We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class service with percect price ratio and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ilaria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ilaria to your Saves list
Hotel Ilaria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Fosso 26, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Inverness Scotland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Top Class service with percect price ratio and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

3 nights, immaculate rooms, Casa Alba rooms are something worth trying to have... in the centre of the city, quiet, and easily accessed by car. Service, food, ambiance, are all meritorious of commendation. "Savoir faire" with my foreign travelers was much appreciated, and nice to see that some hotels are looking further ahead than others in catering for a more demanding clientele, and with different requirements. Staff attentiveness also is well worth mentioning. A certain return location in the future.
Nice also to see that the owner, on location, in his off lobby office, door open and down to earth attitude.

Room Tip: try the rooms in the casa Alba Annex... next to the Medieval city gate. for history and architectu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Good evening,

thank you very much for your kind review. It is our pleasure reading about your positive opinion.
We hope to see you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    182
    25
    9
    1
See reviews for
115
338
23
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have stayed several times in hotel Ilaria, and we love it!
Every employee is very friendly, the atmosphere is very good.
The breakfast is something to wake up for, and the rooms are very clean.
In the lobby there is a bar with free drinks and snacks. Besides that you can borrow the bicycles from the hotel, and there is free internet you can use.
It is very centrally located in Lucca that you must visit.

Thank you Mauro and staff, we felt like home!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
It's a great pleasure to see that our guest return to us!
Thanks a lot for your loyalty.
We wait for you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Ideally located, spacious room , clean and additional service such as providing bikes. It has a beautiful terrace overlooking a gorgeous garden..
( coffee for breakfast was mot that good... Which is the only minus one may add).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know you apreciated our hotel.

Hope to see you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is located near the east gate along the city wall accessed by Via Elisa which has restricted access for cars. Hotel is on Via del Fosso intersection.

Stayed one night and slept comfortably. We arrived early, just before noon and our room was not ready. Receptionist asked if we would take another room on the ground floor which was ready. We did and it looked out onto the street. The room is nicely furnished with a lot of wood paneling. Bathroom is very modern and a bit small like other hotels in the area.
Shower has no curtain or door so water splashes outside of the shower area. Mopping job required.

Not sure if the thermostat in the room works. Couldn’t change the temperature of the room which was a little warm despite the cool weather in November. There is a safe in the closet and a small fridge. WiFi works with decent speed.

Breakfast buffet was included in the price of the room and it was very adequate. Average by Italian standards, but very good to excellent compared to free breakfasts at hotels in USA; even the paid ones. Hot English breakfast items are available. Continental breakfast items available also and of course local cured meats and fruit. Walnuts were in season so there was a basket of them in the buffet table.

In the lobby there is a self- service counter with Coffee machine and various cold beverages as well as light snacks. This is available throughout the day for hotel guests. A very thoughtful and convenient feature that I wish other hotels would provide. There are nearby restaurants on Via Elisa.

I chose this hotel because there is a full time hotel staff unlike many B&B places in Lucca which can be more expensive, but run into problems when the operators are not there when you arrive. Also I was sharing the room with my sister, and I know for sure that there are twin beds as it is not clear at the B&B hotels throughout the walled city of Lucca.

Overall I was happy with the hotel and if I find myself in Lucca again, I would definitely consider staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at this property for 4 nights during Desco, a must see for all foodie types! This hotel is in a perfect location to get in and out of the city, Allows for parking with special permits. Or is a great location of taking a tour and need to walk from the gate from a bus since buses are not allowed in the city walls, free bike rental, free breakfast to start your day, clean rooms, fully stocked mini bar, What more could you ask for! I would stay here again for sure! Bravo!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

we'd like to thank you for sharing your kind feedback. We are very happy to know that you apreciated your stay at our hotel.

We hope you will come back,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Australia
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

As part of our Tauck Culturious tour in October, 2012 we spent 2 nights at this charming hotel right on the edge of town. What a great spot. You could grab one of their bicycles and ride around the delightful rampart and through Lucca as much as you liked. The rooms are clean. The bed was hard (as are Italian hotel beds).
The brekky was pretty good although nothing special. The downside was the "get your own" tea and coffee. You do not expect this in Italy! For goodness sake, have someone make you that Italian coffee and personally serve it to you and not get a young member of the staff "sour faced" and unwilling to assist you. It was a disappointment. The reception staff are very helpful. Loved the hotel, with the exception of the brekky and get your own coffee!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Madame,
we are sorry for your disappoint.
The buffet is always available all day long, the guests are free to take soft drinks, hot drinks, beer, sparkling wine and snacks any time they want.
However we are really sorry about the behaviour of a member of our staff. It's our intent to help the guests any time they need.
Anyway we also want to thank you for the other compliments you had for us and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Ilaria on the last night of a two-and-a-half week trip to Italy, and I can honestly say that one night was not long enough. The hotel is situated right inside one of the gate to the old city and is perfectly located for walking and biking through Lucca. We were upgraded to the Tower suite in the nearby Residence d'Alba, I believe because the hotel was full for a conference. The accommodations were wonderful, the service was great and breakfast quite delicious and varied. We especially liked being able to use the complimentary bicycles for riding along the walls.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Goodevening,

thank you very much for writing about or hotel on the web.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and you apreciated the free upgrade to the tower suite. Sometimes it happens that superior rooms or suites are available, in that case we prefer doing upgrades in order to satisfy our guests.

We hope to see you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ilaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilaria

Address: Via del Fosso 26, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lucca
#2 Family Hotel in Lucca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ilaria 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ilaria and the Residenza dell'Alba are situated in the center of Lucca, within the renaissance walls. Approaching to a medieval door and overlooking on a secular park, under a majestic plane tree, you will enjoy a spectacular architectonic scenery. Our hotel residenza dell'alba are the ideal place for a moment of charme or for a business meeting in a space of light and green designed by the history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ilaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilaria Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ilaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.