We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ilaria

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ilaria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ilaria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Fosso 26, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Lucca
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was our first visit to this amazing city. The hotel is in a very convenient location for tourists like ourselves. Short walk to everywhere and free bikes available if you want to explore more quickly! Rooms are basic in the main hotel but the superior rooms in the annex are much more roomy and stylish. Breakfast is excellent with many choices for any taste. We will return.

Room Tip: Hard to imagine a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    158
    23
    9
    1
See reviews for
102
313
23
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have just spent a long and very enjoyable weekend at Hotel Ilaria.

The location is really convenient just inside the walled centre and the city is a good choice if you want to see some of Tuscany.

All the staff were very friendly and were ready and willing to make the stay enjoyable. Free bike hire and valet parking added to the experience.

Our room was comfortable and quiet ... Try to take a room on the front of the hotel and on the second floor.

Room Tip: Try to take a room on the front of the hotel and on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

For the money and location, I think you'd find it hard to find fault with this hotel. We were there for the music festival and found the staff, accommodation and location ticked all the boxes. If I had to find a fault it was that I was on the same floor as the breakfast area and they start setting up at 520am so if you're a light sleeper- pop in some earplugs or go up a floor! I would definitely book again for next year as otherwise it was perfect!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We recently had a great stay at the Hotel Ilaria. We had booked a triple room (which looked just fine), but the hotel also offered us an upgrade to a suite for 50 Euro a night more. The suite was terrific (more than worth the 50 Euro) and made our stay with a family of four very comfortable.

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, and the included buffet style breakfast was quite good. The location is also excellent. We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had a great stay here! The room was beautiful and the staff was helpful and friendly. Our room was in the annex across the street and was terrific. We really loved the automatic push-button operated roll-down closet doors. Nice touch! Our room was beautiful, updated, large and comfortable. Complementary snacks were available all day near the lobby, which included two espresso machines. The breakfast had a nice variety of food and was tasty. We also loved the terrace. My wife and I brought a bottle of wine there and enjoyed the evening. The proximity to the city and train station were great. I will definitely return to this hotel on my next trip to Lucca!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, Surrey uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The staff at Hotel Ilaria couldn't be more helpful. The rooms are comfortable and quiet yet the location is only 10 minutes walk of all the major sights of Lucca. It is a little oasis when you have tired of sight seeing. The help yourself bar is a great idea and very welcome when you get in from the heat. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the station but within the ramparts so it is easy to travel further afield if you fancy exploring. We will return!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed from 1/6/14 to 7/6/14 in the annexe of this hotel in room 8 which catered for my able bodied wife and for myself as I am wheelchair bound. The staff from the cleaners up to the management could not have been more friendly, helpful and keen to help. The breakfast choices were perfect for starting another sightseeing day in a beautiful walled city, or to laze in the sun sitting up on the walls. Afternoon tea/wine/iced coffee(a speciality of one of the front desk girls) plus the nibbles were a great way to escape the sun for an hour or so. The disabled bathroom facilities are all there but a tight squeeze for the wheelchair, the bedroom was very large and always clean. Two young working students really impressed us by their keenness to learn and the information they re-laid to us regarding Lucca and Italy as a country. They are named Irene and Samuel(English interpretation). A Hotel worthy of a visit to see this lovely city.

Room Tip: Room 8 in annexe for disabled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ilaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilaria

Address: Via del Fosso 26, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lucca
#2 Family Hotel in Lucca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ilaria 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ilaria and the Residenza dell'Alba are situated in the center of Lucca, within the renaissance walls. Approaching to a medieval door and overlooking on a secular park, under a majestic plane tree, you will enjoy a spectacular architectonic scenery. Our hotel residenza dell'alba are the ideal place for a moment of charme or for a business meeting in a space of light and green designed by the history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ilaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilaria Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ilaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.