We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant little hotel in ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo San Martino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Albergo San Martino to your Saves list
Albergo San Martino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Dogana 9, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Event tickets
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Lucca
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“pleasant little hotel in ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent 5 nights in September. There were 3 of us, all adults, and we were given a nice, good size and colourful (but then I gather that they are all colourful) twin room attached to a single room with a bathroom in between. The rooms were fairly basic but comfortable and cheerful and the good size bathroom had a walk-in shower. The rooms and bathroom were clean if not absolutely spotless.
The breakfast was excellent with lovely cakes, cereals, fruit and a good selection of drinks.
The location is ideal as it's a few minutes from the historical centre of Lucca which, by the way, is a lovely little city (we tought we had heaps of time but we could easily have stayed longer than 5 days) and a few minutes from the city walls.
We thought the hotel was a little pricey but definitely full of character.
I would not recommend it to anyone who is looking for a modern or glitzy hotel but we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    94
    25
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
158
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wantage, NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This little gem of a hotel in the little gem of a city of Lucca met all of our needs. Situated a short walk from the main part of the city, the hotel is charmingly decorated and the staff are friendly. The walls of our room were handpainted with pretty scenes, I understand that each room is decorated differently. The bathroom was very small, but manageable. Breakfasts at this hotel are a wonderful buffet including delicious pastries made by the owner's wife. We only stayed two nights but would have liked to enjoy the San Martino and lovely Lucca much longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I wanted to visit Lucca and find a nice hotel within the city walls. Albergo San Martino was perfect. It was on a quiet street just a block from the cathedral. The hotel was decorated with charm and character and the room was a good size. Everything was clean and tidy and the breakfast was a huge buffet catering to all tastes.

The staff were friendly and keen to help.

All in all, a very pleasant stay. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a small and personal hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent two nights here having driven up from Florence and it proved to be an excellent choice. Just inside the walls of the old city, the hotel was quiet but very convenient for exploring this fascinating old town. The room was quiet and comfortable with a more than adequate bathroom while the breakfast was notable for the excellent apple pie! The staff were helpful and pointed us in the right direction for a restaurant, although we eventually found one ourselves which proved to be a good move as we dined there both nights. The manager helped in parking the car and the cost was a lot cheaper than in Florence (€30 for two nights rather than €46 in Florence) and on leaving fetched it for us from the car park a short walk away. While Lucca is only a small city, the location of the hotel made exploring it very easy. Would definitely recommend this to anyone wishing to explore Lucca and/or Pisa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We thorougly recommend this excellent albergo.

The staff were all friendly. The breakfast was excellent. We were the lucky ones with a balcony situated off our bathroom. A real loo with a view!

The room was well appointed as was the location in the heart of the city. And oh what a delightful city it was to explore.

Our sleep was undisturbed so we slept soundly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Small and friendly hotel inside the walls of Lucca. The staff helped us through the road system and parked the car for us so we immediately felt welcome. The room was excellent and we were there in very hot weather in August but had no difficulty with either air-conditioning or room lighting. Great situation for walking round Lucca but we also visited Pisa from here. Breakfast was superb and the little outdoor seating area perfect for resting and planning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We travelled by train to Lucca and the hotel was an easy walk from the station. It is a comfortable hotel and well placed for visiting this small city (everything is walking distance). The bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean. I would agree with previous reviews that the restrictions on when the air conditioning could be a problem in very hot weather. Also, we found the lighting in our room was very poor so difficult to read in bed at night. Breakfast was good and staff pleasant. One thing to note is there is no lift so access could be a problem for some.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo San Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo San Martino

Address: Via della Dogana 9, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Lucca
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo San Martino 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Albergo San Martino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Martino Lucca
Albergo San Martino Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo San Martino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.