We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short notice. Enjoyable stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ilaria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ilaria to your Saves list
Hotel Ilaria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Fosso 26, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Lucca
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Short notice. Enjoyable stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We arrived after arriving at other accommodation and finding it to be not what expected. We arrived at Hotel Illaria and were greeted by friendly staff who were able tp rpovide a room at short notice. The room was clean and had a reasonable view. The hotel has on site car parking and was very convenient for exploring the lovely town of Lucca. The room was modern and well decorated. The walls are thin. Fortunately, we had quiet neighbours, but we could hear sounds in the corridors and nearby. The tea/coffee available in the lounge area at ground floor level was good and included in the room rate. Tasty pastries included as well. Breakfast was in a bright terrace area. Reasonable choice. Good value.

Room Tip: Beware thin walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Good evening,

we thank you for writing this kind comment about your stay on TripAdvisor.
It is our pleasure knowing you enjoyed your short stay at our hotel.
We are very sorry if you had problems with sounds.
Thank you very much for writing and for staying with us!

We hope to see you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    162
    23
    9
    1
See reviews for
105
314
23
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel has a very friendly staff and is located besides the medieval gate of old town.
Great choice if you want to hang out in Lucca and to rest for a couple days from a marathon made through the Italy. Good bedrooms with king size beds and acoustic windows.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Goodevening,

thank you so much for sharing your review on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to know you liked our hotel and you apreciated our staff.

We hope to see you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ideally located, inside the city walls, close to the center, everything is within walking distance. Very clean, well appointed hotel, desk staff were very helpful. Afternoon coffee/tea in the lobby, and good breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Good morning,

we thank you for the kind comment left on TripAdvisor and we really hope to welcoming you again!

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for one night and really enjoyed it. Good location, quiet, very good breakfast. The parking space is small, if one gets there late it's difficult to find a spot. The staff is friendly and proactive. Excellent value.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Perfect location to do a walking tour of Lucca. Just inside the east wall near the Elisa entrance. The staff is very helpful and professional and the breakfast is excellent. The room is very comfortable, clean and relaxing. Will stay here again during my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Goodevening,

we really thank you for the kind review left on TripAdvisor and we hope to see you again!

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness Scotland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

3 nights, immaculate rooms, Casa Alba rooms are something worth trying to have... in the centre of the city, quiet, and easily accessed by car. Service, food, ambiance, are all meritorious of commendation. "Savoir faire" with my foreign travelers was much appreciated, and nice to see that some hotels are looking further ahead than others in catering for a more demanding clientele, and with different requirements. Staff attentiveness also is well worth mentioning. A certain return location in the future.
Nice also to see that the owner, on location, in his off lobby office, door open and down to earth attitude.

Room Tip: try the rooms in the casa Alba Annex... next to the Medieval city gate. for history and architectu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Good evening,

thank you very much for your kind review. It is our pleasure reading about your positive opinion.
We hope to see you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have stayed several times in hotel Ilaria, and we love it!
Every employee is very friendly, the atmosphere is very good.
The breakfast is something to wake up for, and the rooms are very clean.
In the lobby there is a bar with free drinks and snacks. Besides that you can borrow the bicycles from the hotel, and there is free internet you can use.
It is very centrally located in Lucca that you must visit.

Thank you Mauro and staff, we felt like home!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
It's a great pleasure to see that our guest return to us!
Thanks a lot for your loyalty.
We wait for you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ilaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilaria

Address: Via del Fosso 26, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lucca
#2 Business Hotel in Lucca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ilaria 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ilaria and the Residenza dell'Alba are situated in the center of Lucca, within the renaissance walls. Approaching to a medieval door and overlooking on a secular park, under a majestic plane tree, you will enjoy a spectacular architectonic scenery. Our hotel residenza dell'alba are the ideal place for a moment of charme or for a business meeting in a space of light and green designed by the history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ilaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilaria Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ilaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.