We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words are not enough!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo San Martino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo San Martino to your Saves list
Albergo San Martino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Dogana 9, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Belvedere
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Words are not enough!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This charming hotel is a hidden gem, food was amazing...staff are more than helpful and couldn't do enough to help....Lucca itself is just indescribably beautiful and we didn't want to leave.
if you want a base for sightseeing and want good service and friendly helpful staff then don't hesitate,,,book the san martino

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    97
    25
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
162
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Le Sueur, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here one night. The location is a bit hard to find, but that could be said for much of Lucca. Very friendly and helpful staff. Provided access to a secure parking area inside the city walls. Comfortable room. Reasonable rate. Fine breakfast, especially if you like hard rolls, cheese, and meats.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B.C.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great location, walkable from train station in 5-10 minutes. Friendly front staff (especially Alessia) and a first rate breakfast. Competitive rates. Stayed in the main building. Fairly quiet. Only complaint is that I found the bed to be very hard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a quaint bed and breakfast that is in a good location. It is near a beautiful square and it is situated on a very quiet street. Our room was in the annex building which was across the small alley from the main office. I believe the annex building was recently acquired. The room was beautiful and roomy. The bathroom was very clean and had obviously been recently renovated. . The phone in the room was not yet operational. We were, however, able to get wireless internet in the room. There is also a refrigerator within the room which is nice for keeping drinks cold. The breakfast was a typical European breakfast with croissants, cereal, fruit, meats and cheeses. I'm not sure if I would recommend purchasing breakfast with the room . It was a little pricey although nicely presented. The morning of our check out we did have an issue with hot water not being available thus preventing me from taking a shower. This was a small drawback and may be due to the hotel still trying to get the annex building up and running. The other issue that the hotel may want to address is that the rooms are very dark. Additional lighting would be helpful. If you are a senior, you may have issues with reading and seeing in the room at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent 5 nights in September. There were 3 of us, all adults, and we were given a nice, good size and colourful (but then I gather that they are all colourful) twin room attached to a single room with a bathroom in between. The rooms were fairly basic but comfortable and cheerful and the good size bathroom had a walk-in shower. The rooms and bathroom were clean if not absolutely spotless.
The breakfast was excellent with lovely cakes, cereals, fruit and a good selection of drinks.
The location is ideal as it's a few minutes from the historical centre of Lucca which, by the way, is a lovely little city (we tought we had heaps of time but we could easily have stayed longer than 5 days) and a few minutes from the city walls.
We thought the hotel was a little pricey but definitely full of character.
I would not recommend it to anyone who is looking for a modern or glitzy hotel but we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This little gem of a hotel in the little gem of a city of Lucca met all of our needs. Situated a short walk from the main part of the city, the hotel is charmingly decorated and the staff are friendly. The walls of our room were handpainted with pretty scenes, I understand that each room is decorated differently. The bathroom was very small, but manageable. Breakfasts at this hotel are a wonderful buffet including delicious pastries made by the owner's wife. We only stayed two nights but would have liked to enjoy the San Martino and lovely Lucca much longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I wanted to visit Lucca and find a nice hotel within the city walls. Albergo San Martino was perfect. It was on a quiet street just a block from the cathedral. The hotel was decorated with charm and character and the room was a good size. Everything was clean and tidy and the breakfast was a huge buffet catering to all tastes.

The staff were friendly and keen to help.

All in all, a very pleasant stay. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a small and personal hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo San Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo San Martino

Address: Via della Dogana 9, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Lucca
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo San Martino 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Albergo San Martino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Martino Lucca
Albergo San Martino Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo San Martino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.