries, cold meats, cereals, cheese, juice as well as coffee, including capuccinos and tea. The manager is justly proud of the hotel, and is usually there to insure that his standards are maintained. I highly recommend Palazzo Alexander to individuals planning to stay in Lucca!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

My Wife and I spent the second leg of our honeymoon at the Palazzo Alexander, the staff were fantastic and upgraded our room up from a standard to make our stay more special. The room was amazing with great views out over the city and a jacuzzi bath, and the breakfast was equally impressive with fresh pastries every morning and a vast array of options of food and drink. As for the location the hotel is ideally situated for exploring Lucca, with it only being 5 minutes from the city centre and 5 minutes from the city walls. The only downside to our stay was that my wife's nightdress accidentally cleared away with the bedsheets on the penultimate day of our stay, as a result there was not enough time for the staff to be able to recover it for us. However, it was an honest mistake, which the staff made every effort to correct in time, and when they were not able to recover the nightdress they reimbursed us for it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulderoloradousa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Lucca presents its visitors with an evening of opera selections free of charge, which we enjoyed immensely in an old cathedral with wonderful acoustics. Ask at the reception desk for details..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We booked this hotel for one night on our way from Pisa to elsewhere on a bit of a whim with some loyalty points from a credit card. We were absolutely delighted with the hotel (and with Lucca). We had adjoining rooms making up a family room. A bit old world, but great hospitality, inside the city walls, free wifi, decent breakfast. Just the ticket!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Palazzo Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Alexander

Address: Santa Giustina 48, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lucca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#10 Business Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known today as the Hotel Palazzo Alexander, the residence encompasses four floors of rooms and junior suites, all with modern, private bathrooms-some with whirlpool baths. In addition, all rooms contain such conveniences as air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, computer hook-ups, safe, minibar, hairdryers and free of charge wi-fi connection.The décor of the residence reflects the noble Lucchese style with the use of antique wood floors in all the bedrooms and fine marble and other local stones in the bathrooms, lobby and common rooms. Located in the center of Lucca’s historic district, Palazzo Alexander is easily reached from the main highway exits and from local train and bus stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Alexander Lucca
Palazzo Alexander Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Alexander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.