We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in the heart of Lucca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ilaria

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ilaria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ilaria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Fosso 26, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 58 hotels in Lucca
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in the heart of Lucca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ideally located, inside the city walls, close to the center, everything is within walking distance. Very clean, well appointed hotel, desk staff were very helpful. Afternoon coffee/tea in the lobby, and good breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Good morning,

we thank you for the kind comment left on TripAdvisor and we really hope to welcoming you again!

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    377
    150
    21
    9
    1
See reviews for
99
292
21
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for one night and really enjoyed it. Good location, quiet, very good breakfast. The parking space is small, if one gets there late it's difficult to find a spot. The staff is friendly and proactive. Excellent value.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Perfect location to do a walking tour of Lucca. Just inside the east wall near the Elisa entrance. The staff is very helpful and professional and the breakfast is excellent. The room is very comfortable, clean and relaxing. Will stay here again during my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Goodevening,

we really thank you for the kind review left on TripAdvisor and we hope to see you again!

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness Scotland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

3 nights, immaculate rooms, Casa Alba rooms are something worth trying to have... in the centre of the city, quiet, and easily accessed by car. Service, food, ambiance, are all meritorious of commendation. "Savoir faire" with my foreign travelers was much appreciated, and nice to see that some hotels are looking further ahead than others in catering for a more demanding clientele, and with different requirements. Staff attentiveness also is well worth mentioning. A certain return location in the future.
Nice also to see that the owner, on location, in his off lobby office, door open and down to earth attitude.

Room Tip: try the rooms in the casa Alba Annex... next to the Medieval city gate. for history and architectu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Good evening,

thank you very much for your kind review. It is our pleasure reading about your positive opinion.
We hope to see you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have stayed several times in hotel Ilaria, and we love it!
Every employee is very friendly, the atmosphere is very good.
The breakfast is something to wake up for, and the rooms are very clean.
In the lobby there is a bar with free drinks and snacks. Besides that you can borrow the bicycles from the hotel, and there is free internet you can use.
It is very centrally located in Lucca that you must visit.

Thank you Mauro and staff, we felt like home!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
It's a great pleasure to see that our guest return to us!
Thanks a lot for your loyalty.
We wait for you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Ideally located, spacious room , clean and additional service such as providing bikes. It has a beautiful terrace overlooking a gorgeous garden..
( coffee for breakfast was mot that good... Which is the only minus one may add).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know you apreciated our hotel.

Hope to see you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is located near the east gate along the city wall accessed by Via Elisa which has restricted access for cars. Hotel is on Via del Fosso intersection.

Stayed one night and slept comfortably. We arrived early, just before noon and our room was not ready. Receptionist asked if we would take another room on the ground floor which was ready. We did and it looked out onto the street. The room is nicely furnished with a lot of wood paneling. Bathroom is very modern and a bit small like other hotels in the area.
Shower has no curtain or door so water splashes outside of the shower area. Mopping job required.

Not sure if the thermostat in the room works. Couldn’t change the temperature of the room which was a little warm despite the cool weather in November. There is a safe in the closet and a small fridge. WiFi works with decent speed.

Breakfast buffet was included in the price of the room and it was very adequate. Average by Italian standards, but very good to excellent compared to free breakfasts at hotels in USA; even the paid ones. Hot English breakfast items are available. Continental breakfast items available also and of course local cured meats and fruit. Walnuts were in season so there was a basket of them in the buffet table.

In the lobby there is a self- service counter with Coffee machine and various cold beverages as well as light snacks. This is available throughout the day for hotel guests. A very thoughtful and convenient feature that I wish other hotels would provide. There are nearby restaurants on Via Elisa.

I chose this hotel because there is a full time hotel staff unlike many B&B places in Lucca which can be more expensive, but run into problems when the operators are not there when you arrive. Also I was sharing the room with my sister, and I know for sure that there are twin beds as it is not clear at the B&B hotels throughout the walled city of Lucca.

Overall I was happy with the hotel and if I find myself in Lucca again, I would definitely consider staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ilaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilaria

Address: Via del Fosso 26, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lucca
#2 Family Hotel in Lucca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ilaria 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ilaria and the Residenza dell'Alba are situated in the center of Lucca, within the renaissance walls. Approaching to a medieval door and overlooking on a secular park, under a majestic plane tree, you will enjoy a spectacular architectonic scenery. Our hotel residenza dell'alba are the ideal place for a moment of charme or for a business meeting in a space of light and green designed by the history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Ilaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilaria Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ilaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.