We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, in a perfect place to explore Lucca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Alexander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palazzo Alexander to your Saves list
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Giustina 48, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel, in a perfect place to explore Lucca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

My Wife and I spent the second leg of our honeymoon at the Palazzo Alexander, the staff were fantastic and upgraded our room up from a standard to make our stay more special. The room was amazing with great views out over the city and a jacuzzi bath, and the breakfast was equally impressive with fresh pastries every morning and a vast array of options of food and drink. As for the location the hotel is ideally situated for exploring Lucca, with it only being 5 minutes from the city centre and 5 minutes from the city walls. The only downside to our stay was that my wife's nightdress accidentally cleared away with the bedsheets on the penultimate day of our stay, as a result there was not enough time for the staff to be able to recover it for us. However, it was an honest mistake, which the staff made every effort to correct in time, and when they were not able to recover the nightdress they reimbursed us for it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    127
    23
    10
    8
See reviews for
70
256
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boulderoloradousa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Lucca presents its visitors with an evening of opera selections free of charge, which we enjoyed immensely in an old cathedral with wonderful acoustics. Ask at the reception desk for details..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We booked this hotel for one night on our way from Pisa to elsewhere on a bit of a whim with some loyalty points from a credit card. We were absolutely delighted with the hotel (and with Lucca). We had adjoining rooms making up a family room. A bit old world, but great hospitality, inside the city walls, free wifi, decent breakfast. Just the ticket!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Level Contributor
133 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

The Palazzo Alexander is a quiet, charming, small hotel inside the walls of Lucca. The staff was wonderful and, as the hotel was not full, was kind enough to upgrade us. The hotel is a good value in a great location with available parking just a block or so away,

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

While settting up a trip to the Italian Lakes I got confused by a guidebook and accidentally made a reservarion at the Palazzo Alexander some 300 miles from our other hotels. When I realized what I had done, I called the reservation service and explained my problem. They said my reservation was non-refundable and I would lose two day's payment.
They said my only chance was to contact the innkeeper and plead for mercy. When I called Sr. Mario Maraviglia and explained my predicament he graciously allowed me to obtain a full refund. Although we didn't get to the Palazzo Alexander on this trip,, we certainly will include it on a future vacation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

The hotel is located within the 10-ft wall of old Lucca.

The service at this hotel was excellent! The staff was extremely caring and amicable and always made sure all of us were comfortable. They greeted us by our names when we walked in and out of the hotel and always gave best advice to where to eat and what to do in town. The staff also were so kind as they would warm up my 14-mth niece's food on their stove and provided us new, fresh whole milk every morning. The food they provided every morning was great as well as there were variety (cereals, cold meat cuts and cheeses, croissants, hot breakfast, yogurt, etc).

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The hotel is situated in a quiet area so sleeping at night was peaceful. Parking was available around the corner from the hotel. The hotel is well situated to walk to the main shopping strip of the old town and to many restaurants. Also it is only a 10 minute walk to the Lucca train station so one can easily visit Pisa within 20 minutes or Florence or other towns near by within 2-3 hours. The town is well situated to visit Cinque Terre, Modena, Florence, Bologna, Pisa and others via train or by car.

I highly recommend everyone who is visiting Lucca to stay at this hotel as it is great with children but also for young couples. This hotel is fit for all and located in the heart of Lucca within the 10-ft wall! There is so much history in that town and almost all the restaurants we ate at were excellent!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onancock, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

We've travelled in Europe, but never to Italy. We chose Lucca because we love ancient villages and were looking for a low-key retreat after a week in Rome. The reviews on TripAdvisor were the reason we selected Hotel Palazzo Alexander and we're delighted we did. Being innkeepers in the US we have a pretty high standard for customer service and hospitality. We were not disappointed! The front desk staff was friendly, helpful and gracious. They made reservations for us, suggested restaurants, arranged a taxi and offered daily "Just tell us what you want and we'll be glad to help you." We would highly recommend the town and Palazzo Alexander. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#8 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#17 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.2 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
3.1 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#5 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Alexander

Address: Santa Giustina 48, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#5 Family Hotel in Lucca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#10 Business Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known today as the Hotel Palazzo Alexander, the residence encompasses four floors of rooms and junior suites, all with modern, private bathrooms-some with whirlpool baths. In addition, all rooms contain such conveniences as air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, computer hook-ups, safe, minibar, hairdryers and free of charge wi-fi connection.The décor of the residence reflects the noble Lucchese style with the use of antique wood floors in all the bedrooms and fine marble and other local stones in the bathrooms, lobby and common rooms. Located in the center of Lucca’s historic district, Palazzo Alexander is easily reached from the main highway exits and from local train and bus stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Alexander Lucca
Palazzo Alexander Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palazzo Alexander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.